Prix Elysée 2016 – 2018


The Nominees’ Book

Published by the Musée de l’Elysée in partnership with Editions Photosynthèses in Arles, this book presents the projects of the eight nominees of the second edition of the Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka Okereke and Robert Zhao Renhui were selected by the museum from among 440 candidates from all over the world. They were given carte blanche for a new project, each one presenting his or her initial results in an artist’s book. These books, presented together in a collection, invite the reader to delve into the privacy of a work in progress while providing an overview of contemporary photographic practices.

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne et les Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles
January 2017
Texts by: Tatyana Franck, Pascal Hufschmid, Michel Parmigiani and Holly Roussell Perret-Gentil
23.5 x 32 cm
Coffret toilé contenant 9 livres
160 pages (8 cahiers de 16 pages, 1 cahier de 32 pages)
200 images
Bilingue français & anglais
ISBN : 979-10-95822-02-8


Matthias Bruggmann

“Formally, my previous work put the viewer in a position where they were asked to decide the nature of the work itself. A scientifically questionable analogy of this mechanism would be the observer effect in quantum physics, where the act of observing changes the nature of what is being observed. My Syrian work builds on this framework.

From a documentation perspective, it is, thus far and to the best of my knowledge, unique as the work, inside Syria, of a single Western photographer, in large part thanks to the assistance and hard work of some of the best independent experts on the conflict. Because of the nature of this conflict, I believe it is necessary to expand the geographical scope of the work.

At its core is an attempt at generating a sense of moral ambiguity. The design of this is to make the viewer uneasy by challenging their own moral assumptions, and thus attempt to bring, to Western viewers, a visceral comprehension of the intangible violence that underlies conflict. One of the means is by perverting the codes normally used in documentary photography to enhance identification with the subject. While perfectly conforming to accepted documentary norms, part of the work aims at eroding the viewer’s implicit faith in my own trustworthiness as a witness, and attempts to force a further reflexion on the nature of what is presented.”



  • Mimi Chun, Founder and Director, Blindspot Gallery, Hong Kong
  • Salvador Nadales, Curator of Collections Department and Head of Institutional Relations, Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid
  • Andrew Sanigar, Commissioning Editor, Thames & Hudson, London
  • Astrid Ullens de Schooten, Founder and President, Fondation A. Stichting, Bruxelles

Partenaires fondateurs

  • Tatyana Franck, Director, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
  • Michel Parmigiani, Founder, Parmigiani Fleurier, Fleurier
  • Marina Vatchnadze, Sandoz Family Foundation, Manager of the cultural patronage

Prix Elysée 2016 – 2018

Nominés


Livre des nominés

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée en collaboration avec Éditions Photosynthèses à Arles, ce livre présente les projets des huit nominés de la deuxième édition du Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka Okereke et Robert Zhao Renhui ont été sélectionnes par le musée parmi plus de 440 candidats du monde entier. Ils ont bénéficié d’une carte blanche pour un nouveau projet dont chacun présente les premiers résultats dans un livre d’artiste. Réunis dans un coffret de collection, ces livres invitent le lecteur à pénétrer dans l’intimité d’une œuvre tout en proposant un tour d’horizon des pratiques photographiques contemporaines.

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne et les Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles
Janvier 2017
Texts by: Tatyana Franck, Pascal Hufschmid, Michel Parmigiani and Holly Roussell Perret-Gentil
23.5 x 32 cm
Coffret toilé contenant 9 livres
160 pages (8 cahiers de 16 pages, 1 cahier de 32 pages)
200 images
Bilingue français & anglais
ISBN : 979-10-95822-02-8


Lauréat

Matthias Bruggmann

« D’un point de vue formel, mon précédent travail amenait le public dans une situation où il devait décider de la nature de l’œuvre même. Ce mécanisme pourrait ressembler, bien qu’on puisse le contester scientifiquement, à ce qui se produit en physique quantique lorsque l’observation change la nature de ce qui est observé. Mon travail sur la Syrie s’inspire de ce présupposé.

D’un point de vue documentaire, il s’agit, à ma connaissance et jusqu’à présent, de la seule œuvre de ce type réalisée à l’intérieur même de la Syrie par un seul photographe occidental, et ce en grande partie grâce à l’aide et aux travaux dévoués de certains des meilleurs experts indépendants sur le conflit. En raison de la nature de ce conflit, j’estime qu’il est nécessaire d’étendre le périmètre géographique de ce travail.

Il s’agit là essentiellement d’une tentative de créer un sentiment d’ambiguïté morale. Sa conception vise à mettre le public mal à l’aise en remettant en cause ses propres suppositions morales, et ainsi à essayer de susciter, chez un public occidental, une compréhension viscérale de la violence intangible qui sous-tend tout conflit. L’un des moyens utilisés consiste à pervertir les codes normalement employés dans la photographie documentaire pour accroître l’identification avec le sujet. Tout en se conformant parfaitement aux normes homologuées du documentaire, une partie du travail est destinée à amoindrir la confiance du public en ma propre fiabilité en tant que témoin et à forcer une réflexion plus poussée sur la nature de ce qui lui est présenté.»


Jury

Experts

  • Mimi Chun, Founder and Director, Blindspot Gallery, Hong Kong
  • Salvador Nadales, Curator of Collections Department and Head of Institutional Relations, Museo Reina Sofia, Madrid
  • Andrew Sanigar, Commissioning Editor, Thames & Hudson, London
  • Astrid Ullens de Schooten, Founder and President, Fondation A. Stichting, Bruxelles

 

Partenaires fondateurs

  • Tatyana Franck, Director, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
  • Michel Parmigiani, Founder, Parmigiani Fleurier, Fleurier
  • Marina Vatchnadze, Sandoz Family Foundation, Manager of the cultural patronage