Back to the list

Moises Saman

1974, born in Lima, Peru

Moises Saman was born in Lima, Peru, from a mixed Spanish and Peruvian family. At the age of one, his family relocated to Barcelona, Spain, where Moises spent most of his youth. Saman studied Communications and Sociology in the United States at California State University, graduating in 1998. It was during his last year in university that Saman first became interested in becoming a photographer, influenced by the work of a number of photojournalists that had been covering the wars in the Balkans.


Presentation of the project " GLAD TIDINGS OF BENEVOLENCE "*

Iraq has defined Moises Saman’s career as a photojournalist. He began working there just before the 2003 US invasion as a newspaper photographer, and has continued to work across the country almost every year since. His work has covered the US occupation and withdrawal, displacement, ethnic cleansing and other human rights and humanitarian crises, governance issues, the rise and fall of ISIS, and more. However, his intention with this project is not to present a journalistic or historical account of post-Saddam Iraq.

Rather, he wants to present a more conceptual account, one that captures the cacophony of voices that have shaped the narrative of what is arguably the defining war of our generation. He plans to pair his photographs with key sourced texts about the Iraq war – notable quotes from political, military and other powerful figures; memorable passages; official transcripts; military lingo; pop culture references; etc. Texts and photographs will be decontextualized and paired in ways that reveal new layers to the discussion.

Who has the power to shape the narrative of a war, and how do they wield that power? Who is a local voice, and who is a global voice? How do multiple narratives compete and combine with one another? What truths get buried in the clamor?

His photographs are not meant to represent an objective account of the Iraq war against which to compare the textual references. Rather, the book grapples with Moises Saman’s own role and power as a narrator – particularly one with access to foreign publications – and the biases and limitations inevitably embedded in his work.

*re title: Sourced from the thousands of code names used by the US military to identify military operations in Iraq from 2003-2010. Operation Glad Tidings of Benevolence was an Iraq operation carried out in 2009, it consisted of clearing areas in search of weapons caches, checking identification for known criminals and bringing humanitarian assistance to local communities. 


Selected Exhibitions

2020 –2021  COVID-19 and Us by Magnum Photos and You Musée International de la Croix Rouge, Geneva, Switzerland

2020 –2021  Mountains by Magnum Photographers, Forte di Bard, Bard, Italy 

2019  WALL/S Annenberg Center for Photography, Los Angeles, USA

2018  Players, Magnum Photographers come into Play, Fundacion Telefonica, Madrid, Spain

2017  Exile, Nobel Peace Center, Oslo, Norway

2017  Magnum Manifesto, ICP New York City, USA

Selected Publications

2016  DISCORDIA (Self-Published)  

2012  UNKNOWN QUANTITIES (Published by Fishbar Gallery, London)

2007  AFGHANISTAN:BROKEN PROMISE (Edizione Charta)

2005  THIS IS WAR (Edizione Charta)


Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Moises Saman

1974, né à Lima, Pérou

Moises Saman est né au Pérou en 1974, issu d’une famille mixte espagnole et péruvienne. Lorsqu’il avait un an, sa famille a déménagé à Barcelone en Espagne, où Moises a passé la majorité de sa jeunesse. Saman suit une formation en Communications et sociologie aux Etats-Unis, à l’université de Californie, où il obtient son diplôme en 1998. C’est durant sa dernière année à l’université qu’il s’intéresse au métier de photographe, influencé par les travaux des nombreux photojournalistes qui couvraient les guerres des Balkans.


Présentation du projet « GLAD TIDINGS OF BENEVOLENCE »*

L’Irak a déterminé la carrière de photojournaliste de Saman. Il commence à travailler là-bas avant l’invasion américaine de 2003 en tant que photographe de presse, et continue de travailler à travers le pays presque chaque année depuis. Son travail a couvert l’occupation américaine ainsi que son retrait, le déplacement des peuples, l’épuration ethnique, d’autres crises humanitaires et enjeux politiques, la montée et l’effondrement de l’Etat Islamique. Cependant, son intention avec ce projet n’est pas de montrer un rapport historique ou journalistique de l’Irak post-Saddam.

Plutôt, il souhaite présenter un compte rendu plus conceptuel, un rapport qui capte la cacophonie des voix qui ont façonné l’histoire de ce qui est sans doute la guerre définissant notre génération. Il a comme intention d’accompagner ses photographies avec des textes clés sur la guerre d’Irak – des citations notables de figures politiques, militaires et puissantes ; des passages mémorables ; des transcriptions officielles ; du jargon militaire ; des références à la pop-culture… Des textes et des photographies seront décontextualisées et associées de façon à révéler de nouvelles strates de discussion.

« Qui a le pouvoir de façonner le récit d’une guerre, et comment exercent-ils ce pouvoir ? Qui est une voix locale et qui une voix mondiale ? Comment des histoires multiples se font concurrence et se complètent ? Quelles vérités sont enterrées sous cette clameur ? »

Ses photos n’ont pas pour but de présenter un témoignage objectif de la guerre en Irak auquel comparer les références textuelles. Plutôt, ce livre capture le propre rôle de Moises Saman, et son pouvoir en tant que narrateur – surtout un narrateur ayant accès à des publications étrangères – ainsi que les préjugés et limitations inévitablement intrinsèques à son œuvre.

* Ce titre vient de l’un des milliers de noms de code utilisés par l’armée américaine pour identifier les opérations militaires en Irak de 2003 à 2010. Operation Glad Tidings of Benevolence (Bonnes nouvelles de bienveillance) était le nom d’une opération en Irak de 2009, qui consistait à dégager des régions à la recherche de caches d’armes, à vérifier les identités de criminels connus et à amener une assistance humanitaire aux communautés locales.


Principales expositions

2020 –2021  COVID-19 and Us de Magnum Photos et You Musée International de la Croix Rouge, Genève, Suisse

2020 –2021  Mountains de Magnum Photographers, Forte di Bard, Bard, Italie

2019  WALL/S Annenberg Center for Photography, Los Angeles, Etats-Unis

2018  Players, Magnum Photographers come into Play, Fundacion Telefonica, Madrid, Espagne

2017  Exile, Nobel Peace Center, Oslo, Norvège

2017  Magnum Manifesto, ICP New York City, Etats-Unis

Publications monographiques

2016  DISCORDIA (Autoédition)

2012  UNKNOWN QUANTITIES (Edité par Fishbar Gallery, Londres)

2007  AFGHANISTAN: BROKEN PROMISE (Edizione Charta)

2005  THIS IS WAR (Edizione Charta)


Portfolio