Back to the list

Mathieu Asselin

1973, born in Aix-en-Provence, France, lives and works in the United States and in France

Mathieu Asselin began his career working on film productions in Caracas, but honed his documentary photography style in the United States. He holds a master’s degree from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure de la Photographie in Arles, France. His main interest lies with long-term documentary projects.
To construct his multi-layered stories, Mathieu Asselin incorporates different types of documents and archive materials – press excerpts, verdicts, videos, films, and testimonies – focusing on facts or dates that dramatically illustrate his work. Asselin’s work has featured in magazines worldwide, and has been exhibited in Les Rencontre d’Arles in France, London’s Photographers’ Gallery, the Fotomuseum Antwerp in Belgium, the European Parliament in Strasbourg, the Athens Photo Festival and the BredaPhoto Festival, among others.
In 2014 he was selected for Plat(t)form at Fotomuseum Winterthur and as an artist in residence with Imagine Science Films in New York. In 2016, he won the first prize for the Dummy Award during the Fotobook Festival in Kassel, and a special mention at the Luma Rencontres Dummy Book Award in Arles. His project Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation has been awarded first prize for the Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Award (2017) and shortlisted for the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize (2018). Monsanto has been scheduled for major exhibitions across Europe in 2018-2019.

www.mathieuasselin.com

©Herve Hote

©Herve Hote


Presentation of his project "HIV Timeline"

Mathieu Asselin sets out to give a photographic account of the history of the HIV/AIDS epidemic, not just snatches of it, but on a global scale. He aims to trace a timeline that will follow the virus’ journey from ground zero to antiretroviral treatments via the struggles of those affected by the disease. The author is currently working on HIV’s transfers and mutations, but also on the representations and combats it has given rise to and that have profoundly marked contemporary history.

“The account of recent decades (at the turn of the 20th and 21th centuries) cannot be told without including the history of the human immunodeficiency virus HIV. It’s a story, we don’t fully understand: for a long time, the tales that reached us were fuelled by fear rather that the product of facts.

With this project, I want to show this story by following the virus’ journey – its migrations and mutations, the traces and shreds it has left and both the movements that shaped it and those it gave rise to.

The unprecedented mobilization of the scientific community lays the foundations stones for this journey, from the discovery of the virus to the latest antiretroviral treatments.

Then, the history of HIV also involves fierce debates, as well as the political and religious influence over the representations of the disease, and the struggles that it led to. Leaping into the pages of history, the pandemic fall within the scope of a global scientific, social, political and human history.

To follow the virus’ journey, this project traces a timeline, pursuing it:  going back through its history also means comprehending to what extent the combats it has given rise to are also a race against time. The Congo’s independence, ground zero in south-east Cameroon, the saunas of San Francisco’s gay community, and the Berlin Patient : as many milestones, stories and fragments of history, chronological sequences to try to encompass and give shape to this story.

The epidemic, by its scope and permanence, has aroused unprecedented debate, social movements, disputes and protests, individual rights and collective responses that have shaped the relationships at the heart of our societies for the last fifty years.

And yet we only hear snatches of the narrative. The aim here is to tell the whole story, to understand it as part of our contemporary history and our common memory: as part our collective present. And to tell it photographically, adopting this new scale.

After two years of research, (thanks to the help of Center for Tropical Diseases in Montpellier, French National Archival in Paris), I am currently producing the first chapter, The Spill, S to H. This preliminary documentation will take me to new geographical horizons, to become a photographic account: the virus’ journey, its crossing, its transfers and mutations, the representations, the struggles and the spectacular mobilizations that make this disease both the most destructive and the most constructive epidemic of  our contemporary history.”


Selected exhibitions

  • 2018 The Photographers’ Gallery, London, UK
  • 2018 Museum of Modern Art Frankfurt (MMK 3), Germany
  • 2018 European Parliament, Strasburg, France
  • 2018 Fotomuseum Antwerpen, Belgium
  • 2017/18 J1 Marseille, France
  • 2017 Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles, France
  • 2016 BredaPhoto Festival, The Netherlands
  • 2016 Athens Photo Festival, Greece
  • 2012 Exhibiting Powerful Images from the 99 Percent, International Center of Photography, Governors Island, New York, USA
  • 2012 A Survey of Documentary Styles in Early 21st Century Photobooks, Foto Week DC, Washington DC

Publications

  • 2018 Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation, News Print, self-published
  • 2017 Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation Verlag Kettle and Editions Actes Sud
  • 2017 The Ninety-Nine Percent, self-published
  • 2015 Realidades Instantáneas Catalogue
  • 2016 Australian Photo Journalist
  • 2016 Disorder, Pictet Prix Catalogue

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Mathieu Asselin

1973, né à Aix-en-Provence, France, vit et travaille aux Etats-Unis et en France

Mathieu Asselin a débuté sa carrière dans la production de films de cinéma à Caracas, mais a affûté son style photographique documentaire aux Etats-Unis. Il est diplômé de l’Ecole nationale supérieure de la photographie d’Arles (Master) en France. Il est principalement intéressé par la réalisation de projets documentaires à long terme.
Afin de composer des histoires à plusieurs dimensions, Mathieu Asselin incorpore à son travail différents types de documents et d’archives – coupures de presse, jugements, vidéos, films et témoignages -, se focalisant sur des faits ou dates qui illustrent profondément son travail. Les photographies d’Asselin ont été publiées dans divers magazines. Il a également exposé aux Rencontres photographiques d’Arles en France, à la Photographers’ Gallery à Londres, au Musée de la photographie d’Anvers en Belgique, au Parlement européen à Strasbourg, au Festival Photo d’Athènes et au BredaPhoto Festival entre autres.
En 2014, il a été sélectionné pour Plat(t)form par le Fotomuseum Winterthur et comme artiste en résidence par Imagine Science Films à New York. En 2016, il a remporté le premier prix au Dummy Award du Fotobook Festival de Cassel et reçu une mention spéciale du Luma Rencontres Dummy Book Award d’Arles. Son projet Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation a reçu le prix du premier livre photographique 2017 de Aperture Foundation. Il a aussi été sélectionné pour le Prix pour la photographie de la Fondation Deutsche Börse en 2018. Plusieurs expositions importantes de Monsanto sont prévues en 2018-19 en Europe.

www.mathieuasselin.com

©Herve Hote

©Herve Hote


Présentation du projet "VIH Timeline"

Mathieu Asselin se propose de faire le récit photographique de l’histoire de l’épidémie de sida et du VIH, non plus par bribes, mais à l’échelle mondiale. Il compte tracer une ligne de temps qui suivra le voyage du virus, du point zéro jusqu’aux traitements antirétroviraux en passant par les luttes de ceux qui ont été touchés par cette maladie. Actuellement, l’auteur travaille sur les déplacements du VIH, ses mutations, mais aussi les représentations et les combats auxquels il a donné lieu, et qui ont profondément marqué l’histoire contemporaine.

« Le récit des dernières décennies ne peut exclure l’histoire du VIH, le virus de l’immunodéficience humaine. Une histoire que l’on connaît mal, car les récits qui nous sont parvenus furent longtemps le produit de la peur.

J’envisage de montrer cette histoire en suivant le voyage du virus, ses migrations et ses mutations, les traces qu’il a laissées, les mouvements qui lui donnèrent forme autant que ceux auxquels il a donné lieu.

La mobilisation exceptionnelle de la communauté scientifique pose les premiers jalons de cette traversée, depuis la découverte du virus jusqu’aux derniers traitements antirétroviraux.

L’histoire du VIH est aussi celle de vives polémiques, de l’influence du politique et du religieux sur les représentations de cette maladie, et celle des luttes qui en sont nées.

Pour suivre le voyage du virus, ce projet trace une ligne de temps. Elle indiquera à quel point les combats qu’il a soulevés sont aussi une luttecontre le temps. L’indépendance du Congo ; le point zéro au sud-est du Cameroun ; les saunas des communautés homosexuelles à San Francisco ; le patient de Berlin : autant de récits qui jalonnent cette traversée.

L’épidémie a ouvert un champ inédit de réflexions, de mouvements sociaux, d’espaces de contestation, de droits individuels et de réponses collectives qui ont façonné les rapports au cœur de nos sociétés ces cinquante dernières années.

Et pourtant, cette histoire nous est parvenue par bribes. Il s’agira ici de la montrer dans son intégralité, de l’envisager comme contemporaine et appartenant à notre mémoire commune, à notre présent collectif, de la raconter photographiquement à une échelle nouvelle.

Après deux années de recherche, j’en suis à la production du premier chapitre : The Spill, S to H. Ce travail de documentation préliminaire m’amènera vers de nouvelles aires géographiques et se convertira en un récit photographique : le voyage du virus, sa traversée, ses déplacements et mutations, les représentations, les combats et les mobilisations spectaculaires qui firent de cette maladie l’épidémie à la fois la plus destructrice et constitutive de notre histoire contemporaine. »


Expositions

  • 2018 The Photographers’ Gallery, Londres, Grande-Bretagne
  • 2018 Musée d’art moderne de Francfort (MMK 3), Allemagne
  • 2018 Parlement européen, Strasbourg, France
  • 2018 Musée de la photographie d’Anvers, Belgique
  • 2017/18 J1 Marseille, France
  • 2017 Rencontres photographiques d’Arles, France
  • 2016 BredaPhoto Festival, Pays-Bas
  • 2016 Photo Festival d’Athène, Grèce
  • 2012 Exhibiting Powerful Images from the 99 Percent, International Center of Photography, Governors Island, New-York, Etats-Unis
  • 2012 A Survey of Documentary Styles in Early 21st Century Photobooks, Foto Week DC, Washington, Etats-Unis

Publications

  • 2018 Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation, News Print, publication à compte d’auteur
  • 2017 Monsanto: A Photographic Investigation Verlag Kettle et Éditions Actes Sud
  • 2017 The Ninety-Nine Percent, publication à compte d’auteur
  • 2015 Catalogue Realidades Instantáneas
  • 2016 Australian Photo Journalist
  • 2016 Disorder, Pictet Prix Catalogue

Portfolio