Back to the list

Kourtney Roy

1981, Canadian, Born in Northern Ontario, Canada

Canadian photographer, born in the wilds of Northern Ontario in 1981, Canada, Kourtney Roy now lives and works in Paris. She learned to use an axe before she learned to walk and had mastered the use of her father’s rifle and other small firearms by the age of 12. At the age of 13 she was the regional cross-country ski champion. She then devoted her abilities to smuggling furs and maple syrup across the frozen Acadian frontiers.

After having spent a rather raucous youth drinking, snake handling and bar fighting, she turned her gaze towards Europe, eventually settling in Paris. Kourtney’s days in the French capital are spent hell raising, drinking bourbon and photographing herself in seedy hotels and dilapidated trailer parks.

Kourtney has been awarded a number of awards and grants for her photographic mise-en-scene, most recently the “Carte Blanche PMU”, a significant annual prize awarded to a photographic artist to produce a body of work based on the world of the PMU.

http://www.kourtneyroy.com


Project presentation

Kourtney Roy proposes to utilise the performative and sculptural aspects of the body in order to create an “interruption” or a disturbance in the otherwise mundane scenes of suburban life. The self-portrait, placed artificially into these familiar locations, operates by distorting the quotidian, rendering it strange and menacing. The body becomes fragmented and the objects and decors surrounding it also take on an unexpected and ambiguous presence.

“I would like to propose for the Prix Elysée project a series focusing on a combination of self-portraits and landscapes taken in contemporary urban and suburban settings. In these locations I would utilise the performative and sculptural aspects of the body in order to create an “interruption” or a disturbance in the otherwise mundane scene. The self, placed artificially into these familiar locations, operates by distorting the quotidian, rendering it strange and menacing. The body becomes fragmented and the objects and decors surrounding it also take on an unexpected and ambiguous presence. By directing the camera on unused and unnoticed fragments of the landscape one is able to dislocate and confuse common readings of such places. Some examples of locations where this project could take place are: an office building, a grocery store, a call centre, a gas station, a parking lot, inside a car, a residential street, a fast food restaurant, a road side motel, a beauty salon, the side of the highway, an insurance office, and an industrial factory (to name only a few possibilities).

The method of mise-en-scene self-portraiture used in my work provokes one to question the prevailing usages and conventions of these spaces and allows one to project other possible meanings onto them. As a result the images take on an uncanny aspect, suddenly what was once so familiar and unquestioned becomes the breeding ground for uncertainty and reconfiguration.”


Exhibitions

  • 2014 “Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle”, Carte Blanche PMU, Le Bal, Paris, France
  • 2014 “Fixed In No-Time”, Gallery Hug, Paris, France
  • 2013 Head On Photo Festival, primary exhibition, Sydney, Australia
  • 2012 Planche(s) Contact Festival, cur. Patrick Remy, Deauville, France
  • 2012 Images Festival, Vevey, Switzerland

Publications

  • Aesthetica
  • Numéro France
  • Vogue Japan
  • The Sunday Times Style
  • Soup Magazine
  • D-Magazine

Portfolio

Retour à l'édition 2014 – 2016

Kourtney Roy

1981, Canadienne, née dans le Nord de l’Ontario, Canada

Photographe canadienne née dans les zones reculées du nord de l’Ontario au Canada en 1981, Kourtney Roy vit et travaille aujourd’hui à Paris. Elle a appris à manier la hache avant d’apprendre à marcher et savait se servir du fusil de son père et d’autres armes à feu à l’âge de 12 ans. A 13 ans, elle devint championne régionale de ski de fond. Elle consacra ensuite ses talents à la contrebande de fourrures et de sirop d’érable à travers les frontières gelées de l’Acadie.

Après une jeunesse plutôt dévoyée à boire, capturer des serpents et se battre dans les bars, Kourtney Roy s’est tournée vers l’Europe et finit par s’installer à Paris. Dans la capitale française, elle passe ses journées à chercher des ennuis, à boire du bourbon et à se photographier dans des hôtels miteux et des terrains de camping abandonnés.

Kourtney a reçu un certain nombre de récompenses et de bourses pour sa mise en scène photographique, comme, récemment, la « Carte Blanche PMU », une bourse annuelle attribuée à un photographe pour réaliser un projet artistique sur l’univers du PMU.

http://www.kourtneyroy.com


Présentation du projet

Kourtney Roy propose une série axée sur la combinaison d’autoportraits et de photographies de paysages prises en milieux urbains et suburbains contemporains. Un corps placé dans des lieux familiers peut les déformer, les rendre bizarres ou menaçants. Un autoportrait inattendu ou ambigu peut brouiller les codes de ces endroits et leur donner une autre signification, pour le moins étrange.

« J’aimerais proposer, comme projet pour le Prix Elysée, une série axée sur la combinaison d’autoportraits et de photographies de paysages prises en milieux urbain et suburbain contemporains. Dans ces endroits, je me servirais des capacités performatives et sculpturales du corps afin de créer une « interruption » ou un dérangement d’une scène par ailleurs ordinaire. L’être, ainsi artificiellement placé dans ces lieux familiers, agit en déformant le quotidien, le rendant bizarre et menaçant. Le corps se fragmente et la présence des objets et des décors qui l’entourent devient inattendue et ambiguë. En tournant l’appareil vers des fragments de paysage inutilisés et anodins, on peut perturber et brouiller les perceptions habituelles de tels endroits. Parmi les endroits où pourrait se produire ce projet : un immeuble de bureaux, une épicerie, un centre d’appels, une station-service, un parking, l’intérieur d’une voiture, une artère résidentielle, un fast-food, un hôtel routier, un salon de beauté, le bas-côté d’une autoroute, une compagnie d’assurance et une usine (pour ne citer que quelques exemples).

La méthode d’autoportrait mis en scène employée dans mon travail incite à questionner les usages et conventions qui prédominent dans ces espaces et permet de projeter d’autres significations sur eux. Ainsi, les images prennent un aspect étrange ; ce qui était jusqu’alors si familier et évident devient propice à l’incertitude et à la reconfiguration. »


Expositions

  • 2014 « Ils pensent déjà que je suis folle », Carte Blanche PMU, Le Bal, Paris, France
  • 2014 « Fixed In No-Time », Galerie Hug, Paris, France
  • 2013 Head On Photo Festival, Sydney, Australie
  • 2012 Planche(s) Contact Festival, cur. Patrick Remy, Deauville, France
  • 2012 Images Festival, Vevey, Suisse

Publications

  • Aesthetica
  • Numéro France
  • Vogue Japan
  • The Sunday Times Style
  • Soup Magazine
  • D-Magazine

Portfolio