Back to the list

Sofie Knijff

1972, Dutch and Belgian, born in Vilvoorde, Belgium

Sofie Knijff is a Dutch-Belgian photographer based in Amsterdam. As a young adult she lived between Curacao, Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxemburg and Paris and developed over the years a strong inner fantasy world fascination for different cultures and identities. She began her artistic parcours studying theatre, receiving her diploma to be a theatre performer in 1998 from the Toneelacademie in Maastricht, the Netherlands. It was only in 2003 that she entered the Fotoacademie Amsterdam to pursue studies in Photography. It is certain this unique background in theatre is reflected in the photographic universe Sofie Knijff invites us to explore; her work is steeped in aspects of the theatrical and owes much to the notions she learned as a performer herself – approaching spaces as scenery and people as characters.
Her work has been published and exhibited internationally in galleries, museums and art fairs. Recently, her artistic projects have received grants from the Mondrian Foundation and shortlisted for the Unseen Photo Fair Dummy Award (2012), Mack Book Award (2013) and Best Photobook Award Kassel (2015) amongst others.

www.sofieknijff.nl


Project presentation

Project Title: Tales

Creating a dialogue between the fictional and real, for the Prix Elysée Sofie Knijff will explore the influence of fairy tales and their meaning in different cultures today. Working in the genre of portraiture, she will work with children, bringing their favorite fairy tales to life. It is her hope with this project to inspire a new vision of how we perceive the “other” in the world today.

“As follow up on my research into children, I now want to propose to the Prix Elysée a series on fairy tales and their meaning and influence in different cultures today.

In our times, in which fear for other people appears to be growing, I want to look into the tales children grow up with. How do they differ culturally? Where do the different stories meet? Fairy tales are from all times, ages and cultural backgrounds. They are stories that generally begin with ‘once upon a time’ and usually end with ‘happily ever after’. They guide us through the world of heroes and heroines and adventures long ago and far away. They also connect us with the subconscious. They provide us with the tools to understand who we are and how to cope with life’s obstacles and dangers. I will analyse a selection of fairy tales originating from different parts of the world. I will concentrate on tales from areas full of turmoil (economically and religiously) in Europe, the US, Africa and Asia. I’d like to interview writers, storytellers and historians, specialists on the matter. I want to collect personal stories from people of different backgrounds and age who tell us how stories have influenced their childhood or still influence their lives today, and compare them. I will focus on archetypes within the tales, e.g.: kings, princesses, bears and witches. Characters that are used in stories universally. In this new series my aim would again be to combine the staged and the real. As in my Translations series, I will ask my subjects to transform into these characters by using their own decors and costumes. Besides, I will go to the areas from where the tales originate and portray their real landscapes and mirror them with the inner landscapes of the stories. I aim for my research to bring about a different vision on how we see ‘The other’ through the world of tales.”


Selected Exhibitions

  • 2015 Dolhuys Museum, group exhibition, Haarlem, the Netherlands
  • 2014 M-I-A gallery, Translations solo exhibition, Seattle, USA
  • 2012 Translations, Ron Mandos Galerie, Amsterdam
  • 2011 Harry Pennings Prize Exhibition, Eindhoven, the Netherlands
  • 2011 Translations series solo exhibition, Bassano del Grappa, Italy
  • 2010 Zwitserleven, solo exhibition, Amsterdam

Publications

  • 2015 Asnoix, self published

Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Sofie Knijff

1972, néerlandaise et belge, née à Vilvorde, Belgique

Sofie Knijff est une photographe belgo-néerlandaise résidant à Amsterdam. Jeune femme, elle a vécu entre Curaçao, la Belgique, les Pays-Bas, le Luxembourg et Paris. Au cours de ces années, ses rêveries intérieures ont été profondément marquées par sa fascination pour différentes cultures et identités. Elle a débuté son parcours artistique par des études théâtrales et a obtenu, en 1998, un diplôme de comédienne de la Toneelacademie à Maastricht aux Pays-Bas. Ce n’est qu’en 2003 qu’elle est entrée à la Fotoacademie d’Amsterdam pour étudier la photographie. Sa formation théâtrale singulière transparaît de façon évidente dans l’univers artistique que Sofie Knijff nous invite à explorer. Son œuvre s’imprègne de certains aspects du théâtre et doit beaucoup aux notions qu’elle a apprises en tant que comédienne – notamment dans son approche du lieu comme espace scénique et des gens comme personnages.

Ses travaux ont été publiés et exposés dans des galeries, des musées et des foires d’art dans le monde entier. Récemment, elle a obtenu une bourse de la Fondation Mondrian et a fait partie des artistes sélectionnés pour le Prix Unseen Photo Fair Dummy (2012), le Prix Mack Book (2013) et le Prix Best Photobook de Kassel, entre autres.

www.sofieknijff.nl


Description du projet

Titre du projet : Tales

Instaurant un dialogue entre le fictionnel et le réel, Sofie Knijff explorera, pour le Prix Elysée, l’influence des contes de fées et de leur signification dans différentes cultures contemporaines. Privilégiant le portrait comme dans certains de ses précédents projets, elle travaillera avec des enfants pour créer une scène où ces contes de fées pourront devenir réels. Avec ce projet, elle interroge la manière dont nous percevons l’“autre” et le monde aujourd’hui.

« Afin de poursuivre ma recherche sur les enfants, je veux à présent proposer au Prix Elysée une série sur les contes de fées, sur leur signification et leur influence dans différentes cultures aujourd’hui.

A une époque où il semble que la peur de l’autre ne cesse de croître, je veux m’intéresser aux contes qui accompagnent les enfants en grandissant. Comment changent-ils d’une culture à l’autre ? Ont-ils des points communs ? Les contes de fées appartiennent à tous les âges, époques et cultures. Ce sont des histoires qui commencent en général par “il était une fois” et se terminent par “heureux à tout jamais”. Ils nous conduisent à travers l’univers de héros et d’héroïnes, d’aventures se déroulant il y a longtemps et dans une contrée lointaine. Ils permettent d’entrer en connexion avec l’inconscient. Ils nous fournissent des outils pour comprendre qui nous sommes et comment affronter les obstacles et les dangers de la vie. Je prévois d’analyser une sélection de contes de fées provenant de différentes régions du monde. Je m’intéresserai particulièrement aux contes existant dans des endroits en proie à des troubles (économiques et religieux) en Europe, aux Etats-Unis, en Afrique et en Asie. J’aimerais interviewer des écrivains, des conteurs et des historiens spécialistes du sujet. Je veux rassembler les récits de personnes d’origines et d’âges différents qui expliqueront comment les contes les ont influencées dans leur enfance ou continuent de le faire dans leur vie actuelle, et les comparer. Je me pencherai sur les archétypes des contes : les rois, les princesses, les ours et les sorcières. Des personnages qui sont utilisés dans toutes les histoires de façon universelle. Dans cette nouvelle série, mon objectif sera de combiner à nouveau mise en scène et réel. Comme dans ma série Translations, je demanderai aux personnes photographiées de se transformer en ces personnages en utilisant leurs propres décors et costumes. En outre, je me rendrai dans les régions d’où proviennent ces contes afin de photographier leur paysage d’origine et le mettre en miroir des paysages intérieurs inspirés par ces mêmes contes. J’aimerais que mon travail permette d’appréhender différemment, à travers l’univers des contes de fées, la manière dont nous voyons l’Autre.”


Principales expositions

  • 2015 Dolhuys Museum, exposition de groupe, Haarlem, Pays-Bas
  • 2014 M-I-A gallery, Translations, exposition solo, Seattle, Etats-Unis
  • 2012 Translations, Ron Mandos Galerie, Amsterdam
  • 2011 Exposition du Prix Harry Pennings, Eindhoven, Pays-Bas
  • 2011 Translations, exposition solo, Bassano del Grappa, Italie
  • 2010 Zwitserleven, exposition solo, Amsterdam

Publications

  • 2015 Asnoix, publié à compte d’auteur

Portfolio