Kurt Tong

1977, born in Hong Kong, China
Winner - Prix Elysée 2020-2022

Kurt Tong graduated with a Master’s degree in documentary photography at the London College of Communication in 2006. Having grown up in the United Kingdom, his work revolves around exploring his Chinese roots, his upbringing and understanding of his motherland. Using multilayered narratives, his recent work has dealt with the Asian Diaspora, Chinese funeral practices and early Chinese feminism.

Much of Kurt’s work, whilst deeply rooted in photography, has incorporated other mediums, performative elements and audience participations. Pushing the possibility of photography as a narrative tool.

Projet

Dear Franklin

Three years ago, Kurt Tong was given an old wooden trunk after the death of a friend’s neighbour. The outside was sealed by a taoist seal, and inside the trunk were a number of hand written letters, old photographs, numerous books from the 1920s, all belonging to a man called Franklin Lung.

After months of research by meticulously combing through all the clues, he found out that Franklin was born into a poor family in Hong Kong just after the fall of Imperial China in 1912. Through determination, Franklin managed to attend the best university in Shanghai and he became a member of high society, who had trading links with several of the colonial occupiers. He also fell in love and got engaged to Dongyu, the daughter of a high ranking Kuomintang general.

In 1948, tragedy struck. Dongyu was on board the SS Kiangya, packed with refugees escaping the communist army when it was sunk by an old Japanese sea mine near the mouth of the Huangpu River. Franklin was heartbroken but decided to go ahead with the wedding, marrying her in an elaborate ghost marriage ceremony, where a living person is eternally tied to a deceased person in the spirit world. Soon after the wedding, Franklin fled to Hong Kong. He briefly emigrated to the USA via the 105 annual quota after the repealed of the Chinese Exclusion Act. After several failed businesses in San Francisco, he was left penniless. At some point, he returned to Hong Kong, still stricken from grief, he committed suicide by jumping into the Victoria Harbour during Typhoon Wanda in 1962 and presumed drowned.

Despite Franklin’s story happening in the first half the 20th century, there are very current themes running through it; Social mobility, migration and tragedy, and people risking it all for better opportunities. This body of work also examines the superstitious practices around fortune telling, conjuring and many of the less common taoists practices, and people seeking closure and escape through supernatural means.

Video

Retour à la liste des nominés

Kurt Tong

1977, né à Hong Kong, Chine

Kurt Tong a obtenu un master en photographie documentaire au London College of Communication en 2006. Ayant grandi au Royaume-Uni, son travail consiste à explorer ses racines chinoises, son éducation et sa propre compréhension de son pays d’origine. Utilisant une technique de récit décomposée en plusieurs strates, son travail récent a porté sur la diaspora asiatique, les pratiques funéraires chinoises et le féminisme chinois.

Une grande partie du travail de Kurt, bien que profondément ancrée dans la photographie, a incorporé d’autres médiums, des éléments performatifs et la participation du public. Il pousse la possibilité de la photographie comme outil narratif.


Présentation du projet « Dear Franklin »

Il y a trois ans, après la mort du voisin d’un ami, Kurt Tong a reçu un vieux coffre en bois. L’extérieur était scellé par un sceau taoïste, et l’intérieur contenait de nombreuses lettres calligraphiées, de photographies, ainsi que des livres des années 1920, tout appartenant à un homme nommé Franklin Lung.

Après des mois de recherches à analyser méticuleusement tous les indices, Kurt découvre que Franklin est issu d’une famille pauvre de Hong Kong, ayant vécu juste après la chute de l’Empire Chinois en 1912. A force de détermination, Franklin réussit à entrer dans la meilleure université de Shanghai, devient un membre de la haute société et entretient des échanges de commerce avec plusieurs des occupants coloniaux. Il tombe amoureux, et se fiance à Dongyu, la fille d’un général Kuomintang de haut rang.

En 1948, la tragédie frappe. Dongyu était à bord du SS Kiangya, débordant de réfugiés fuyant l’armée communiste quand le bateau coule, touché par une mine marine japonaise près de la bouche de la rivière Huangpu. Franklin a le cœur brisé, mais décide de l’épouser malgré tout par le biais d’une cérémonie de mariage fantomatique, lors de laquelle une personne vivante est liée éternellement à une personne décédée résidant dans le monde des esprits. Peu après le mariage, Franklin fuit Hong Kong et émigre brièvement aux Etats-Unis. Après plusieurs entreprises ratées à San Francisco, il se retrouve sans le sou. Puis, toujours anéanti par le deuil, il retourne à Hong Kong où il se suicide en sautant dans le Victoria Harbour durant le typhon Wanda en 1962. Il est présumé noyé.

Bien que l’histoire de Franklin se déroule durant la première moitié du 20ème siècle, on y retrouve de nombreux thèmes d’actualité : la mobilité sociale, la migration et la tragédie, les gens qui risquent tout dans l’espoir d’une vie meilleure. Ce corpus examine aussi des pratiques surnaturelles ou superstitieuses telles que la divination, la conjuration ou encore certaines pratiques taoïstes moins répandues.  


Principales expositions

2020  Combing for Ice and Jade, Esplanade, Singapour

2019  Combing for Ice and Jade, Ground Control, Les Rencontres d’Arles, Arles, France

2019  Dimensions of Family, Times Art Museum, Beijing, Chine 

2019  Potentiality, Finnish Musuem of Photography, Helsinki, Finlande

2018  The Queen, The Chairman and I, Lianzhou Photography Museum, Lianzhou, Chine

2017  Combing for Ice and Jade, Himalayas Art Museum, Shanghai, Chine

2016  The Queen, The Chairman and I, Impressions Gallery, Bradford, Royaume Uni 

2010  In Case it Rains in Heaven, Compton Verney, Warwickshire, Royaume Uni 

Publications monographiques

2019  The Queen, The Chairman and I, Dewi Lewis Publishing, Royaume Uni 

2019  Combing for Ice and Jade, Jiazazhi Press, Chine

2011  In Case it Rains in Heaven, Kehrer Verlag, Heidelberg, Allemagne


Portfolio