Jim Naughten

1969, British, born in Horsham, United Kingdom
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2016-2018

Jim Naughten is a British photographic artist born in 1969 in the United Kingdom. Currently living and working in London, he studied on a painting scholarship at Lancing College and later Photography in Bournemouth University in the United Kingdom. Naughten’s work explores themes involving historical subject matter, questioning our relationship with History. He questions the veracity of the photograph and how the “truths” of history evolve over time.

Naughten’s work has been widely featured in exhibitions across Europe and the US and includes a solo show at the Imperial War Museum and group shows at the Royal Academy of Art and National Portrait Galleries in London. His first series, Re-enactors, was published as a monograph in 2009 (Hotshoe Books), his second, Hereros, was published by Merrell in 2013 and his latest book, Animal Kingdom, by Prestel in April 2016. Animal Kingdom represents Naughten’s first stereoscopic work.

Collections holding his work include the Imperial War Museum (UK), The Museum of Art, Houston, Museum of Honolulu and private collections in the US, UK and Europe.

Projet

The Mountains of Kong

Jim Naughten proposes to travel through time to a fabled place where only the best images can be made. For the Prix Elysée, he will explore first hand a place that may or may not have ever existed. Acting as an explorer, scientist and photographer to visit this fabled land, Naughten will document a world that existed in popular consciousness and maps for over a hundred years, the Mountains of Kong.

“The Mountains of Kong are a fabled mountain range that existed on maps from 1798 through to the late 1880s when they were finally declared to be nonexistent. However, I will create a series of stereoscopic images that tell a very different story. My stereoscopic images of the Mountains of Kong will record the expedition for posterity and scientific purposes, very much in the manner of earlier expeditions. The resulting images will be viewable in three dimensions by using the same stereoscopic technology made popular in the late 1800s which allowed Victorians to travel to the four corners of the world whilst sitting at home in their armchairs. The evidence in three dimensional forms will therefore be irrefutable.

In the Mountains of Kong I discover extraordinary, otherworldly landscapes, encounter strange hitherto unknown creatures, bizarre plants, and lost tribes that seem to dwell in a parallel universe. I faithfully record these true events with my stereoscopic camera, aping the explorers and expedition scientists and photographers of the past.

The work aims to be both engaging and playful, but also will function as a comment on the mutability of history and our ever evolving and malleable relationship with the past.”

Retour à la liste des nominés

Jim Naughten

1969, Britannique, né à Horsham, Royaume-Uni

Jim Naughten est un photographe britannique né en 1969 au Royaume-Uni. Il a étudié la peinture au Lancing College grâce à une bourse, puis la photographie à l’Université de Bournemouth au Royaume-Uni avant de s’installer à Londres pour y vivre et y travailler. Naughten explore, dans son travail, des thèmes liés à des sujets historiques, interrogeant notre relation à l’Histoire. Il pose la question de la véracité de la photographie et de la manière dont les « vérités » de l’histoire évoluent avec le temps.

Les œuvres de Naughten ont été régulièrement exposées en Europe et aux Etats-Unis, notamment lors d’une exposition solo à l’Imperial War Museum et lors d’expositions de groupe à la Royal Academy of Art et la National Portrait Galleries à Londres. Sa première série, Re-enactors,a été publiée sous forme de monographie en 2009 (Hotshoe Books) et la suivante, Hereros,par Merrell en 2013. Animal Kingdom, le dernier livre de Naughten, qui est aussi sa première œuvre en stéréoscopie, a été publié par Prestel en avril 2016.

Ses œuvres font partie des collections de l’Imperial War Museum au Royaume-Uni, du Museum of Art de Houston et du Musée d’Honolulu ainsi que de collections privées aux Etats-Unis, au Royaume-Uni et en Europe.

Portrait de Jim Naughten

Portrait de Jim Naughten


Description du projet

Titre du projet : Les montagnes du Kong

Jim Naughten présente un projet qui nous permettra de remonter le temps et revenir à un lieu légendaire où seules les meilleures images peuvent être réalisées. Pour le Prix Elysée, il partira comme explorateur, scientifique et photographe à la découverte d’un endroit qui a peut-être ou n’a peut-être jamais existé, une terre imaginaire qui a existé dans la conscience collective et sur les cartes pendant plus d’un siècle, les montagnes du Kong.

« Les montagnes du Kong sont une chaîne de montagnes imaginaire qui fut visible sur les cartes géographiques de 1798 à la fin des années 1880, où elles furent déclarées inexistantes. La série d’images en stéréoscopie que je prévois de créer raconte cependant une histoire très différente. Mes images stéréoscopiques des montagnes du Kong documenteront cette expédition dans un but scientifique mais aussi pour la postérité, à la manière des premières explorations. Ces images pourront être visionnées en 3D, en utilisant les appareils qui furent populaires à la fin du XIXe siècle et qui permettaient aux Anglais de l’époque de voyager aux quatre coins du monde tout en restant chez eux dans leur fauteuil. L’utilisation d’une image en trois dimensions en sera une preuve irréfutable.

Dans les montagnes du Kong, je découvre des paysages extraordinaires, à couper le souffle, je rencontre d’étranges créatures jusqu’alors inconnues, des plantes bizarres et des tribus disparues qui semblent évoluer dans un univers parallèle. J’enregistre fidèlement ces événements réels à l’aide de mon appareil stéréoscopique, singeant les explorateurs, les scientifiques et les photographes d’expéditions passées.

Si l’œuvre se veut stimulante et amusante, elle doit aussi se lire comme un commentaire sur la mutabilité de l’Histoire et sur notre relation au passé, malléable et soumise à des évolutions constantes. »


Expositions

  • 2016 Klompching Gallery, New York (solo)
  • 2016 Powell-Cotton Collection, Margate, Royaume-Uni (solo)
  • 2016 KK Gallery, Londres (solo)
  • 2016 MOPA (Museum of Photographic Arts), San Diego
  • 2016 ArtiJuly, Norvège
  • 2015 Horniman Museum, Londres (solo)
  • 2015 Royal Academy of Art, Londres

Publications

  • 2016 Animal Kingdom, Prestel
  • 2014 Haute Africa, Lannoo
  • 2013 Conflict and Costume: The Herero Tribe of Namibia, Merrell
  • 2011 Afterwards, Thames & Hudson
  • 2009 Re-enactors, Hotshoe

Portfolio