Back to the list

Anoush Abrar

1976, Swiss, Born in Tehran, Iran

Born in Tehran in 1976, Anoush Abrar arrived in Switzerland at the age of 5. Currently residing in London, he teaches at the Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne and pursues his own photographic work, driven by an appetite for constant renewal and exploration.

Encouraged by his parents to follow a path that did not suit him, Anoush reluctantly completed a degree in electrotechnology, then immediately decided to change direction. He studied photography at the Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne, where he earned a BA in visual communication followed by a Master in photography.

In 2003, Anoush’s work was selected at the International Festival of Fashion and Photography in Hyères, and he was awarded the Swiss Federal Grant, which gave him the opportunity to do an internship with New York magazine Visionaire. In 2013, he was notably a winner of the Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize, exhibited at the National Portrait Gallery in London.

http://www.anoushabrar.com


Project presentation

Anoush Abrar would like to travel to Kosovo and document the living history of their national hero, Adem Jashari, who died alongside 56 members of his family in 1998. With a descendant of the Jashari family as his guide, Abrar proposes to explore the implications of living with such a name, family identity, and history. He will photograph the daily life and document the plans for the future of the Jashari family. 

“Adem Jashari was born in Prekaz, Kosovo, on November 28, 1955. He was one of the leaders and founders of the Kosovo Liberation Army.

With his brother Hamzën, Adem took part in attacks against the Serbian police and military. Yugoslav police and army forces attacked his home in March 1998. Adem Jashari died in the attack along with 56 members of his family. He holds the title “Legendary Commander of the KLA”. In 2008 he was awarded the title “Hero of Kosovo” by Kosovan Prime Minister Hashim Thaçi.

Adem Jashari is today known and recognized by all Albanians. In the 1990s he became an emblematic figure of the Albanian resistance against Yugoslav oppression. He devoted himself to his cause body and soul, to the point of giving not just his own life, but also the lives of more than 50 family members and friends.

I know a Jashari. I have been friends with Avni Jashari for over 10 years. One day he very simply and modestly told me about Adem Jashari and explained why the Prishtina airport carries his last name. The weight of this kind of story, which surrounds a family’s identity and descendants, left me speechless. I became interested in this story and asked lots of questions. Every time he came back from a trip to his country, I wanted him to tell me everything that had happened during his stay.

I would like to go to Kosovo with the goal of better understanding not just Adem’s story, but also (and especially) the story that has continued since the time of this legendary hero. I would photograph the people who were affected by this story closely and from a distance. How is this identity managed and experienced by members of his family?

I would try to understand the Jashari’s family tree. What became of his descendants?How has the city of Prekaz evolved architecturally around these historical symbols and pilgrimage sites?

I would photograph the Jashari cemetery and the Jashari home, which was also a battlefield for nearly a month. I would like to enter their day-to-day lives and photograph them as they go about their activities. What heritage did this national hero hand down to his Jashari descendants? And especially, what is their own battle today?

I would like to take a first trip to Kosovo by plane for a few days to soak up the environment and get a better idea of how I could carry out this project, and also determine what tools will be needed to make the documentary.

With the support of the Prix Elysée, I will go to Kosovo accompanied by my guide and interpreter, Avni Jashari.”


Exhibitions

  • 2013 “Portrait Prize 2013”, National Portrait Gallery, London, United Kingdom
  • 2013 “Mountain Climbers”, Design / Miami Basel 2013, Basel, Switzerland
  • 2013 “The Youth Code”, Daegu Photo Biennale, Daegu, South Korea
  • 2009 “NOW: Art of the 21st Century”, Phillips de Pury & Company auction, London, United Kingdom
  • 2008 “ReGeneration, 50 Photographers of Tomorrow, 2005-2025”, Miami Dade College, Miami, USA

Awards

  • 2013 National Portrait Gallery Prize (Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize), third prize
  • 2011 International Festival of Fashion Photography in Cannes, selected
  • 2010 Leenaards Foundation Grant
  • 2009 The Collector’s Guide to Emerging Art Photography, New York, USA

Portfolio

Retour à l'édition 2014 – 2016

Anoush Abrar

1976, Suisse, né à Téhéran, Iran

Né en 1976 à Téhéran, Anoush Abrar est arrivé en Suisse à l’âge de 5 ans. Actuellement installé à Londres, il enseigne à l’Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne et poursuit son travail personnel, poussé par son appétit du renouveau.

Encouragé par ses parents à suivre une voie qui ne lui convenait pas, Anoush obtient sans enthousiasme un diplôme d’électronicien et décide aussitôt de changer d’orientation. Il se spécialise alors dans la photographie à l’Ecole cantonale d’art de Lausanne et obtient son BA en communication visuelle puis un master en photographie.

En 2003, Anoush est sélectionné au Festival international de mode et de photographie à Hyères, et obtient une bourse fédérale suisse qui lui donnera l’occasion de faire un stage au magazine new-yorkais Visionaire. Il est l’un des lauréats du Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize 2013, exposés à la National Portrait Gallery de Londres.

http://www.anoushabrar.com

Portrait d'Anoush Abrar

Portrait d'Anoush Abrar


Présentation du projet

Anoush Abrar souhaite aller au Kosovo sur les traces d’Adem Jashari, héros national mort en 1998 avec 56 membres de sa famille. Avec un Jashari pour guide, il veut comprendre le poids d’une telle histoire sur l’identité, le quotidien et les projets d’une famille dont l’aéroport du pays porte le nom.

« Adem Jashari est né à Prekaz, au Kosovo, le 28 novembre 1955. Il est l’un des principaux fondateurs et dirigeants de l’Armée de libération du Kosovo.

Avec son frère Hamzën, Adem a participé à des attaques contre la police et les forces militaires serbes. Les forces de police et l’armée yougoslaves ont attaqué son domicile en mars 1998. Adem Jashari est mort dans l’attaque ainsi que 56 membres de sa famille. Il détient le titre de « commandant légendaire de l’UCK ». Le titre de « héros du Kosovo » lui a été décerné en 2008 par le Premier Ministre, Hashim Thaçi.

En effet, Adem Jashari, aujourd’hui connu et reconnu de tous les Albanais, est devenu dans les années 1990 une figure emblématique de la résistance albanaise contre l’oppression yougoslave. Il s’est consacré corps et âme à cette cause au point d’y laisser sa vie, et celle de plus de 50 membres de sa famille et de ses amis.

Je connais un Jashari. J’ai côtoyé Avni Jashari pendant plus de 10 ans. Il m’a raconté un jour une histoire en toute simplicité et modestie, l’histoire d’Adem Jashari et pourquoi l’aéroport de Pristina porte son nom de famille. Le poids d’une telle histoire qui entoure l’identité d’une famille et sa descendance est quelque chose qui m’a laissé sans voix. J’ai commencé à m’intéresser à cette histoire et poser beaucoup de questions. A chaque fois qu’il rentrait d’un voyage au pays, je voulais qu’il me raconte toutes les anecdotes de son séjour.

J’aimerais me rendre au Kosovo dans le but de mieux comprendre l’histoire d’Adem, mais aussi et surtout l’histoire qui continue après le passage de ce héros légendaire. Photographier au quotidien ces gens qui de loin ou de près sont touchés par cette histoire. Comment cette identité est aujourd’hui gérée et vécue par les membres de sa famille ?

Je voudrais comprendre l’arbre généalogique des Jashari. Que sont devenus ses descendants ? Comment la ville de Prekaz a évolué architecturalement autour de ces symboles historiques et lieux de pèlerinage ?

Je voudrais photographier le cimetière des Jashari et la maison des Jashari, qui a été également un champ de bataille pendant près d’un mois. Je souhaiterais m’introduire dans leur quotidien et les photographier dans la vie de tous jours. Quel héritage a laissé ce héros national aux descendants Jashari ? Et surtout, quel est aujourd’hui leur combat à eux ?

J’aimerais me rendre une première fois au Kosovo en avion pendant quelques jours afin de m’imprégner des lieux, mieux percevoir comment je peux réaliser ce projet, quels seront les outils nécessaires à la réalisation du documentaire.

Avec le soutien du Prix Elysée, je me rendrai au Kosovo accompagné de mon guide et traducteur, Avni Jashari. »


Expositions

  • 2013 « Portrait Prize 2013 », National Portrait Gallery, Londres, Royaume-Uni
  • 2013 « Mountain Climbers », Design / Miami Basel 2013, Bâle, Suisse
  • 2013 « The Youth Code », Daegu Photo Biennale, Daegu, Corée du Sud
  • 2009 « NOW: Art of the 21st Century », Phillips de Pury & Company auction, Londres, Royaume-Uni
  • 2008 « ReGeneration, 50 Photographers of Tomorrow, 2005-2025 », Miami Dade College, Miami, Etats-Unis

Prix et Bourses

  • 2013 National Portrait Gallery Prize (Taylor Wessing Photographic Portrait Prize), troisième prix
  • 2011 Festival International de la photographie de mode de Cannes, sélectionné
  • 2010 Prix de la Fondation Leenaards
  • 2009 The Collector’s Guide to Emerging Art Photography, New York, Etats-Unis

Portfolio