Back to the list

Matthias Bruggmann

1978, Swiss, born in Aix-en-Provence, France

Matthias Bruggmann is a Swiss photographer, born in Aix-en-Provence in 1978. He lives and works on his laptop. He is an alumni of the Vevey School of Photography. His work, which respects the arbitrary norms of photojournalism, tends towards the deconstruction of the norms of representation in the photography of the real, through the representation of complicated situations and places.

He has, amongst others, worked on and in Egypt, Haiti, Iraq, Somalia, Syria and Libya. He was part of the curatorial team for We Are All Photographers Now! for the Musée de l’Elysée, and was one of the cofounders of the contemporary art space Standard/Deluxe in Lausanne.

His work is part of a number of private collections, as well as the public collections of the Frac Midi-Pyrénées and the Musée de l’Elysée.


Project Description

Title: A haunted world where it never shows

Building on the framework of his prior work on contemporary conflicts, for the Prix Elysée Matthias Bruggmann proposes to continue a long-term photographic project launched in 2012 documenting the conflict in Syria. Respecting the numerous constraints inherent to photojournalism, his work contributes to already produced images with its pointed aim: challenge our own moral assumptions and bring to the surface a greater understanding of the violence that underlies the conflict.

“Formally, my previous work put the viewer in a position where they were asked to decide the nature of the work itself. A scientifically questionable analogy of this mechanism would be the observer effect in quantum physics, where the act of observing changes the nature of what is being observed. My Syrian work builds on this framework.

From a documentation perspective, it is, thus far and to the best of my knowledge, unique as the work, inside Syria, of a single Western photographer, in large part thanks to the assistance and hard work of some of the best independent experts on the conflict. Because of the nature of this conflict, I believe it is necessary to expand the geographical scope of the work.

At its core is an attempt at generating a sense of moral ambiguity. The design of this is to make the viewer uneasy by challenging their own moral assumptions, and thus attempt to bring, to Western viewers, a visceral comprehension of the intangible violence that underlies conflict. One of the means is by perverting the codes normally used in documentary photography to enhance identification with the subject. While perfectly conforming to accepted documentary norms, part of the work aims at eroding the viewer’s implicit faith in my own trustworthiness as a witness, and attempts to force a further reflexion on the nature of what is presented.”


Selected Exhibitions

  • 2015 Dévider le réel,Les Abattoirs – Frac Midi-Pyrénées, Toulouse
  • 2012 Œuvres insoumises, Galerie Polaris, Paris
  • 2008 Jamais le même fleuve/Œuvres des collections de Michèle et Michel Auer, Isabelle Darrigrand, Freddy Danaës, Maison d’art Bernard Anthonioz, Nogent-sur-Marne, France
  • 2005 reGeneration: 50 Photographers of Tomorrow,Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne

Selected Publications

  • Time Magazine
  • National Geographic
  • The Sunday Times
  • Le Monde

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Matthias Bruggmann

1978, Suisse, né à Aix-en-Provence, France

Photographe suisse né à Aix-en-Provence en 1978, Matthias Bruggmann vit et travaille sur son ordinateur portable. Il est diplômé de l’Ecole de photographie de Vevey. Son travail, qui respecte les normes arbitraires du photojournalisme, tend à la déconstruction des normes de représentation dans la photographie du réel par la représentation de situations et d’endroits compliqués.

Il a notamment travaillé sur et en Egypte, Haïti, Irak, Somalie, Syrie et Libye. Il a fait partie de l’équipe de commissariat de Tous photographes ! pour le Musée de l’Elysée, et est l’un des cofondateurs de l’espace d’art contemporain Standard/Deluxe à Lausanne.

Ses travaux font partie des collections publiques du Frac Midi-Pyrénées, du Musée de l’Elysée et de diverses collections privées.

Portrait de Matthias Bruggmann

Portrait de Matthias Bruggmann


Description du projet

Titre du projet : A haunted world that never shows

Partant du cadre choisi pour son œuvre précédente sur les conflits contemporains, Matthias Bruggmann se propose, pour le Prix Elysée, de poursuivre un projet photographique de longue haleine débuté en 2012 sur le conflit en Syrie. En respectant les nombreuses contraintes propres au photojournalisme, son travail, qui vient s’ajouter aux images déjà produites, a pour but de remettre en cause nos suppositions morales et de susciter une meilleure compréhension de la violence qui sous-tend ce conflit.

« D’un point de vue formel, mon précédent travail amenait le public dans une situation où il devait décider de la nature de l’œuvre même. Ce mécanisme pourrait ressembler, bien qu’on puisse le contester scientifiquement, à ce qui se produit en physique quantique lorsque l’observation change la nature de ce qui est observé. Mon travail sur la Syrie s’inspire de ce présupposé.

D’un point de vue documentaire, il s’agit, à ma connaissance et jusqu’à présent, de la seule œuvre de ce type réalisée à l’intérieur même de la Syrie par un seul photographe occidental, et ce en grande partie grâce à l’aide et aux travaux dévoués de certains des meilleurs experts indépendants sur le conflit. En raison de la nature de ce conflit, j’estime qu’il est nécessaire d’étendre le périmètre géographique de ce travail.

Il s’agit là essentiellement d’une tentative de créer un sentiment d’ambiguïté morale. Sa conception vise à mettre le public mal à l’aise en remettant en cause ses propres suppositions morales, et ainsi à essayer de susciter, chez un public occidental, une compréhension viscérale de la violence intangible qui sous-tend tout conflit. L’un des moyens utilisés consiste à pervertir les codes normalement employés dans la photographie documentaire pour accroître l’identification avec le sujet. Tout en se conformant parfaitement aux normes homologuées du documentaire, une partie du travail est destinée à amoindrir la confiance du public en ma propre fiabilité en tant que témoin et à forcer une réflexion plus poussée sur la nature de ce qui lui est présenté. »


Expositions

  • 2015 Dévider le réel, Les Abattoirs – Frac Midi-Pyrénées, Toulouse
  • 2012 Œuvres insoumises, Galerie Polaris, Paris
  • 2008 Jamais le même fleuve/Œuvres des collections de Michèle et Michel Auer, Isabelle Darrigrand, Freddy Danaës, Maison d’art Bernard Anthonioz, Nogent-sur-Marne, France
  • 2005 reGeneration : 50 photographes de demain,Musée de l’Elysée, Lausanne

Publications

  • Time Magazine
  • National Geographic
  • The Sunday Times
  • Le Monde

Portfolio