Alice Mann

1991, South Africa
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Alice Mann (b. 1991) is a South African photographic artist who’s intimate portraiture essays explore notions of picture making as an act of collaboration. She aims to create images that empower her subjects and creates projects over extended periods, allowing for engaged and nuanced representations.

Her work has been exhibited internationally at numerous group shows at Red Hook Labs (Ney York), Unseen Photo Fair (Amsterdam), The National Portrait Gallery and Somerset House (London), Addis Foto Fest (Addis Ababa), the International Centre of Photography (New York) as well as at art fairs such as 1:54 London, and Paris Photo Fair. Alice Mann’s personal and commissioned work has been published internationally including The Gardian, The New Yorker, The New York Times Magazine, Artsy, The British Journal of Photography, and National Geographic.

Her award winning series Drummies exploring female drum majorette teams in South Africa, has been selected as a winner of the Lensculture emerging photographer prize (2018) and the PHMuseum Woman’s ‘New Generation’ prize for an emerging photographer (2018). Four images from the series were awarded first place at the prestigious Taylor Wessing portraiture prize (2018). Alice Mann was also recipient of the Grand Prix at the 34th edition of the Hyères International Festival of Fashion and Photography (2019). Her first solo exhibition of the work was at the Kunsthal Rotterdam in late 2021, when she also released her first monograph, Drummies, with GOST Books.

Projet

The Night is Young

In South Africa the final year of high school is known as ‘matric’. For learners, the annual ‘matric ball’ carries huge significance and is a highly anticipated rite of passage. Despite South African students diverses cultural and socio-economic backgrounds, for them and their families alike, the ball is a very significant event. Learners will typically spend large amounts of time and money meticulously planning their outfits, getting suits and dresses custom made, and will spend hours on the day in preparation for the night. The ‘arrival’ to the balls are also highly anticipated, as this is the first opportunity to show off their carefully curated looks. At most schools, a red carpet will be laid out, roads are closed off, and crowds of spectators – relatives, friends, and even people from the surrounding neighborhoods – will line up to cheer on the students as they disembark from a range of vintage and customised cars.

The motif of a high school ball is typically linked to ‘American’ proms, which for most, is a theme that is instantly recognizable and identifiable. Inspired by the rich discourse of iconic American imagery, Alice Mann is intrigued by the way that these ideas play out out in a contemporary South African context. While the deep impact of Apartheid remains, in the country’s complex and visibly divided space there is something pure ad democratizing about these occasions. Over the course of this project, she has worked with a number of schools representating learners from very different backgrounds. At the many balls she has attended, the constant is the sense of energy and joy – these events are testament to the students achievement at realizing this final chapter in their high school careers and are celebrated accordingly. In an increasingly uncertain world, she hopes these images can function as a portrait of sougn South Africans tentative optimism. Alice Mann wants viewers to be reminded of that instant when one looks and feel its best, the energy is palpable and anything feels possible.

Alice Mann

1991, Afrique du Sud
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Alice Mann (née en 1991) est une artiste photographe sud-africaine dont les portraits intimes explorent les notions de création d’images comme un acte de collaboration. Elle chercher à créer des images qui donnent du pouvoir à ses sujets et réalise des projets sur de longues périodes, ce qui permet des représentations engagées et nuancées.

Son travail a été exposé à l’échelle internationale dans le cadre de nombreuses expositions collectives, notamment au Red Hook Labs (New York), à l’Unseen Photo Fair (Amsterdam), à la National Portrait Gallery et à la Somerset House (Londres), à l’Addis Foto Fest (Addis-Abeba), au Centre international de la photographie (New York), ainsi qu’à des foires d’art telles que 1:54 London et Paris Photo. Les travaux personnels et de commande d’Alice Mann ont été publiés dans le monde entier, notamment dans le Guardian, le New Yorker, le New York Times Magazine, Artsy, le British Journal of Photography et National Geographic.

Sa série primée, Drummies, qui explore les équipes féminines de majorettes percussionistes en Afrique du Sud, a été sélectionnée comme lauréate du prix Lensculture pour les photographes émergents (2018) et a remporté le prix PHMuseum Woman’s ‘New Generation’ pour un photographe émergent (2018). Quatre images de la série ont obtenu la première place au prestigieux prix du portrait Taylor Wessing (2018). Alice Mann a également reçu le grand prix de la 34e édition du Festival international de mode et de photographie d’Hyères (2019). Sa première exposition solo de ce travail a eu lieu à la Kunsthal de Rotterdam fin 2021, alors qu’elle publiait également sa première monographie, Drummies, chez GOST Books.

Projet

The Night is Young

En Afrique du Sud, la dernière année d’études secondaires est appelée « matric ». Pour les étudiants, le « matric ball » annuel revêt une grande importance et constitue un rite de passage très attendu. Malgré la diversité des origines culturelles et socio-économiques des étudiants sud-africains, pour eux et leurs familles, le bal est un événement très important. Les étudiants consacrent généralement beaucoup de temps et d’argent à la planification méticuleuse de leurs tenues, se faisant faire des costumes et des robes sur mesure, et passent des heures le jour même en préparation de la soirée. Les « arrivées » aux bals sont également très attendues, car c’est la première occasion de montrer leurs tenues soigneusement choisies. Dans la plupart des écoles, un tapis rouge est déroulé, les routes sont fermées et des foules de spectateurs – parents, amis et même des habitants des quartiers environnants – font la queue pour encourager les élèves qui débarquent d’une série de voitures anciennes et personnalisées.

Le motif du bal du lycée est généralement lié aux bals de fin d’année « américains », un thème qui, pour la plupart, est immédiatement reconnaissable et identifiable. Inspirée par le riche discours de l’imagerie américaine iconique, Alice Mann est intriguée par la manière dont ces idées s’expriment dans un contexte sud-africain contemporain. Alors que l’impact profond de l’Apartheid demeure, dans l’espace complexe et visiblement divisé du pays, il y a quelque chose de pur et de démocratisant dans ces occasions. Au cours de ce projet, elle a travaillé avec un certain nombre d’écoles représentant des apprenants issus de milieux très différents. Lors des nombreux bals auxquels elle a assisté, la constante est le sentiment d’énergie et de joie – ces événements témoignent de la réussite des élèves dans la réalisation de ce dernier chapitre de leur parcours au lycée et sont célébrés en conséquence. Dans un monde de plus en plus incertain, elle espère que ces images pourront servir de portrait de l’optimisme provisoire des Sud-Africains. Alice Mann souhaite que les spectateurs se souviennent de cet instant où l’on se sent au mieux de sa forme, où l’énergie est palpable et où tout semble possible.