Back to the list

David Jiménez

1970, Spanish, born in Seville, Spain

Spanish photographer David Jiménez graduated with a degree in Fine Arts from the Universidad Complutense of Madrid in 1993. Following his studies he continued to train as a photographer through workshops with renowned international artists. His visual proposal brings us up close to the mystery encompassing the everyday, the invisible relationships that operate secretly in that which we find familiar.

His works, in the form of books, exhibits and audiovisual screenings, have been shown in numerous cities in Spain and also abroad, in venues including the Nederlands Foto Instituut of Rotterdam, Les Rencontres of Arles, the University of Staffordshire, the Seoul Photo Festival, the National Library of Colombia in Bogotá, and the Changjiang International Photography and Video Biennale in China.

David Jiménez won the award for Best New Photographer at PHotoEspaña 99 and the Arts Award of the city of Madrid in 2008. To date, he has published five monographic books, including Infinito (2000), as well as the recently published Versus (2014).

His work is part of numerous public and private collections in Spain, such as Fundación MAPFRE, the MACUF Contemporary Art Museum, and the DKV Art Collection. He regularly delivers workshops and lectures in Spain and other countries on the creative process in photography.

© Maria Brancós

© Maria Brancós


Project Description

Title: Omen

David Jiménez photographic project Omen searches to play with the limits of our perception. With the support of the Prix Elysée Jiménez will work toward the completion of this ambitious visual exploration which aspires to transcend time, space and culture to a poetic visual abstraction closer to higher meaning.

“Between the real and the imaginary a vast territory opens up, once any faith in a stable, objective reality in our time is abandoned.” The project proposed by David Jiménez for the Prix Elysée is placed within some quite specific geographical coordinates, but its exact location is not relevant. The aim is to transcend that particular physical space and recreate a fictional territory defined by abstract borders.

All my work has always been based on the intuition that concealed within what we call reality is a network of complex relationships beyond rational thought. This project has gestated over a long period, in parallel with other work. Involuntarily, I found myself returning time and again to that space, and at some point I understood that what deeply interested me were not cultural or social aspects, but rather the behavior of certain planes of reality closer to the realm of the oneiric. Although these planes feature persons, animals, spaces, objects and lights, the energy they set in motion belongs to none of them individually but rather to what connects them all. Moving along the edges of abstraction, I have gradually eliminated the precise amount of narrative and descriptive elements, so that only what is essential to the work remains.”


Selected Exhibitions

  • 2016 Nous relats fotogràfics, Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelona
  • 2015 Changjiang International Photography and Video Biennale, Chongqing, China
  • 2015 El proceso, CentroCentro Cibeles, Madrid
  • 2014 Nida Art Photography Symposium, Nida, Lithuania (solo)
  • 2013 Diálogos, Patio Herreriano Museum, Valladolid, Spain
  • 2012 LQQD, Llotjà del Cànem, Castellón, Spain (solo)
  • 2010 Spain, Guest of Honour, Seoul Photo, South Korea
  • 2007 All inclusive, Spanish contemporary photography, Lodz, Poland

Selected publications

  • 2015 EXIT nº 58, Exitmedia, Spain
  • 2014 Versus, RM Verlag, Spain (photobook)
  • 2014 The Photobook: A History volume III, Phaidon Press, UK
  • 2013 Diccionario de fotógrafos españoles, La Fábrica, Spain
  • 2000 Infinito, Photovision, Spain (photobook)

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

David Jiménez

1970 , Espagnol, né à Seville, Espagne

Le photographe espagnol David Jiménez a obtenu un diplôme des beaux-arts de l’Université Complutense de Madrid en 1993. Après ses études, il a poursuivi sa formation de photographe lors d’ateliers menés par des artistes internationaux de renom. Son exploration visuelle nous permet d’approcher le mystère qui entoure le quotidien et les relations invisibles qui opèrent secrètement au sein de ce que nous jugeons familier.

Ses œuvres, qui prennent la forme de livres, d’expositions et de projections audiovisuelles, ont été exposées dans de nombreuses villes en Espagne ainsi qu’à l’étranger, dans des lieux comme le Nederlands Foto Instituut à Rotterdam, les Rencontres d’Arles, l’Université du Staffordshire, le Seoul Photo Festival, la Bibliothèque nationale de Colombie à Bogota et la Biennale internationale de photographie et de vidéo de Chongqing en Chine.

David Jiménez a reçu le prix du Meilleur jeune photographe décerné par PHotoEspaña 99 et le prix Kaulak de la ville de Madrid en 2008. A ce jour, il a publié cinq monographies, dont Infinito (2000), et plus récemment Versus (2014).

Ses œuvres font partie de nombreuses collections publiques et privées en Espagne, telles que celles de la Fundación MAPFRE, du Musée d’art contemporain MACUF et de la Collection DKV Art. Il donne régulièrement des conférences et des ateliers en Espagne et dans d’autres pays sur le processus créatif en photographie.

Portrait de David Jiménez ©Maria Brancós

Portrait de David Jiménez ©Maria Brancós


Description du projet "Omen"

Dans le projet photographique Omen, David Jiménez cherche à jouer avec les limites de la perception. Il s’agit d’un projet à long terme pour le Prix Elysée par lequel l’artiste va travailler à l’aboutissement de cette ambitieuse exploration visuelle destinée à aller au-delà du temps, de l’espace et de la culture afin de devenir une abstraction visuelle poétique qui nous conduise vers un sens plus élevé.

« Entre la réalité et l’imaginaire s’ouvre un vaste territoire lorsque est abandonnée la foi en une réalité stable et objective. » Le projet proposé par David Jiménez pour le Prix Elysée s’inscrit au sein d’un périmètre géographique tout à fait spécifique, mais son emplacement exact n’est pas important. L’objectif est de parvenir à transcender cet espace physique particulier et de recréer un territoire fictif circonscrit par des frontières abstraites.

« Tout mon travail a toujours été basé sur une intuition, celle qui est dissimulée à l’intérieur de ce que nous appelons la réalité, un réseau de relations complexes qui dépasse l’entendement rationnel. La gestation de ce projet s’est étalée sur une longue période, parallèlement à d’autres travaux. De façon involontaire, je me suis surpris à retourner encore et toujours dans cet espace et, à un moment donné, j’ai compris que ce n’était pas les aspects culturels ou sociaux qui m’intéressaient profondément mais bien davantage le comportement de certains plans de la réalité qui touchent au domaine de l’onirique. Bien que ces plans contiennent des personnes, des animaux, des espaces, des objets et des lumières, l’énergie qu’ils génèrent n’appartient à aucun d’eux en particulier mais plutôt à ce qui les relie tous. En me déplaçant au bord de l’abstraction, j’ai progressivement supprimé la juste quantité d’éléments narratifs et descriptifs afin que seul ce qui est indispensable à l’œuvre demeure. »


Principales expositions

  • 2016 Nous relats fotogràfics, Arts Santa Mònica, Barcelone
  • 2015 Biennale internationale de photographie et de vidéo de Chongqing, Chine
  • 2015 El proceso, CentroCentro Cibeles, Madrid
  • 2014 Nida Art Photography Symposium, Nida, Lituanie (solo)
  • 2013 Diálogos, Patio Herreriano, Valladolid, Espagne
  • 2012 LQQD, Llotjà del Cànem, Castellón, Espagne (solo)
  • 2010 Espagne, invité d’honneur, Seoul Photo, Corée du Sud
  • 2007 All inclusive, Spanish contemporary photography, Lodz, Pologne

Principales publications

  • 2015 EXIT nº 58, Exitmedia, Espagne
  • 2014 Versus, RM Verlag, Espagne (livre de photo)
  • 2014 The Photobook: A History volume III, Phaidon Press, Royaume-Uni
  • 2013 Diccionario de fotógrafos españoles, La Fábrica, Espagne
  • 2000 Infinito, Photovision, Espagne (livre de photo)

Portfolio