Back to the list

Annabel Elgar

1971, British, Born in Aldershot, Hampshire

British photographer, Annabel Elgar, was born in Aldershot, Hampshire in 1971; she currently lives and works in London. She received her MA in Photography from the Royal College of Art, London. Her photographic work straddles the divide between the constructed and the documentary, poised elegantly somewhere between the fairy tale and the everyday. Many of her inspirations are mythic, gleaned from news stories, the Internet, folklore and literature and transformed to create dramas, which allude to contemporary events of surreptitious exchange. The collective, the individual, and issues of counterculture are primary concerns in her photographic practice. Her work has been featured in numerous international exhibitions and publications in Europe and North America, notably the FotoMuseum, Antwerp, the Galleria Civica, Modena, and the Wapping Project, London.

http://www.annabelelgar.com


Project presentation

Annabel Elgar takes the myths that surround the Apollo Moon Landings and the stolen or missing Goodwill Moon Rocks of the Apollo 11 and 17 missions as point of departure. She proposes to create an archive of potential moon rock findings, mixing fiction and fact as a framework to inform the fabrication of her documentary images.

“One of the myths that surround the Apollo Moon Landings was their supposed construction. That the giant leap for mankind was a well-polished hoax on the back of NASA and other organisations is familiar folklore: one that permeates conspiracy theories across the planet.

So perhaps it is not so strange that within any context of “authentic” evidence, there is a stand-off with a counter-narrative of a spurious nature. My project proposal for the Prix Elysée takes the stolen and missing Goodwill Moon Rocks of the Apollo 11 and 17 missions as its point of departure. Of the 270 moon rocks that were given to the nations of the world by the Nixon administration, approximately 180 are currently unaccounted for. Within those that remain at large, beyond the researchers and hobbyists that have tracked down some of the specimens, a culture of emergent forgery and theft has high-jacked proceedings. In 1998 an undercover federal law enforcement operation, code named “Operation Lunar Eclipse”, was created to identify and arrest individuals selling bogus moon rocks and dust.

Under the auspices of such an undercover operation, my proposal would be to create an archive of potential moon rock findings that investigates the numerous contexts in which such specimens could potentially be found. The images themselves would both harbour and embed narrative details from actual sightings and reports within a series of diverse locations, whilst imaginatively playing with the notion of fiction as an indexical “framing” device that informs the fabrication of the images.

My more recent work has started to conflate narratives of space exploration and escapist “fantasy” within the secluded interior and the “everyday”, which further informs the context of this proposal.”


Exhibitions

  • 2013 “Spectacle”, Belfast Photo Festival, Northern Ireland
  • 2011 “Interludio” (solo), Metronom, Modena, Italy
  • 2010 “Wapping Project Bankside” (solo), London, United Kingdom
  • 2009 “Theatres of the Real”, FotoMuseum, Antwerp, Belgium
  • 2008 “In Our World: New Photography in Britain”, Galleria Civica di Modena, Italy
  • 2005 “The Madness of Paradise”, Sweet Briar College, Virginia, USA

Publications

  • 2014 The Wapping Project on Paper, Black Dog Publishing, London
  • 2011 Source, Photographic Review, Winter 2011, Issue 69 (Interview John Mathews)
  • 2009 Theatres of the Real, FotoMuseum Antwerp/Photoworks
  • 2008 In Our World: New Photography in Britain, SKIRA
  • 2006 Martin Barnes, Kate Best, Twilight: Photography in the Magic Hour, V&A, Merrell, London/New York

Portfolio

Retour à l'édition 2014 – 2016

Annabel Elgar

1971, Britannique, née à Aldershot, Hampshire

Photographe britannique née à Aldershot en Hampshire en 1971, Annabel Elgar vit et travaille à Londres. Elle a obtenu un master en photographie du Royal College of Art de Londres. Son travail photographique fait le pont entre le documentaire et la composition, tenant un élégant équilibre entre conte de fée et récit du quotidien. Nombre de ses sources d’inspiration ont rapport aux mythes et sont tirées de l’actualité, d’Internet, du folklore et de la littérature, avant d’être transformées pour créer des drames qui font allusion à des événements contemporains liés à des échanges clandestins. Le collectif, l’individuel et les questions soulevées par la contreculture sont des préoccupations majeures dans sa pratique photographique. Son travail a été présenté lors de nombreuses expositions internationales en Europe et en Amérique du Nord, comme le FotoMuseum à Anvers, la Galleria Civica à Modène et au Wapping Project à Londres, de même que dans nombre de publications.

http://www.annabelelgar.com

Portrait de Annabel Elgar

Portrait de Annabel Elgar


Présentation du projet

Annabel Elgar veut mener à son tour une curieuse enquête: retrouver les 180 roches lunaires ramenées par les missions Apollo 11 et 17 qui ont été volées ou ont disparu. Les images fabriquées de ses découvertes (potentielles) mêleront vraies informations et détails imaginaires.

« L’une des légendes qui entourent l’arrivée des missions Apollo sur la Lune est que celles-ci furent mises en scène. Que ce pas de géant pour l’humanité n’ait été qu’un canular orchestré par la NASA et d’autres organisations est un refrain familier : l’un de ceux qui alimentent les théories conspirationistes à travers le monde.

Il n’est peut-être donc pas étonnant que dans un contexte de preuves « authentiques » apparaisse une résistance déployant un contre-récit sans fondement. Le projet que je propose pour le Prix Elysée prend pour point de départ les roches lunaires ramenées par les missions Apollo 11 et 17, les Goodwill Moon Rocks, qui ont été volées ou sont manquantes. Parmi les 270 roches lunaires qui furent offertes aux différents pays du monde par l’administration Nixon, 180 environ ont actuellement disparu. Les procédures de recherche des roches qui n’ont pu être localisées et qui ont échappé aux chercheurs et amateurs qui voulaient retrouver la trace de certains de ces spécimens ont été compromises par la naissance d’une culture de la contrefaçon et du vol. En 1998, une opération secrète de la police fédérale, du nom de code Operation Lunar Eclipse,a été mise en place afin d’identifier et d’arrêter les personnes vendant de faux rochers lunaires et de la fausse poussière de Lune.

Ma proposition est de créer, sous les auspices d’une telle opération secrète, un répertoire des découvertes potentielles de roches lunaires qui mette en lumière les différents contextes dans lesquels celles-ci ont pu être trouvées. Les images elles-mêmes hébergeraient et serviraient de cadre à des détails narratifs tirés de véritables observations et rapports au sein d’une série de différents lieux, tout en jouant par l’imagination avec la notion de fiction en tant que dispositif d’« encadrement » indexé permettant de documenter la fabrication des images.

Récemment, j’ai commencé à réunir des récits d’exploration spatiale et des « fantasmes » d’évasion d’un intérieur reclus et du quotidien, ce qui nourrit encore davantage cette proposition. »


Expositions

  • 2013 « Spectacle », Belfast Photo Festival, Irlande du Nord
  • 2011 « Interludio » (solo), Metronom, Modène, Italie
  • 2010 « Wapping Project Bankside » (solo), Londres, Royaume-Uni
  • 2009 « Theatres of the Real », FotoMuseum, Anvers, Belgique
  • 2008 « In Our World: New Photography in Britain », Galleria Civica di Modena, Italie
  • 2005 « The Madness of Paradise », Sweet Briar College, Virginie, Etats-Unis

Publications

  • 2014 The Wapping Project on Paper, Black Dog Publishing, Londres
  • 2011 Source, Photographic Review, Winter 2011, Issue 69 (Interview John Mathews)
  • 2009 Theatres of the Real, FotoMuseum Antwerp/Photoworks
  • 2008 In Our World: New Photography in Britain, SKIRA
  • 2006 Martin Barnes, Kate Best, Twilight: Photography in the Magic Hour, V&A, Merrell, Londres/New York

Portfolio