Back to the list

Alinka Echeverría

1981, born in Mexico, lives and works in London

Alinka Echeverría is a Mexican-British artist working in film, moving image, photography and installation. She holds a master’s degree in Social Anthropology and Development from the University of Edinburgh (2004), and a postgraduate degree in Photography from the International Center of Photography in New York (2008).
With this combined training, her work brings a critical approach to questions of visual representation. She was recently selected for Foam Museum’s Talent Award with the research project Nicéphora made during BMW’s Art & Culture Residency at the Nicéphore Niépce Museum in 2015. In 2012 she was voted “International Photographer of the Year” by the Lucie Awards with her work Becoming South Sudan, and in 2011 won the HSBC Prize for Photography with work from Mexico about the relationship between image and belief (The Road to Tepeyac).

Her work has been widely exhibited at international venues including Preus Museum in Norway, Foam Museum in Amsterdam, the Maison Européenne de la Photographie in Paris, the National Portrait Gallery in London, Moscow Photobiennale, as well as solo exhibitions at the Johannesburg Art Gallery, Les Rencontres d’Arles and the California Museum of Photography. Her work is part of several public and institutional collections including the Los Angeles County Museum of Art, the Musée Nicéphore Niépce in France, BMW Art & Culture Collection and the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston. Recent commissions include the Swiss Foundation for Photography and BBC Four, for whom she presented a three part series: The Art That Made Mexico.

www.alinkaecheverria.com


Presentation of the project "The blue of distance"

Cyanotype is an old printing process that produces a cyan-blue photographic print, from which the word “blueprint” is derived. This word is also often used in political and economic discourse as well as science and psychology. Alinka Echeverría plans to use this process to create a series of iconic, scientific and personal images, retaining only the outlines or “trace lines”. The project aims to make us reflect on the impact of these pictures that, although not part of our own personal experience, seem to be engraved in the collective consciousness.

“A ‘blueprint’, by definition, is a ‘detailed plan of action, a model or a prototype’. It is a word often used in political and economic discourse as well as science and psychology. My intention is to create an extensive series of analogue cyanotypes or blueprints, depicting lines extracted from images ranging from iconic photographs to scientific imagery. The project reflects on how actions and events that became turning points in our recent history have imprinted themselves through these images into our collective consciousness.

My method would be to distil the lines from the source images in digital postproduction so that like a memory, only the ‘trace lines’ are left. From these, I will produce acetate negatives ready for the cyanotype exposure using the traditional analogue method. If at first not apparent, upon reading my extended captions describing each event depicted, the series will ask the audience to pause and reflect on the impact that such images have had on their own lives. Individual by individual, image by image, we can reflect on the legacy of photography within our collective memory.

Whether it is a traumatic imprint such as the Hiroshima mushroom cloud, or positive counterpoints such as the paradigm-shifting image of the first Hubble Space Telescope to show us a complete galaxy, these images, cumulatively, show us part of our conscious and subconscious societal blueprint.

In addition to these images, I will include ones that are deeply embedded in my personal blueprint such as my brother’s birth and my father’s death. Are my memories of them real, or are they rendered by my mind’s eye from the photographs taken at the event? Subtly referencing the original function of the cyanotype as method of copying and reproduction, I allude to the fact that while most of us have such memories and can relate to these life-changing moments, they are not directly reproducible but in fact individually and uniquely experienced. This adds another layer to the project, one that blurs the line between individual and collective consciousness.

Ultimately, this project interrogates how ways of seeing and remembering leave behind indisputable, yet often forgotten traces in our collective blueprint that highlights photography’s relationship to the phenomenology of perception and history making.”


Selected Exhibitions

2018 Preus Museum, National Photography Museum of Norway (solo)

2018 FOAM Museum, Amsterdam

2016 Les Rencontres de la Photographie, Arles (solo)

2015 Johannesburg Art Gallery, South Africa (solo)

2015 Casa de Africa, XII Havana Biennial (solo)

2014 The California Museum of Photography at UCR (solo)

Publications

  • 2011 The Road to Tepeyac by Alinka Echeverría with prologue by Christian Caujolle. Prix HSBC Catalogue, Editions Actes Sud
  • 2016 Nicéphora by Alinka Echeverría with preface by François Cheval, collection BMW Art & Culture, Editions Trocadéro
  • 2017 Snow in Summer – Part of Unfamiliar Familiarities box set published by Lars Müller Publishers.
  • 2012 C-Photo Volume 5 – Slow Motion/ : Edited by Marta Gili. Ivory Press.

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Alinka Echeverría

Née en 1981, au Mexique, vit et travaille à Londres.

Alinka Echeverría est une artiste britannico-mexicaine, travaillant à partir de la vidéo, des images animées, de la photographie et d’installations. Elle a obtenu un Master en anthropologie et développement sociaux à l’Université d’Édimbourg (2004) ainsi qu’un diplôme supérieur en photographie (2008) du Centre international de la photographie à New York.

Cette double formation lui permet d’avoir une approche critique des interrogations sur la représentation visuelle. Elle a été récemment sélectionnée pour le Talent Award du Musée de la photographie Foam pour son projet de recherche Nicéphora qu’elle a réalisé lors d’une résidence BMW au Musée Nicéphone Niépce en 2015. En 2012, elle a été désignée « Photographe internationale de l’année » par les Lucie Awards pour son travail Becoming South Sudan et en 2011, elle a reçu le Prix HSBC de la photographie pour un travail sur les relations entre image et croyance, réalisé au Mexique, The Road to Tepeyac.

Son travail a été exposé à travers le monde, notamment au Musée Preus de photographie en Norvège, au Musée Foam à Amsterdam, à la Maison européenne de la photographie à Paris, à la National Portrait Gallery à Londres, à la Biennale de la photo de Moscou, ainsi que lors d’expositions solo à la Art Gallery de Johannesbourg, aux Rencontres photographiques d’Arles et au California Museum of Photography. Ses œuvres font partie des collections de plusieurs institutions, pour certaines publiques, comme celles du Los Angeles County Museum of Art, du musée Nicéphore Niépce en France, de la BMW Art & Culture Collection et du Musée des beaux-arts de Houston. Récemment, la Swiss Foundation et BBC Four lui ont passé commande, notamment pour une série documentaire en trois parties, The Art That Made Mexico.

www.alinkaecheverria.com/


Présentation du projet "The blue of distance"

Le cyanotype est un procédé d’impression ancien qui produit un tirage photographique de couleur cyan-bleu, dont découle le terme “blueprint”.  C’est aussi un mot souvent utilisé dans le discours politique ou économique ainsi qu’en science et en psychologie. Alinka Echeverría prévoit d’utiliser ce procédé pour créer une série d’images allant des photographies scientifiques ou iconiques aux images personnelles, en conservant uniquement les contours ou « lignes de force ». Son projet a pour but de nous faire réfléchir à l’impact de l’utilisation de telles images, qui, même si elles ne sont pas propres à notre propre expérience, semblent gravées dans notre conscience collective.

« Un blueprint est, par définition, ‘un plan d’action détaillé, un modèle ou un prototype’. C’est un mot souvent utilisé dans le discours politique ou économique ainsi qu’en science et en psychologie. Mon intention est de créer une série extensive de blueprints, ou cyanotypes, analogues, reprenant les contours d’images tirés aussi bien de la photographie culte que de l’imagerie scientifique. Le projet explore la manière dont les actes et les événements qui ont été des tournants de l’histoire récente ont pu se graver dans notre conscience collective au travers de ces images.

Ma méthode consiste à distiller les lignes à partir des images sources lors de la post-production numérique, afin qu’à la manière d’un souvenir, seules les « lignes de force » persistent. A partir de celles-ci, je produirai des négatifs sur base d’acétate, prêts à être exposés pour le cyanotype en utilisant une méthode analogique traditionnelle. Grâce aux légendes détaillées décrivant chaque événement concerné – pas forcément identifiable à première vue -, la série d’images forcera les membres du public à s’interroger sur l’impact que de telles images ont eu sur leur propre vie. Un par un, image après image, nous pouvons réfléchir à l’héritage que laisse la photographie au sein de notre mémoire collective.

Qu’il s’agisse d’un tirage bouleversant tel que le champignon nucléaire d’Hiroshima, ou de son pendant plus optimiste, tel que l’image révolutionnaire du premier télescope spatial Hubble pouvant montrer une galaxie entière, ces images, réunies, nous révèlent une part de notre blueprint ou empreinte sociale, conscient et inconscient.

En plus de ces images, j’en ajouterai d’autres, profondément ancrées dans mon blueprint ou empreinte personnelle, telles que celles de la naissance de mon frère ou de la mort de mon père. Mes souvenirs de ces événements sont–ils réels ou proviennent-ils d’une vision intérieure influencée par les photographies qui en ont été prises ? En faisant subtilement référence à la fonction d’origine du cyanotype en tant que méthode de copie et de reproduction, je touche au fait que, si la plupart d’entre nous possède de tels souvenirs et a connu de tels moments déterminants, ceux-ci ne sont pas directement reproductibles, mais vécus de façon individuelle et unique. Ce qui ajoute au projet une autre dimension, où la séparation entre conscience individuelle et collective s’efface.

Au final, ce projet explore comment nos façons de voir et de nous souvenir laissent des traces incontestables, et cependant souvent oubliées, dans notre blueprint ou empreinte collective, soulignant la relation de la photographie avec la phénoménologie de la perception et la constitution de l’histoire. »


Principales expositions

  • 2018 Preus Museum, National Photography Museum of Norway (solo)
  • 2018 FOAM Museum, Amsterdam
  • 2016 Les Rencontres de la Photographie, Arles (solo)
  • 2015 Johannesburg Art Gallery, South Africa (solo)
  • 2015 Casa de Africa, XII Havana Biennial (solo)
  • 2014 The California Museum of Photography at UCR (solo)

Publications monographiques

  • 2011 Sur le chemin de Tepeyac, Alinka Echeverría, avec une préface de Christian Caujolle. Prix HSBC Catalogue, Éditions Actes Sud
  • 2016 Nicéphora, Alinka Echeverría, avec une préface de François Cheval, collection BMW Art & Culture, Éditions Trocadéro
  • 2017 Snow in Summer – une partie du coffret Etrangement Familier publié par Lars Müller Publishers.
  • 2012 C-Photo Volume 5 – Slow Motion/ : édité par Marta Gili. Ivory Press.

Portfolio