Back to the list

Assaf Shoshan

1973, born in Jerusalem

Assaf Shoshan is a photographer and video artist. He examines a world in which boundaries endlessly appear and disappear, a world where time is experienced differently. His portraits and landscapes reveal an enigmatic atmosphere shrouded in surreal mystery. Between reality and fiction, Shoshan’s work has poetic scope, contemplative yet also intensely political. It explores a fundamental human dimension in the quest for identity, and the feelings of exile and belonging.


Presentation of the project “10 ans de solitude”

In the autumn of 2010, thousands of “sans papiers” (illegal or undocumented immigrants) demonstrated in France’s capital, hoping to have their situation resolved. This extraordinary mobilisation took the name of “the undocumented workers’ movement”. Assaf Shoshan took more than 70 portraits of men and women, all identified only by their initials. From the perspective of both the process and the result, this series brings to mind the desperately desired “identity papers” with their official photos intended to “stabilise” their identity. 

Ten years after he first met these asylum seekers from Mali and Senegal in a squat in Paris’ 18th arrondissement, Shoshan decided to find out what had happened to each of them. This is the theme of 10 Years of Solitude, the new project he is presenting here.

With this mission, he hoped to take their portraits with the same constraints, but ten years later, to illustrate a transformation, capture the mobility of life and the time that passes, capture what has changed for them and whether or not they have managed to obtain their papers. He seeks to capture the traces of this struggle. Since Shoshan only has the initials of the asylum seekers that he photographed, his quest proves to be long and uncertain. 

“How do you photograph people in hiding? That question intrigued Shoshan and ultimately led him to start this project. How do you tell the story of a woman or a man without ever meeting their gaze? The answer lies in the details”. 

This project is very close to his heart… it is long, delicate and perilous. Assaf Shoshan raises the question of – and gropes for the answer to – his role as a photographer and his role as a human being.


Selected Exhibitions

2019  Hermès: “No Lifeguard On Duty”, Cité des métiers, Pantin, France

2018  Kanal – Centre Pompidou: “Identity and Alterity: Shifting Representations”, Brussels, Belgium

2017  La Frontiera: “Standing at The Front”, Paris, France

2016  ParisPhoto: “The Pencil of Culture” 10 ans d’acquisitions au Centre Pompidou, Paris, France

2016  Villa Médicis: “Melancholia”, Rome, Italy

2015  S.a.L.E Docks, Venice Biennale: “The Nationless Pavilion” Venice, Italy

Selected Publications

2018  Bernard Blistène, Kanal-Centre Pompidou, exhibition catalogue, Brussels, Kanal, Brussels, Fonds Mercator, 

2016  Clément Chéroux, Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, The Pencil of Culture – 10 ans d’acquisitions de photographies au Centre Pompidou, exhibition catalogue, Paris, Le Grand Palais (7 – 10 November 2016), Trézélan, Filigranes Éditions

2013  Laurent Vidal, Gil Pasternak, Ellie Armon Azoulay, in Assaf Shoshan – Territoires de l’attente, Montreuil sur Brèche, Diaphane éditions

2006  Dennis Cooper, in Assaf Shoshan, Motsa, Besançon, Le Pavé Dans La Mare


Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Assaf Shoshan

1973, né à Jérusalem

Photographe et vidéaste, Assaf Shoshan interroge un monde où les frontières apparaissent et disparaissent sans fin, un monde où le temps est ressenti différemment. Ses portraits et ses paysages révèlent une atmosphère énigmatique, nimbée de mystère et d’irréel. Entre réalité et fiction, l’oeuvre d’Assaf Shoshan est empreinte d’une portée poétique, contemplative mais également fortement politique. Elle s’ouvre sur une dimension humaine fondamentale : la quête d’identité, le sentiment de l’exil et de l’appartenance.


Présentation du projet « 10 ans de solitude »

À l’automne 2010, des milliers de « sans-papiers » manifestent dans la capitale avec l’espoir de voir leur situation régularisée. Cette mobilisation inédite prend le nom de « mouvement des travailleurs sans papiers ». Assaf Shoshan prend plus de 70 portraits de 18 hommes et femmes, tous désignés uniquement par leurs initiales. Du point de vue du processus comme du résultat, cette série évoque les « papiers d’identité » tant souhaités et leur photo officielle, censée « stabiliser » leur identité.

10 ans après sa rencontre avec les demandeurs d’asile Maliens et Sénégalais du squat du 18ème arrondissement, il décide de partir à leur recherche pour savoir ce qu’ils sont devenus. C’est l’objet du nouveau projet qu’il présente ici : 10 ans de solitude.

Dans cette recherche, il souhaite réaliser leurs portraits avec les mêmes contraintes, mais dix ans plus tard. Donner à voir une transformation, saisir la mobilité de la vie, du temps qui passe. Ce qui a changé pour eux, s’ils ont obtenu ou non leurs papiers. Ce sont les traces de cette lutte qu’il veut saisir. Comme Assaf Shoshan ne bénéficie que des initiales des demandeurs d’asile qu’il a photographié, sa quête s’avère longue et incertaine. 

« Comment photographier des gens qui se cachent ? C’est cette impossibilité du portrait qui a donné lieu à cette recherche. Comment raconter un homme, une femme, sans jamais croiser son regard ? Le détail a alors toute sa place. »

Ce projet lui tient à cœur, il est long, délicat, périlleux. Assaf Shoshan tâtonne, questionne : sa place de photographe et sa place d’homme.


Principales expositions

2019  Hermès: “No Lifeguard On Duty”, Cité des métiers, Pantin, France

2018  Kanal – Centre Pompidou: “Identity and Alterity: Shifting Representations”, Brussels, Belgium

2017  La Frontiera: “Standing at The Front”, Paris, France

2016  ParisPhoto: “The Pencil of Culture” 10 ans d’acquisitions au Centre Pompidou, Paris, France

2016  Villa Médicis: “Melancholia”, Rome, Italy

2015  S.a.L.E Docks, Venice Biennale: “The Nationless Pavilion” Venice, Italy

Publications monographiques

2018  Bernard Blistène, Kanal-Centre Pompidou, cat. expo., Bruxelles, Kanal, Bruxelles, Fonds Mercator, 

2016  Clément Chéroux, Karolina Ziebinska-Lewandowska, The Pencil of Culture – 10 ans d’acquisitions de photographies au Centre Pompidou, cat. expo., Paris, Le Grand Palais (7 – 10 novembre 2016), Trézélan, Filigranes Éditions

2013  Laurent Vidal, Gil Pasternak, Ellie Armon Azoulay, dans Assaf Shoshan – Territoires de l’attente, Montreuil sur Brèche, Diaphane éditions

2006  Dennis Cooper, dans Assaf Shoshan, Motsa, Besançon, Le Pavé Dans La Mare


Portfolio