Back to the list

Agnès Geoffray

1973, French, Born in Saint-Chamond, France

Agnès Geoffray is a French artist, born in Saint-Chamond in 1973, currently living and working in Paris. She is a graduate of the Lyon and Paris national fine arts schools. Working with assemblage and collage techniques her work challenges our understanding of reality, and she fully exploits the storytelling potential of multiple representations of the truth within an image. Through her process, she reveals a complex universe of latent and mysterious tensions within a photograph.

Agnès Geoffray has held residencies in Rijksakademie, Amsterdam (2002-2003) and the Villa Médicis, Rome (French Academy, 2010-2011). She has most recently exhibited at the Kunsthalle Mainz, the Kunsthalle Wien, the Magasin in Grenoble, the Centre de la photographie in Geneva and the Centre photographique d’Ile-de-France. Her works are in the public collections of the Fonds national d’art contemporain (Paris) and various private collections. Two books on her work have been published by La Lettre Volée: Ultieme Hallucinatie and Profond silence.

http://www.agnesgeoffray.com


Project presentation

Agnès Geoffray searches in her work to test our eyes. By assembling and confronting heterogeneous elements within one single image, she perturbs our vision, engaging the viewer in a constant interrogation of the blurred lines between reality and fantasy. She is creating links: strange and distant connections. 

“The project consists in assembling, confronting, even confusing two images in one same view. The aim is to provoke a circular way of looking in which the eyes escape, continue, insist, return… Establishing a movement in visibility that envelops a whole complex network of uncertainties, exchanges and dodges. This series implicitly questions the duality of seeing and looking. Seeing and its simulacrums, since where seeing ends, looking begins.

Like my other works, this new series proceeds from assemblage and collage, from collisions between fragile moments, from displacements that are as minute as they are evasive, from constantly evolving scenes in which everything appears in a state of suspension.

With this series, I am attempting to play with sight, create an endless back-and-forth between the represented scene and the revealed image, like an endless pursuit of reality. Establishing through the images a “co-presence of two discontinuous elements, heterogeneous in that they did not belong to the same world” (Roland Barthes), she is creating links: strange and distant connections.”


Exhibitions

  • 2014 “Les Gueules cassées”, Kunsthalle Mainz, Mainz, Germany
  • 2014 “À l’envers, à l’endroit”, Centre photographique d’Ile-de-France, Pontault-Combault, France
  • 2013 “Salon der Angst”, Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna, Austria
  • 2013 “I lie to them”, Le Magasin, Grenoble, France
  • 2013 “False fakes”, Centre de la Photographie, Geneva, Switzerland
  • 2012 “Shoot”, Photographer’s Gallery, London, United Kingdom
  • 2011 “Found in translation” – Casino, Luxembourg,
  • 2011 “The eye is a lonely hunter” – FotoFestival, Kunstveiren Heidelberg, Heidelberg, D.

Publications

  • 2012 Libération, Portfolio, 14 août 2012, France
  • 2012 L’Officiel Art n°3, Paris
  • 2012 L’art Même n°55, Brussels
  • 2012 ELSE 3, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
  • 2012 Tête-à-tête n°3, Images du pouvoir, Paris

Portfolio

Retour à l'édition 2014 – 2016

Agnès Geoffray

1973, Française, née à Saint-Chamond, France

Artiste française née à Saint-Chamond en 1973, Agnès Geoffray vit et travaille à Paris. Elle est diplômée des écoles des beaux-arts de Lyon et Paris. A travers ses photographies, Agnès Geoffray explore le potentiel fictionnel et affabulatoire des représentations multiples du réel. Procédant de l’assemblage et du montage, son travail révèle un univers de tensions, latentes et mystérieuses.

Agnès Geoffray a été en résidence à la Rijksakademie à Amsterdam (2002-2003) et pensionnaire à la Villa Médicis à Rome (Académie de France, 2010-2011). Elle a exposé dernièrement à la Kunsthalle de Mayence, à la Kunsthalle de Vienne, au Magasin à Grenoble, au Centre de la photographie à Genève et au Centre photographique d’Ile-de-France. Ses travaux font partie des collections publiques du Fonds national d’art contemporain (Paris) et de diverses collections privées. Deux ouvrages sur son travail ont été publiés aux éditions de La Lettre Volée, Ultieme Hallucinatie et Profond silence.

http://www.agnesgeoffray.com

Portrait de Agnès Geoffray

Portrait de Agnès Geoffray


Présentation du projet

Agnès Geoffray cherche à éprouver notre regard. En confrontant et assemblant des éléments hétérogènes dans une même image, elle trouble la vision et engage un mouvement incessant entre une scène figurée et une image révélée. Elle crée du lien, une étrangeté du lien et un lien étranger. 

« Le projet consiste à assembler, confronter, voire confondre deux images dans un même champ. Il s’agit de provoquer une circularité du regard, où celui-ci s’échappe, continue, insiste, revient… Etablir un mouvement dans la visibilité, qui enveloppe tout un réseau complexe d’incertitudes, d’échanges, d’esquives. Cette série interroge en filigrane la dualité de la vision et du regard. La vision et ses simulacres, car là où elle fait défaut émerge le regard.

A l’instar de mes autres travaux, cette nouvelle série procède de l’assemblage et du collage, du télescopage d’instants fragiles, de déplacements aussi minutieux qu’évasifs, de scènes en devenir où tout apparaît en suspension.

Avec cette série, je cherche à jouer avec le regard, créer un va-et-vient incessant entre la scène figurée et l’image révélée, comme une poursuite illimitée du réel. Provoquer une « co-présence de deux éléments discontinus, hétérogènes en ce qu’ils n’appartiennent pas au même monde » (Roland Barthes) et en même temps créer du lien. Une étrangeté du lien et un lien étranger. »


Expositions

  • 2014 « Les Gueules cassées », Kunsthalle Mainz, Mainz, Allemagne
  • 2014 « À l’envers, à l’endroit », Centre photographique d’Ile-de-France, Pontault-Combault, France
  • 2013 « Salon der Angst », Kunsthalle Wien, Vienne, Autriche
  • 2013 « I lie to them », Le Magasin, Grenoble, France
  • 2013 « False fakes », Centre de la Photographie, Genève, Suisse
  • 2012 « Shoot », The Photographers’ Gallery, Londres, Royaume-Uni
  • 2011 « Found in translation », Casino, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
  • 2011 « The eye is a lonely hunter », FotoFestival, Kunstveiren Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Allemagne

Publications

  • 2012 Libération, Portfolio, 14 août, France
  • 2012 L’Officiel Art n°3, Paris
  • 2012 L’art Même n°55, Bruxelles
  • 2012 ELSE 3, Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne
  • 2012 Tête-à-tête n°3, Images du pouvoir, Paris

Portfolio