Back to the list

Elina Brotherus

1972, Finnish, Born in Helsinki, Finland

Finnish photography and video artist Elina Brotherus was born in 1972 in Helsinki. She received her master’s degree in Photography from the University of Art and Design Helsinki (2000) and MSc in Chemistry from the University of Helsinki (1997). She started exhibiting internationally in 1998 while still in art school.

Her early work dealt with personal yet universal experiences, the presence and absence of love. In her series The New Painting (2000-2005), Brotherus probed the relation of photography to art history and found inspiration in the iconography of classical painting. In Model Studies (2002-2008) and Artist and her model (2005-2011), she continued to explore the human figure within a landscape, and the gaze of an artist on his/her model. In her recent work Annonciation (2009-2013), 12 ans après (2011-2013) and Carpe Fucking Diem (2012-2015) she returned to the autobiographical approach, although more distanced than in her youth.

Elina Brotherus’ work has been given prominence in numerous art and photography publications and reviews. Her works are also featured in a number of prestigious public collections including the Centre national des arts plastiques, France, Fondation Kadist, Paris, Hasselblad Center, Gothenburg, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki, and Moderna Museet, Stockholm. She has received several awards among which are the Prix Niépce 2005 in France and the Finnish State Prize for Photography in 2008.


Project Description : Meaningless Work

Elina Brotherus will undertake an ambitious project of image fabrication for the Prix Elysée. On the basis of her own interpretations, she will create a series inspired by the preparatory scores and scripts of Fluxus artists made in view of their actions in the 1960’s and 1970’s.

“A score is like an assignment. That’s precisely what I need right now. Essentially, all an artist needs is a time and a place and something to do. That something, by definition, is art.

I have been lucky to work with the curator René Block on several occasions for more than ten years now. René is the legendary person who first showed Fluxus artists and in whose gallery Joseph Beuys did his most famous performances. René’s archive was like a revelation to me. He told me that most of the people who did actions and events in the 1960’s and 1970’s wrote a score for their performances. The question of legitimacy of a remake or appropriation vanishes with the notion of the score. René explained to me, there’s no difference if I perform a piece of Chopin from the score written by Chopin, or a piece of Shiomi Mieko from the score written by her.

Fluxus artists organized their events and happenings in front of a public. What is left today are the scores and some lo-fi documentation material. My approach differs from that in my not being a performing artist. I am an image-maker: my art works are the resulting photographs, which are executed meticulously.”

 

 


Selected Solo Exhibitions

  • 2016  Le Pavillon populaire, Montpellier, France ; Fotohof, Salzbourg ; Turku Art Museum, Finlande
  • 2015 Les Femmes de la Maison Carré, Maison Louis Carré, Bazoches-sur-Guyonne, France (cat.)
  • 2014 12 ans après, The Wapping Project Bankside, Londres ; « Le 19 » Crac Montbéliard Hors les murs ; AmaGallery, Helsinki ; Galeria camara oscura, Madrid (jusqu’en 2015)
  • 2013 Elina Brotherus, Optica Center for Contemporary Art lors du Mois de la Photo, Montréal (cat.)
  • 2012 12 ans après, Lianzhou Photography Festival, Lianzhou, Chine (cat.)
  • 2010 Films, Videos and Photographs, The Wapping Project Bankside, Londres

 

Selected Group Exhibitions

  • 2016 Who? Elina Brotherus and Dorothée Smith, Landskrona Foto Festival, Landskrona, Suède (cat.)
  • 2015 Camera of Wonders, Centro de la imagen Mexico City ; MAMM Medellín Museum of Modern Art, Colombia (cat.) (jusqu’en 2016)
  • 2014 Potretti, Fotografie Forum Frankfurt (cat.)
  • 2013 Home Truths, The Photographers’ Gallery, Londres ; Museum of Contemporary Photography, Chicago; Belfast Exposed (cat.) (jusqu’en 2014)
  • 2013 Kiasma Hits, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki (cat.)
  • 2012 Self-Portrait, Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebaek, Danemark (cat.)
  • 2012 Sense of Place, European Landscape Photography, Bozar (Palais des Beaux-Arts), Bruxelles (cat.)
  • 2012 Out of Focus, Saatchi Gallery, Londres (cat.)

Publications

  • 2016 La lumière venue du nord / The Light from the North, Photographies/Photographs 1997-2015, Hazan
  • 2015 Carpe Fucking Diem,Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg
  • 2015 12 ans après, portfolio d’une édition limitée, Musée Nicéphore Niépce, Chalon-sur-Saône
  • 2015 12 ans après,Semiosquare, Helsinki
  • 2012 Artist and Her Model, Le caillou bleu, Bruxelles
  • 2007  Etudes d’après modèle, danseurs, Les Editions Textuel, Paris
  • 2005 Elina Brotherus: The New Painting, Next Level, Londres
  • 2002 Decisive Days, Valokuvia Photographies Photographs

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Elina Brotherus

1972, Finlandaise, née à Helsinki, Finlande

La photographe et vidéaste finlandaise Elina Brotherus est née en 1972 à Helsinki. Elle est diplômée de l’Ecole supérieure d’art et de design d’Helsinki (2000) et a obtenu un master en chimie de l’Université d’Helsinki (1997). Son travail a été exposé à partir de 1998, alors qu’elle était encore étudiante en art.

Ses premières œuvres se fondent sur des expériences personnelles autant qu’universelles, la présence ou l’absence d’amour. Dans sa série The New Painting (2000-2005), Brotherus explore la relation de la photographie à l’histoire de l’art, s’inspirant de l’iconographie de la peinture classique. Dans Model Studies (2002-2008) et Artist and her model (2005-2011), elle poursuit son exploration de la figure humaine dans un paysage et du regard de l’artiste sur son modèle. Dans ses dernières œuvres, Annonciation (2009-2013), 12 ans après (2011-2013) et Carpe Fucking Diem (2012-2015), elle revient à une approche autobiographique, avec toutefois plus de distance que dans sa jeunesse.

De nombreuses revues d’art et de photographie accordent au travail d’Elina Brotherus une place importante. Ses œuvres font également partie de prestigieuses collections publiques : Centre national des arts plastiques en France, Fondation Kadist à Paris, Hasselblad Center à Göteborg, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art à Helsinki et Moderna Museet à Stockholm. Brotherus a été récompensée par plusieurs prix, dont le Prix Niépce en France (2005) et le Prix national de la photographie en Finlande (2008).


Description du projet : Meaningless Work

Elina Brotherus veut mener une mission photographique ambitieuse avec le soutien du Prix Elysée : un projet de fabrication des images à partir de ses propres interprétations des « partitions », les préparatifs des actions du mouvement Fluxus des années 1960 et 1970.

« Une partition est comme une mission. Et c’est précisément ce dont j’ai besoin en ce moment. Un artiste a essentiellement besoin de temps, d’un lieu et de quelque chose à faire. Ce quelque chose, par définition, est l’art.

J’ai eu la chance de travailler avec le curateur René Block à plusieurs occasions au cours des dix dernières années au moins. René est une personne légendaire, la première à avoir exposé des artistes du mouvement Fluxus. C’est dans sa galerie que Joseph Beuys a réalisé ses performances les plus célèbres. Les archives de René furent une révélation pour moi. Il m’a dit que la plupart des artistes qui avaient organisé des actions et des événements dans les années 1960 et 1970 avaient écrit une partition pour leurs performances. La question de la légitimité de toute reprise ou appropriation d’une autre œuvre disparaît avec la notion de partition. René m’a expliqué qu’il n’y avait pas de différence entre interpréter un morceau de Chopin à partir de la partition écrite par Chopin ou un morceau de Shiomi Mieko à partir d’une partition écrite par elle.

Les artistes du mouvement Fluxus organisaient leurs événements et leurs happenings face au public. Ce qu’il en reste aujourd’hui, ce sont les partitions et certains documents de basse définition. Mon approche est différente de la leur, car je ne suis pas une artiste de la scène. Je fabrique des images : mes œuvres, ce sont les photographies qui résultent de l’action, et qui sont réalisées avec beaucoup de soin. »


Principales expositions solo

  • 2016  Le Pavillon populaire, Montpellier, France ; Fotohof, Salzbourg ; Turku Art Museum, Finlande
  • 2015 Les Femmes de la Maison Carré, Maison Louis Carré, Bazoches-sur-Guyonne, France (cat.)
  • 2014 12 ans après, The Wapping Project Bankside, Londres ; « Le 19 » Crac Montbéliard Hors les murs ; AmaGallery, Helsinki ; Galeria camara oscura, Madrid (jusqu’en 2015)
  • 2013 Elina Brotherus, Optica Center for Contemporary Art lors du Mois de la Photo, Montréal (cat.)
  • 2012 12 ans après, Lianzhou Photography Festival, Lianzhou, Chine (cat.)
  • 2010 Films, Videos and Photographs, The Wapping Project Bankside, Londres

 

Principales expositions de groupe

  • 2016 Who? Elina Brotherus and Dorothée Smith, Landskrona Foto Festival, Landskrona, Suède (cat.)
  • 2015 Camera of Wonders, Centro de la imagen Mexico City ; MAMM Medellín Museum of Modern Art, Colombia (cat.) (jusqu’en 2016)
  • 2014 Potretti, Fotografie Forum Frankfurt (cat.)
  • 2013 Home Truths, The Photographers’ Gallery, Londres ; Museum of Contemporary Photography, Chicago; Belfast Exposed (cat.) (jusqu’en 2014)
  • 2013 Kiasma Hits, Kiasma Museum of Contemporary Art, Helsinki (cat.)
  • 2012 Self-Portrait, Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Humlebaek, Danemark (cat.)
  • 2012 Sense of Place, European Landscape Photography, Bozar (Palais des Beaux-Arts), Bruxelles (cat.)
  • 2012 Out of Focus, Saatchi Gallery, Londres (cat.)

Publications

  • 2016 La lumière venue du nord / The Light from the North, Photographies/Photographs 1997-2015, Hazan
  • 2015 Carpe Fucking Diem,Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg
  • 2015 12 ans après, portfolio d’une édition limitée, Musée Nicéphore Niépce, Chalon-sur-Saône
  • 2015 12 ans après,Semiosquare, Helsinki
  • 2012 Artist and Her Model, Le caillou bleu, Bruxelles
  • 2007  Etudes d’après modèle, danseurs, Les Editions Textuel, Paris
  • 2005 Elina Brotherus: The New Painting, Next Level, Londres
  • 2002 Decisive Days, Valokuvia Photographies Photographs

Portfolio