Back to the list

Alexa Brunet

1977, born in Angers, France

Represented by the collective TRANSIT and SAIF Images, Alexa Brunet is a French photographic artist who studied at Belfast’s Art College and the ENSP in Arles. Her intrinsically documentary approach involves working closely with authors and journalists. Influenced by painting, magical realism and cinema, for several years Brunet has been producing symbolic, poetic photographs that are sometimes absurd, sometimes dark. Through the lens of fiction, she interprets contemporary issues such as shale gas, housing and the downward spiral of industrial farming.


Presentation of the project “Odyssée 2.0”

In this new project entitled Odyssey 2.0, the compositions with their quirky, symbolic, surreal or futuristic dimension re-establish the original meaning of the texts at a time when the manipulation of words is constantly inversing their true sense. This elicits the emergence of a brand new perspective of the encounter between two different styles of writing: words and pictures.  

The first image is born of a rereading of Homer’s Odyssey. On his long journey home to Ithaca, Ulysses is confronted with promises that open doors to unknown worlds, from the land of oblivion with the lotus-eaters to the immortality offered by Calypso during his final stopover. Must one leave the known world to enter into new horizons? Ulysses answers this question with a resounding “no” in his desire to remain human and therefore mortal.  

The clash of this image with the teeming technological possibilities of our 21st century is what lies at the heart of this project. Instant access to a colossal mass of data, knowledge of the future, the compression of time and the promise of omnipotence that materialises by touch or voice command is the everyday life we are constantly being promised – the promise of “augmented reality” and “artificial intelligence”. But is reality really being augmented…or influenced and steered? The labelling and codification of human experience opens up a horizon of control and rationality from which the unexpected has disappeared. 

For Alexa Brunet, starting out with this initial image means challenging reality through what the legendary world of Ancient Greece reveals to us. Basing her work on a photographic narrative mirroring the mythological tale, she documents this new universe where artificial creatures have replaced the legends passed down as stories. Her project aims to illustrate the modern human adventure by echoing the ancient myths.


Selected Exhibitions

2020   Abrégé des secrets, Les Femmes s’exposent Festival, Houlgate, France

2019  Dystopia, Terra Nostra Collective Exhibition, les Photaumnales, Beauvais, France

2019  Sorcières ! H2M Contemporary Art Centre, Bourg-en-Bresse, France

2018  Lieux infinis, French pavilion, Venice Biennale of Architecture, Italy

2018  Manger à l’œil, les français à table, MUCEM, Marseille, France

2017  Dystopia, La fin des paysans ? COMPA Agricultural Conservatory, Chartres, France

2017  La France Vue d’Ici, Images Singulières Festival, Sète, France

2011  Journal de nuit, Transphotographiques Festival, Lille, France

2009  Journal de nuit, Berlin Centre Atlantique de la photographie, Brest

2005  Post, Rencontres d’Arles, Abbaye de Montmajour, Arles, France

Selected Publications

2018  Abrégé des secrets, texts by Chantal Portillo, le bec en l’air 

2015  Dystopia, texts by Patrick Herman and Gilles Clément, le bec en l’air

2011  En Somme, Diaphane Editions

2010  Habitants Atypiques, textes de Joy Sorman et Irène Brunet, Images en Manoeuvres

2007  POST, ex-Yougoslavie, texts by François Bazzoli and Dejan Dimitrievic, le bec en l’air

 


Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Alexa Brunet

1977, née à Angers, France

Représentée par le collectif transit et la SAIF images, Alexa Brunet est une photographe plasticienne française diplômée de l’Art College de Belfast et de l’ENSP d’Arles. Intrinsèquement documentaire, sa démarche implique une étroite collaboration avec des auteurs et des journalistes. Influencée par la peinture, le réalisme magique et le cinéma, Alexa Brunet réalise depuis quelques années des photographies symboliques, poétiques, parfois absurdes voire grinçantes. Le prisme de la fiction l’autorise à interpréter des questions d’actualité telles que le gaz de schiste, l’habitat ou les dérives de l’agriculture industrielle.


Présentation du projet « Odyssée 2.0 »

Dans ce nouveau projet intitulé Odyssée 2.0, les scénographies, par leur côté décalé, symbolique, surréaliste ou d’anticipation, permettront aux textes de retrouver leur sens, dans une époque où la manipulation des mots inverse sans cesse leur véritable signification. Il s’agit de faire surgir un éclairage nouveau-né de la confrontation de deux écritures différentes : les mots et les images.

L’image première surgit d’une relecture, celle de l’Odyssée d’Homère. Dans son long voyage de retour vers Ithaque, Ulysse est confronté à des promesses lui ouvrant les portes de mondes inconnus, du pays de l’oubli chez les Lotophages jusqu’à l’immortalité offerte par Calypso lors de sa dernière halte. Faut-il quitter le monde connu pour entrer dans le territoire de l’ailleurs ? Telle est la question à laquelle Ulysse répond par la négative, dans sa volonté de rester humain et donc mortel. 

Le télescopage de cette image avec les propositions technologiques foisonnantes de notre XXIe siècle est à l’origine de ce projet. Accès immédiat à une masse colossale de données, connaissance du futur, compression du temps et enfin promesse d’une toute-puissance matérialisée par la commande tactile ou vocale, ce quotidien nous est sans cesse promis. C’est celui de la « réalité augmentée » et de « l’intelligence artificielle ». Réalité augmentée ou orientée ? L’étiquetage et la codification de l’expérience humaine ouvrent un horizon de maîtrise et de rationalité duquel l’imprévu aura disparu. 

Pour Alexa Brunet, partir de cette image première, c’est questionner le réel en regard de ce que nous dévoile le monde légendaire de la Grèce ancienne. A partir d’un récit photographique rappelant le récit mythologique, il s’agit de documenter ce nouvel univers où des créatures artificielles ont remplacé des mythes transmis sous forme de récits. L’aventure humaine moderne entre ici en résonance avec le récit mythique, tel est ce que ce travail s’attachera à montrer.


Principales expositions

2020  Abrégé des secrets, festival Les femmes s’exposent, Houlgate

2019  Dystopia, exposition collective Terra nostra, les Photaumnales, Beauvais

2019  Sorcières ! Centre d’Art contemporain H2M, Bourg-en-Bresse

2018  Lieux infinis, pavillon français, Biennale d’Architecture, Venise

2018  Manger à l’œil, les français à table, MUCEM, Marseille

2017  Dystopia, La fin des paysans ? Musée du COMPA Chartres

2017  La France Vue d’Ici, festival Images Singulières, Sète

2011  Journal de nuit, Transphotographiques, Lille

2009  Journal de nuit, Berlin Centre Atlantique de la photographie, Brest

2005  Post, Rencontres d’Arles, Abbaye de Montmajour, Arles, France

Publications monographiques

2018  Abrégé des secrets, textes de Chantal Portillo, éditions le bec en l’air

2015  Dystopia, textes de Patrick Herman et Gilles Clément, éditions le bec en l’air

2011  En Somme, éditions Diaphane

2010  Habitants Atypiques, textes de Joy Sorman et Irène Brunet, éditions Images en Manoeuvres

2007  POST, ex-Yougoslavie, textes de François Bazzoli et Dejan Dimitrievic, éditions le bec en l’air

 


Portfolio