The Nominees’ Book 2018-2020

Published by the Musée de l’Elysée, this book presents the projects of the third Prix Elysée’s eight nominees. Laia Abril, Mathieu Asselin, Claude Baechtold, Alexandra Catiere, Alinka Echeverría, Gregory Halpern, Nicola Lo Calzo and Luis Carlos Tovar were selected by the museum from among almost 325 candidates from all over the world. They each received a contribution of CHF 5 000 and were given carte blanche to launch a new project, the initial results of which are brought together in this collective publication. A kind of “making-of”, this collective book aims to highlight the production side of the projects by focusing on models, ideas, diagrams, preparatory images and other exchanges between artists and curators.

Under the direction of Tatyana Franck
Interview Lydia Dorner
Published by le Musée de l’Elysée
January 2019
23.5cm x 32cm, paperback
136 pages, 80 color images
Bilingual French – English
ISBN 978-2-88350-115-7

The Nominees’ Book is available online and in the the Musée de l’Elysée’s bookshop.

       

Matthias Bruggmann. Un acte d’une violence Indicible

If the tens of thousands of pictures of torture taken by Syrian photographers do not attract the attention of a Western audience, what can a foreigner who doesn’t even speak Arabic hope to accomplish?

The photographs of Matthias Bruggmann take a critical look at the representation of the atrocities of war. They give Westerners a more nuanced picture of the reality of an armed conflict and blur the boundaries between photojournalism and contemporary artistic photography.

Launched in 2012, his project plunges us into the complexity of the conflict. His images, which cover a geographic zone larger than Syria, question our moral assumptions and bring about a better understanding of the violence underlying this conflict.

Several specialists in the Syrian conflict sign a text in the book.

Softcover / 336 pages
16 x 22,4 cm
Two versions: French and English
French ISBN: 978-2-36511-186-7
English ISBN: 978-2-36511-187-4

Available online and in the the Musée de l’Elysée’s bookshop.

       

The Nominees’ Book 2016-2018

Published by the Musée de l’Elysée in partnership with Editions Photosynthèses in Arles, this book presents the projects of the eight nominees of the second edition of the Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka Okereke and Robert Zhao Renhui were selected by the museum from among 440 candidates from all over the world. They were given carte blanche for a new project, each one presenting his or her initial results in an artist’s book. These books, presented together in a collection, invite the reader to delve into the privacy of a work in progress while providing an overview of contemporary photographic practices.

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne et les Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles
January 2017
Texts by: Tatyana Franck, Pascal Hufschmid, Michel Parmigiani and Holly Roussell Perret-Gentil
23.5 x 32 cm
Coffret toilé contenant 9 livres
160 pages (8 cahiers de 16 pages, 1 cahier de 32 pages)
200 images
Bilingue français & anglais
ISBN : 979-10-95822-02-8

       

Provisional Arrangement

For several months, Martin Kollar roamed the roads of Europe and searched through his personal archives to bring together in a rich corpus his idea of the provisional – a difficult subject to address visually. Nevertheless, Kollar didn’t waver and, with Provisional Arrangement, offers us around thirty images that all, in their own way, explore the notion of temporary – and, implicitly, the far broader notion of memory in the process of (de)construction.

Provisional Arrangement is the concretization of Martin Kollar’s project submitted for the first Prix Elysée launched in 2014 with the support of Parmigiani Fleurier. For the book edition of his project, Martin Kollar chose London publishers MACK, joined by the Musée de l’Elysée to co-publish Provisional Arrangement.

MACK publishers / Musée de l’Elysée
2 versions : french / english
20 x 25.5 cm
Hardcover, dos carré cousu, 64 pages, 35 colour photographs
Design : Grégoire Pujade-Lauraine & Martin Kollar

ISBN (Fr) : 978-2-88350-112-6
ISBN (En) : 978-1-91016-450-1

Buy the book

       

The Nominees’ Book

The eight nominees of the 2014 edition were selected by the Musée l’Elysée from over 400 global applicants. Presenting the nominees’ projects, this book invites us to discover the intimacy of work-in-progress and offers a panorama of contemporary photographic practices.

Texts by : Caroline Stevan, Pascal Hufschmid, Jean-Marc Jacot, Sam Stourdzé and Tatyana Franck

Published by the Musée de l’Elysée, 2014
Bilingual French / English
203 x 305 mm
144 pages
86 photographs
ISBN: 978-2-88350-106-5

Livre des nominés 2018 – 2020

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée, ce livre présente les projets des huit nominés de la troisième édition du Prix Elysée: Laia Abril, Mathieu Asselin, Claude Baechtold, Alexandra Catiere, Alinka Echeverría, Gregory Halpern, Nicola Lo Calzo et Luis Carlos Tovar ont été sélectionnés par le musée parmi plus de 325 candidats du monde entier. Ils ont chacun reçu une contribution de 5’000 CHF et bénéficié d’une carte blanche pour démarrer un nouveau projet dont les premiers résultats sont présentés dans cette publication collective. Sorte de «making-of», ce livre collectif souhaite ainsi mettre en lumière le travail préalable à toute publication en faisant la part belle aux maquettes, notes d’intention, schémas, images préparatoires et autres échanges entre artistes et commissaires.

Sous la direction de Tatyana Franck
Interview Lydia Dorner
Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée
Janvier 2019
23.5cm x 32cm, broché
136 pages, 80 images couleurs
Bilingue français – anglais
ISBN 978-2-88350-115-7

Le livre des nominés est disponible en ligne et à la librairie du Musée de l’Elysée.

       

Matthias Bruggmann. Un acte d’une violence Indicible

Si des dizaines de milliers de clichés de torture pris par des photographes syriens n’attirent pas l’attention du public occidental, que peut accomplir un étranger qui ne parle même pas arabe ?
Les photographies de Matthias Bruggmann portent un regard critique sur la représentation des horreurs de la guerre. Elles donnent à voir aux yeux du public occidental une vision plus nuancée de l’expérience du conflit armé et gomment les frontières entre photojournalisme et photographie artistique contemporaine. À travers elles, Bruggmann interroge les codes du photojournalisme et fait bouger les lignes de démarcation entre photo documentaire et photo plasticienne.
Commencé en 2012, son projet syrien nous immerge dans la complexité du conflit. D’un point de vue documentaire, il s’agit de la seule oeuvre de ce type réalisée à l’intérieur du pays par un seul photographe occidental, ce grâce à l’aide des meilleurs experts indépendants sur le conflit. Ses images, qui couvrent une zone géographique plus vaste que la Syrie, questionnent nos suppositions morales et suscitent une meilleure compréhension de la violence qui sous-tend les combats.

Ouvrage accompagné de textes de spécialistes et d’acteurs du conflit syrien
Coédition Editions Xavier Barral / Musée de l’Elysée
Broché, 16 x 22.4 cm
Octobre 2018
ISBN FR: 978-2-36511-186-7
ISBN US: 978-2-36511-187-4

Disponible en ligne et à la librairie du Musée de l’Elysée.

       

Livre des nominés 2016-2018

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée en collaboration avec Éditions Photosynthèses à Arles, ce livre présente les projets des huit nominés de la deuxième édition du Prix Elysée. Isabelle Blanc & Olivier Hilaire, Elina Brotherus, Matthias Bruggmann, David Jiménez, Sofie Knijff, Jim Naughten, Emeka Okereke et Robert Zhao Renhui ont été sélectionnes par le musée parmi plus de 440 candidats du monde entier. Ils ont bénéficié d’une carte blanche pour un nouveau projet dont chacun présente les premiers résultats dans un livre d’artiste. Réunis dans un coffret de collection, ces livres invitent le lecteur à pénétrer dans l’intimité d’une œuvre tout en proposant un tour d’horizon des pratiques photographiques contemporaines.

Publié par le Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne et les Éditions Photosynthèses, Arles
Janvier 2017
Texts by: Tatyana Franck, Pascal Hufschmid, Michel Parmigiani and Holly Roussell Perret-Gentil
23.5 x 32 cm
Coffret toilé contenant 9 livres
160 pages (8 cahiers de 16 pages, 1 cahier de 32 pages)
200 images
Bilingue français & anglais
ISBN : 979-10-95822-02-8

       

Provisional Arrangement

Pendant plusieurs mois, Martin Kollar a arpenté les routes européennes et les méandres de ses archives personnelles dans le but de réunir en un riche corpus son idée de provisoire. Sujet difficile à traiter visuellement, l’artiste a toutefois maintenu le cap et propose, avec Provisional Arrangement, trente-cinq photographies qui toutes, à leur façon, explorent la notion de temporaire – et en filigrane, celle, plus vaste, d’une mémoire en cours de (dé)construction.

Provisional Arrangement est la concrétisation du projet soumis par Martin Kollar à la première édition du Prix Elysée, lancé en 2014 avec le soutien de Parmigiani Fleurier. L’ouvrage est le fruit d’une collaboration entre le Musée de l’Elysée et l’éditeur londonien MACK.

MACK publishers / Musée de l’Elysée
2 versions : français / anglais
20 x 25.5 cm
Hardcover, dos carré cousu, 64 pages, 35 photographies couleur
Design : Grégoire Pujade-Lauraine & Martin Kollar

ISBN (Fr) : 978-2-88350-112-6

Commander le livre

       

Le livre des nominés

Ce livre présente les projets des huit nominés de l’édition 2014, sélectionnés par le Musée de l’Elysée parmi plus de 400 candidats du monde entier. Il nous invite à pénétrer dans l’intimité d’une œuvre en cours d’élaboration, tout en proposant un tour d’horizon des pratiques photographiques contemporaines.

Avec des textes de : Caroline Stevan, Pascal Hufschmid, Jean-Marc Jacot, Sam Stourdzé et Tatyana Franck

Editions Musée de l’Elysée, 2014
Bilingue français / anglais
203 x 305 mm
144 pages
86 photographies
ISBN: 978-2-88350-106-5