Back to the list

Claude Baechtold

1972, born in Lausanne, Switzerland, lives and works in France

After graduating in visual communication at the ECAL (Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne), Claude Baechtold developed his work in Iran, compulsively photographing Iran’s national car, which he presented in the form of road maps and wallpaper.

With his collective Riverboom, founded in Afghanistan with war reporters Serge Michel and Paolo Woods, he redefined minor photographic genres, giving us adventure photo-novellas, accelerated slide shows transformed into psychedelic animated films, travel guides randomly cataloguing Iraqi moustaches, Soviet tanks and Inuit kayaks, and games of Match-Up depicting visual duels between Switzerland and the rest of the world. This inventive approach put him on the map as an upholder of the latest “new reporting” and won him the Swiss Federal Prize for Applied Arts in 2002 and the Grand Prix Images 2006.

In 2012 he shot his first fiction movie in Nollywood, Nigeria and founded the collective Cowboy Noir – Cinéma et Aventure with Augustin Rebetez, Dimitri Procofieff, Nicolas Lieber and Noé Cauderay. He currently works as a fiction scriptwriter and director in Paris.

www.riverboom.com


Presentation of his project "Tout ira bien"

Seeking comfort after their parents’ death, Claude Baechtold and his brother search the family home from top to bottom – but they find nothing; no farewell note, not a shred of advice about facing life without them. Claude Baechtold looked in vain in their  belongings for a letter they would have left him. It would have started with: Everything will be ok.

“Twenty years ago, my parents died.

After the funeral, terrified by the idea of life without them, my brother and I found ourselves in the family home.

It was then that we had the crazy idea that they had left us instructions, hidden somewhere so that we’d find them after their death.

And so we shut ourselves in the house and the treasure hunt began: dismantling each piece of furniture, lifting every rug, sifting through every drawer, leafing through each journal and every book, deciphering every note, listening to every cassette, watching every movie, examining every picture, scrutinizing every negative under a microscope..

After a month of archeological research, cut off from the outside world, we had archived everything in 300 crates, but nothing. Not the slightest farewell note, no hint of advice for the future.

My brother turned to me and said, “Everything will be okay”.

This book is the instruction manual that we never found.”


Selected exhibitions

  • 2014 Quai 1, Vevey, Switzerland
  • 2012 [Contre]Culture/CH, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • 2012 Festival Images Vevey, Switzerland
  • 2010 Coalmine Gallery, Winterthour, Switzerland
  • 2010 Belvedere Gallery, Milan, Italy
  • 2010 Journées photographiques de Bienne, Switzerland
  • 2006 Festival Images 06, Vevey, Switzerland
  • 2002 Galerie Neugebauer, Basel, Switzerland
  • 2002 Museum für Gestaltung, Zurich, Switzerland


Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Claude Baechtold

1972, né à Lausanne, vit et travaille en France

Diplômé de l’Ecal en communication visuelle, c’est en Iran que Claude Baechtold développe son travail photographique en collectionnant de manière compulsive la voiture nationale iranienne, qu’il déclinera sous forme de cartes routières et de papier peint.

Avec son collectif Riverboom qu’il fonde en Afghanistan avec les reporters de guerre Serge Michel et Paolo Woods, il revisite les genres mineurs de la photographie : Roman photo d’aventure – diaporama accéléré transformé en film d’animation psychédélique – guides de voyages répertoriant pèle mêle moustaches irakiennes chars soviétiques et Kayaks Inuits ­– jeux de Memory illustrant des duels visuels entre la Suisse et le reste du monde. Cette approche novatrice l’impose comme un tenant du nouveau « nouveau reportage » et lui vaut le prix fédéral des arts appliqués en 2002 et le grand prix Images 2006.

En 2012 il tourne son premier film de fiction à Nollywood – Nigeria et fonde le collectif Cowboy Noir, cinéma et aventure avec Augustin Rebetez, Dimitri Procofieff, Nicolas Lieber et Noé Cauderay. Il est actuellement scénariste et réalisateur de fiction à Paris.

www.riverboom.com/


Présentation du projet "Tout ira bien"

Après le décès de leurs parents, Claude Baechtold et son frère en quête de réconfort fouillent de fond en comble la maison familiale, mais rien : pas un mot d’adieu ni un conseil pour affronter la vie sans eux. Claude Baechtold a cherché en vain dans leurs affaires une lettre qu’ils lui auraient laissée. Elle aurait commencé par : Tout ira bien.

« Il y a 20 ans, j’ai perdu mes parents.

Après l’enterrement, paniqué à l’idée d’appréhender la vie sans eux, je me retrouve avec mon frère dans la maison familiale.

C’est alors que naît l’espoir fou qu’ils nous ont laissé des instructions, cachées quelque part pour que nous les trouvions après leur mort.

Alors nous nous enfermons dans la maison et la chasse au trésor commence : chaque meuble est démonté, chaque tapis arraché, chaque tiroir passé au tamis, chaque journal feuilleté, chaque livre épluché, chaque billet déchiffré, chaque cassette écoutée, chaque film regardé, chaque image auscultée, chaque négatif scruté au microscope.

Au bout d’un mois de recherches archéologiques, déconnectés du monde extérieur, nous avions tout archivé dans 300 caisses, et rien : pas le moindre mot d’adieu, pas l’ombre d’un conseil pour l’avenir.

Mon frère se tourna vers moi et me dit :

– Tout ira bien

Ce livre est le mode d’emploi que l’on n’a jamais trouvé. »


Expositions principales

  • 2014 Quai 1, Vevey, Suisse
  • 2012 [Contre]Culture/CH, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne, Suisse
  • 2012 Festival Images Vevey, Suisse
  • 2010 Coalmine Gallery, Winterthour, Suisse
  • 2010 Belvedere Gallery, Milan, Italie
  • 2010 Journées photographiques de Bienne, Suisse
  • 2006 Festival Images 06, Vevey, Suisse
  • 2002 Galerie Neugebauer, Bâle, Suisse
  • 2002 Museum für Gestaltung, Zurich, Suisse


Portfolio