Back to the list

Laia Abril

1986, born in Barcelona, Spain

Laia Abril is a multidisciplinary artist working with photography, text, video and sound. After a degree in journalism in Barcelona, she moved to New York. There she decided to focus on telling intimate stories that raise uneasy and hidden realities related to sexuality, eating disorders and gender equality. In 2009 she enrolled in a five-year artist residency at Fabrica, the Benetton Research Center in Treviso, Italy, where she worked as a creative editor and staff photographer at Colors magazine.
Abril’s work has been shown in the United States, Canada, the UK, China, Poland, Germany, Holland, Switzerland, Turkey, Greece, France, Italy and Spain.
Her works are held in private collections and museums such as the Musée de l’Elysée and Fotomuseum Winterthur in Switzerland, and MNAC in Barcelona. Over the years, her work has been acknowledged with grants and award nominations at Magnum Foundation, ICP-Infinity awards Foam Paul Huf, CatchLight, and she was selected for a jury award at Santa Fe Center and Plat(f)orm Fotomuseum Winterthur. More recently, she won the Revelación PhotoEspaña, Visionary Award, Fotopress Grant and Prix de la Photo Madame Figaro for her exhibition at Les Rencontres d’Arles (2016), A History of Misogyny, Chapter One: On Abortion.

www.laiaabril.com


Presentation of the project "On Mass Hysteria"

Laia Abril’s work focuses on the fragility of women’s rights and women’s liberation. Here, she addresses hysteria. Identified in ancient times, hysteria, the “queen of neurosis” at the center of 19th century medical controversies is still, today, associated with women. By comparing the phenomenon of mass hysteria recorded in different historical periods, the artist shows us that they reflect the misogynist prejudices of their time.

A History of Misogyny, Laia Abril’s three-part art project, aims to establish a historical dialogue with viewers to reflect on the fragility of women’s rights and freedom.

In 2016, A History of Misogyny, Chapter One: On Abortion was presented at Les Rencontres d’Arles. The exhibition and an accompanying book formed a conceptual map of the consequences of the lack of access to abortion. It dealt with the materiality of collateral damage, the causes and repercussions. The artist used objects, scientific images, photo novels, reconstructions, vernacular images, and other audio and video means to explain each of the stories.

The next chapter, On Mass Hysteria, will focus on the age-old tendency to accuse women of being crazy, possessed or hysterical, and combine it with an analysis of taboos and constructed “mental” and “female” illnesses used to control women. Laia Abril’s artistic approach is based on conceptual visualization of historical events. Her in-depth research in collaboration with experts has given rise to mixed-media work: archive materials, new footage and objects. She will include several mass hysteria events from different eras in history and different types of victims, and compare them with contemporary cases.

Modern science confirms that the majority of those suffering mass hysteria events are female. New research, based on 800 outbreaks dating back to 1566, proves that mass hysteria arises in reaction to circumstances in which women are under extreme stress, feel repressed or forced into situations where they cannot communicate or express their thoughts and emotions.

“Unfortunately, the hysteria stigma is still an issue nowadays. I believe it is urgent to reflect on corrupt practices caused by misconceptions about the female body.”


Selected Exhibitions

  • 2018 On Abortion, Foto-Forum, Bozen, Italy
  • 2018 On Abortion, Photo Ireland, Dublin, Ireland
  • 2017 On Abortion, City of Women, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • 2017 Lobismuller, Museo Municipal de Ourense, Spain
  • 2017 Menstruation Myths, Festival PhotoReporter, Saint-Brieuc, France
  • 2016 Las 17, Caixa Forum, Barcelona and Madrid, Spain
  • 2016 Lobismuller, Festival Images, Vevey, Switzerland
  • 2016 The Asexuals Project, Galerie im Taxispalais, Vienna, Austria
  • 2015 On Eating Disorders, Docfield Festival, Barcelona, Spain

Selected Publications

  • 2017 On Abortion, Dewi Lewis Publishing
  • 2016 Lobismuller, RM-Images Festival
  • 2014 The Epilogue, Dewi Lewis Publishing
  • 2014 Tediousphilia, Musée de l’Elysée
  • 2012 Thinspiration, self-published

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Laia Abril

née en 1986, Barcelone, Espagne, vit et travaille en Espagne

Laia Abril est une artiste multidisciplinaire, qui travaille à partir de la photographie, du texte, de la vidéo et du son. Après l’obtention d’un diplôme de journalisme à Barcelone, elle a déménagé à New York, où elle a décidé de s’intéresser au récit d’histoires intimes qui révèlent des réalités difficiles et cachées en rapport avec la sexualité, les troubles alimentaires et l’égalité des genres. En 2009, elle a participé à un programme de résidence d’artistes de cinq ans, au Centre de recherche Benetton à Trévise en Italie, où elle a travaillé comme rédactrice artistique et photographe pour le magazine Colors.

Le travail d’Abril a été exposé aux Etats-Unis, au Canada, en Grande-Bretagne, en Chine, en Pologne, en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas, en Suisse, en Turquie, en Grèce, en France, en Italie et en Espagne.

Ses œuvres font partie de collections privées et de celles de musées tels que le Musée de l’Elysée, le Fotomuseum Winterthur en Suisse et le musée national d’art de Catalogne à Barcelone. Au cours des dernières années, elle a reçu plusieurs bourses et son travail a été sélectionné par la Fondation Magnum, pour le prix Foam Paul Huf et le Prix Catch Light. Il a aussi été sélectionné pour le prix du jury par le Santa Fe Center et pour la Plat(f)orm du Fotomuseum Winterthur. Plus récemment, elle a reçu le prix Revelación PhotoEspaña, Visionary Awards, ainsi qu’une Bourse Fotopress et le Prix de la photographie de Madame Figaro pour son exposition aux Rencontres photographiques d’Arles en 2016, A History of Misogyny, Chapter One: On Abortion.

www.laiaabril.com


Présentation du projet "On Mass Hysteria"

Le travail de Laia Abril se concentre sur la fragilité des droits des femmes et la libération des femmes. Désormais, elle s’intéresse à l’hystérie. Identifiée dans l’Antiquité comme la « reine des névroses », l’hystérie était au centre des controverses médicales au XIXe siècle et, aujourd’hui encore, associée aux femmes. En comparant le phénomène de l’hystérie de masse à différentes périodes historiques, l’artiste nous montre qu’ils reflètent les préjugés misogynes de leur époque.

A History of Misogyny (Une Histoire de la misogynie), le projetartistique en trois parties de Laia Abril, a pour but d’établir un dialogue historique avec le spectateur afin de réfléchir à la fragilité des droits et des libertés des femmes.

En 2016, A History of Misogyny, Chapter One: On Abortion a été présenté aux Rencontres photographiques d’Arles. L’exposition – et le livre y ayant trait – ont permis de créer une carte conceptuelle des conséquences du manque d’accès à l’avortement. Elle en montrait les dégâts collatéraux sous leurs aspects matériels, les causes et les conséquences. L’artiste a utilisé des objets, des images scientifiques, des romans-photos, des reconstructions, des images vernaculaires, des enregistrements audio et vidéo, pour expliquer chacune des histoires.

Le chapitre suivant, On Mass Hysteria, s’intéressera à la tendance ancienne à accuser les femmes d’être folles, possédées ou hystériques, et sera associé à une analyse des tabous et des supposées maladies « mentales » et « féminines » utilisées comme méthode de contrôle des femmes. L’approche artistique de Laia Abril est fondée sur une visualisation conceptuelle des événements historiques. Des recherches approfondies menées avec des experts résultent en un travail pluri-média : des archives, de nouveaux enregistrements et des objets. Elle emploiera la comparaison de multiples événements historiques liés à l’hystérie de masse à des cas actuels, dans une variété de pays et de zones, avec différentes sortes de victimes.

La science actuelle confirme que la majorité des personnes touchées par des crises d’hystérie de masse sont des femmes. De nouvelles recherches, basées sur huit cents épisodes depuis 1566, ont prouvé que l’hystérie de masse vient en réaction à des circonstances où les femmes sont soumises à un stress intense, se sentent niées ou conduites à des situations où elles ne sont pas en mesure de communiquer ou d’exprimer leurs pensées et émotions.

“Malheureusement, la stigmatisation d’une femme comme hystérique est encore un problème aujourd’hui. Je pense qu’il est urgent de réfléchir aux pratiques perverses qui naissent d’une conception erronée du corps des femmes. ”


Principales expositions

  • 2018 On Abortion, Foto-Forum, Bolzano, Italie
  • 2018 On Abortion, Photo Ireland, Dublin, Ireland
  • 2017 On Abortion, Cité des femmes, Ljubljana, Slovénie
  • 2017 Lobismuller, Museo Municipal de Ourense, Espagne
  • 2017 Menstruation Myths, Festival PhotoReporter, Saint-Brieuc, France
  • 2016 On Abortion, Photo Istanbul, Turquie
  • 2016 Las 17, Caixa Forum, Barcelona and Madrid, Spain
  • 2016 The Asexuals Project, Galerie im Taxispalais, Vienne, Autriche

Principales publications

  • 2017 On Abortion, Dewi Lewis Publishing
  • 2016 Lobismuller, RM-Images Festival
  • 2014 The Epilogue, Dewi Lewis Publishing
  • 2014 Tediousphilia, Musée de l’Elysée
  • 2012 Thinspiration, self-published

Portfolio