Back to the list

Martin Kollar

1971, Slovak, Born in Žilina, Czechoslovakia (now the Slovak Republic)

Slovak photographer, Martin Kollar was born in 1971 in Žilina, Czechoslovakia (now the Slovak Republic). He studied at the Academy for Performing Arts in Bratislava before continuing his career as a freelance photographer and cinematographer. He has worked on a number of documentary and fictive films: Autoportrait (director), Ball (producer) and as a cameraman Velvet Terrorists, Cooking History, Across the Border: Five Views from Neighbours, 66 Seasons, Ladomirova Morytates and Legends, and the animated film In the Box.

In the realm of photography, Kollar has received a number of prestigious grants and awards including the 3PPP photography grant, Oscar Barnack Award in Germany and the Backlight Photography Award in Finland. His work has been exhibited at the Maison européenne de la photographie, Paris, MOCA Shanghai and the Museum of Art Guandong (China), amongst other venues.

http://www.martinkollar.com


Project presentation

Provisional Arrangement

I grew up during Communism with its key motto „With the Soviet Union for all Eternity“. Back then, we would add, laughing: but not an hour longer. This has been, until this day, one of the few experiences I’ve had with eternity.

Since then, my life has been filled with negotiating its many temporary situations and solutions. People of my generation have grown up, we are middle-aged now. Temporariness is slipping out of our hands, we are fighting against endless variations of disintegration and the void left behind the abandoned old dogmas.

We find ourselves in a complex world without a sense of permanence and certainty. We surround ourselves with temporary friends, we have temporary women, we have a temporary tooth replacement and we prefer temporary residencies to permanent address. Provisional Arrangements is a project concerned with situations which contain an element of uncertainty and mystery. It will be a photographic record/portrayal capturing the disintegration of permanence into temporary and provisional.


Exhibitions

  • 2012 “Tranzit”, Tranzit Gallery, Bratislava, Slovak Republic
  • 2009 Prague Biennale, Prague,  Czech Republic
  • 2008 “Unseen : An exhibition of International Photography”, Museum of Contemporary Art Shanghai, China
  • 2008 “Nothing Special” , Le Château d’Eau, Toulouse, France
  • 2007 “TV Anchors”, Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, France
  • 2004 “Bitte lächeln, Aufnahme!”, Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, Germany
  • 2002 “Report from the Country”, Centre for Contemporary Art, Ujazdowski Castle, Warsaw, Poland

Publications

  • 2013 Field Trip, Mack, London
  • 2011 Cahier, Diaphane, Picardie
  • 2007 Nothing Special, Actes Sud, Arles

 


Portfolio

Retour à l'édition 2014 – 2016

Martin Kollar

1971, Slovaque, né à Žilina, Tchécoslovaquie (actuellement République slovaque)

Photographe slovaque né en 1971 à Žilina en Tchécoslovaquie (aujourd’hui la République slovaque), Martin Kollar a étudié à l’Academie des beaux-arts à Brastislava avant de mener une carrière de photographe indépendant et de travailler dans le cinéma. Il a contribué à la réalisation d’un certain nombre de documentaires et de films : Autoportrait en tant que réalisateur, Ball en tant que producteur, et en tant que cameraman Velvet Terrorists, Cooking History, Across the Border: Five Views from Neighbours, 66 Seasons, Ladomirova Morytates and Legends, et le film d’animation In the Box.

Dans le domaine de la photographie, Kollar a reçu différentes bourses et récompenses prestigieuses, comme la bourse 3PPP, le Prix Oscar Barnack en Allemagne et le Prix Backlight de la photographie en Finlande. Son travail a notamment été exposé à la Maison européenne de la photographie à Paris et en Chine au MOCA Shanghai et au Musée d’art de Guandong.

http://www.martinkollar.com

Portrait de Martin Kollar

Portrait de Martin Kollar


Présentation du projet

Provisional Arrangement

J’ai grandi pendant l’ère du Communisme avec comme devise fondamentale : « Avec l’Union soviétique, pour toute l’Eternité ». A l’époque, on ajoutait en riant : « oui, mais pas une seconde de plus ! » Jusqu’à aujourd’hui, cela a été une des rares expériences que j’ai eu de l’éternité.

Depuis, ma vie a été consacrée à négocier ces maintes situations et solutions temporaires. Les gens de ma génération ont grandi, nous sommes désormais d’âge mûr. La notion du temporaire glisse entre nos mains, nous luttons contre des variations sans fin de désintégration et contre le vide que laisse l’abandon des anciens dogmes.

On se trouve dans un monde complexe sans un sentiment de perpétuité et sans certitude. On s’entoure d’amis « temporaires », on a des femmes « temporaires », on fait faire des couronnes dentaires « temporaires » et on préfère les résidences temporaires aux adresses permanentes. Provisional Arrangements (Les Arrangements provisoires)  est un projet qui examine des situations qui comprennent un élément d’incertitude et de mystère. Il s’agit d’un récit ou d’une représentation photographique qui capte la désintégration du permanent vers le temporaire et le provisoire.

 


Expositions

  • 2012 “Tranzit”, Tranzit Gallery, Bratislava, République slovaque
  • 2009 Prague Biennale, Prague, République tchèque
  • 2008 “Unseen : An exhibition of International Photography”, Museum of Contemporary Art, Shanghai, Chine
  • 2008 “Nothing Special” , Le Château d’Eau, Toulouse, France
  • 2007 “TV Anchors”, Maison Européenne de la Photographie, Paris, France
  • 2004 “Bitte lächeln, Aufnahme!”, Martin-Gropius-Bau, Berlin, Allemagne
  • 2002 “Report from the Country”, Centre for Contemporary Art, Château Ujazdowski, Varsovie, Pologne

Publications

  • 2013 Field Trip, Mack, Londres
  • 2011 Cahier, Diaphane, Picardie
  • 2007 Nothing Special, Actes Sud, Arles

Portfolio