Debi Cornwall

1973, United States
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Debi Cornwall is a conceptual documentary artist who returned to visual expression in 2014 after a 12-year career as a civil-rights lawyer. Employing absurdity and dark humor, she excavates invisible systems by layering still and moving images with testimony and archival material.

What are the stories we are told, the games we play, to manage unsettling realities? Necessary Fictions (Radius Books, 2020), Debi Cornwall’s book exploring the staging and performance of American power in immersive, realistic military wargames, was nominated for the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize and shortlisted for the Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles Photo-Text Book Award. She has, Collector Daily’s review notes, “an extremely systematic and methodical artistic mindset… with persistence and refined logic. Debi Cornwall’s photobook walks a delicate line, documenting a set of realities (which are themselves fictions) but also forcing us to see the absurdities embedded in them… pull[ing] us down a rabbit hole of nested complications, complexities, and contradictions that feel much more intertwined than we ever realized.”

Debi Cornwall’s first book, Welcome to Camp America: Inside Guantánamo Bay (Radius Book, 2017), was shortlisted for the Paris Photo-Aperture First PhotoBook Prize and the Arles Photo-Text Book Award. It was named among 2017’s 10 best photobooks in the New York Times Magazine. Hyperallergic’s review noted her “eye for the deadpan ordinary detail that lacerates with banality… destabilize[ing] Gitmo’s façade of normalcy through incisive juxtapositions and interpolations.” WCA has been exhibited in 15 countries, including Switzerland, South Korea, Belgium, and Germany.

She is a NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellow (Photography) and inaugural Leica Women Foto Project awardee. Debi Cornwall’s work is held in institutional collection in the US, Belgium, France, and Brazil. Her work has been profiled in publications including European Photography Magazine, the British Journal of Photography, Art in America, Polka, Fisheye, and the Guardian.

Projet

All the World’s A Stage

After a career in civil-rights law, Debi Cornwall came back to photography looking for the truth. Yet what she has found – from the “War on Terror” prisons of United States Naval Station in Guantánamo Bay, Cuba, to military training sites and beyond – is much more complicated: invisible systems that stage-manage reality for public consumption. Her work seeks to understand and illuminate these powerful political, corporate, and social forces. As a conceptual documentarian, the truth still matters to her, of course, but her frame has shifted. As Jean Dykstra wrote in reviewing Necessary Fictions, her most recent book, for The Brooklyn Rail, her work is infused with a “critical consideration of photography and its unrealibility as a factual document.” Photographs can be evidence, yes, but evidence of what?

Debi Cornwall’s proposed project to Prix Elysée, All the World’s A Stage, will examine the staging and performance of reality. She started this inquiry in Necessary Fictions by photographing military wargames. She is now casting a wider net, making photographs more elliptically related to her topic. In museums, exhibitions, trade fairs, non-military training sites, and everyday life, she will make photographs designed to invite inquiry: how are fictions deployed, commodified, and embraced, as noice that distracts us from the unforgiving onslaught of war, climate apocalypse, and ever-increasing inequality across the globe? What is this compulsion to package, restage, reframe, reenact, and perform our histories and current realities? What are we doing ourselves? Have we lost the signal admist the noise?

Debi Cornwall has begun making photographs in museum across the United States, and recently at the Dubai Expo 2020 (delayed to 2022 due to the pandemic). After extensive negociation, she is also securing access to the US Customs and Border Patrol’s training sites at the US/Mexican border, where Hispanic Amercians are cast as undocumented immigrants in realistic scenarios enacted for future border guards. As in all her work, All the World’s A Stage will pair her structural critique with empathy and dark humor.

The photo book is the ideal vehicle for her work, which inevitably includes multiple layers. In this format, her photographs can be sequenced with archival material and texts to present multiple narratives which, woven together, form a complete thought. As one author commented in a Zeke Magazine review, “There are at least one thousand ways to read Debi Cornwall’s Necessary Fictions, and I recommend to try them all… With every read, though the words and images stay the same, the book changes… In between her believability and the breadcrumbs of doubt flows the liquid river of truth… But when the smoke has cleared and the wounds rinsed off, the question will remain.” All the World’s A Stage, too, will offer more questions than answers.

Debi Cornwall

1973, États-Unis
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Debi Cornwall est une artiste documentaire conceptuelle qui est revenue à l’expression visuelle en 2014 après une carrière de 12 ans en tant qu’avocate en droit civil. Utilisant l’absurdité et l’humour noir, elle fouille les systèmes invisibles en superposant des images fixes et animées avec des témoignages et du matériel d’archives.

Quelles sont les histoires que l’on nous raconte, les jeux auxquels nous jouons, pour gérer des réalités dérangeantes ? Necessary Fictions (Radius Book, 2020), le livre de Debi Cornwall qui explore la mise en scène et la performance de la puissance américaine dans des wargames militaires immersifs et réalistes, a été nominé pour le prix de la Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation, et présélectionné pour le Photo-Text Book Award des Rencontres de la photographie d’Arles. Elle a, comme le note la critique du Collector Daily, « un état d’esprit artistique extrêmement systématique et méthodique… avec de la persistance et une logique raffinée. Le livre de Debi Cornwall est une œuvre délicate, qui documente un ensemble de réalités (qui sont elles-mêmes des fictions), mais qui nous force également à voir les absurdités qu’elles recèlent… et qui nous entraîne dans un terrier de complications et de contradictions imbriquées qui semblent beaucoup plus entremêlées que nous ne l’avions jamais imaginé ».

Le premier livre de Debi Cornawall, Welcome to Camp America : Inside Guantánamo Bay (Radius Book, 2017) a été présélectionné pour le prix Paris Photo-Aperture First PhotoBook et le Photo-Text Book Award d’Arles. Il a été classé parmi les 10 meilleurs livres de photographie de 2017 par le New York Times Mazagine. La critique d’Hyperallergic a noté son « œil pour le détail ordinaire pince-sans-rire qui lacère la banalité… déstabilisant la façade de normalité de Gitmo par des juxtapositions et interpolations incisives. » WCA a été exposé dans 15 pays, dont la Suisse, la Corée du Sud, la Belgique et l’Allemagne.

Elle est membre du NYSCA/NYFA Artist Fellow (photographie) et lauréate du premier Leica Women Foto Project. Les œuvres de Debi Cornwall font partie de collections institutionnelles aux États-Unis, en Belgique, en France et au Brésil. Son travail a été présenté dans des publications telles que l’European Photography Magazine, le British Journal of Photography, Art in America, Polka, Fisheye et le Guardian.

Projet

All the World’s A Stage

Après une carrière dans le droit civil, Debi Cornwall est revenue à la photographie en cherchant la vérité. Pourtant, ce qu’elle a découvert – des prisons de la « Guerre contre le terrorisme » de la base navale américaine de Guantánamo Bay, à Cuba, aux sites d’entraînement militaire et au-delà – est bien plus compliqué : des systèmes invisibles qui mettent en scène la réalité pour la consommation publique. Son travail cherche à comprendre et à éclairer ces puissantes forces politiques, corporatives et sociales. En tant que documentariste conceptuelle, la vérité lui importe toujours, bien sûr, mais son cadre a changé. Comme l’écrit Jean Dykstra dans sa critique de Necessary Fictions (son dernier livre) pour The Brooklyn Rail, son travail est imprégné d’une « considération critique de la photographie et de son irréalisme en tant que document factuel ». Les photographies peuvent être des preuves, certes, mais des preuves de quoi ?

Le projet proposé par Debi Cornwall au Prix Elysée, All the World’s A Stage, examinera la mise en scène et la performance de la réalité. Elle a commencé cette enquête dans Necessary Fictions en photographiant des wargames militaires. Elle élargit à présent son champ d’investigation en réalisant des photographies ayant un rapport plus elliptique avec son sujet. Dans les musées, les expositions, les foires commerciales, les sites d’entraînement non militaires et dans la vie de tous les jours, elle réalisera des photographies conçues pour susciter une interrogation : comment les fictions sont-elles déployées, transformées en marchandises et acceptées, comme un bruit qui nous distrait de l’assaut impitoyable de la guerre, de l’apocalypse climatique et de l’inégalité croissante dans le monde ? Qu’est-ce que cette compulsion à emballer, reformater, recadrer, rejouer et interpréter nos histoires et nos réalités actuelles ? Que faisons-nous nous-mêmes ? Avons-nous perdu le signal au milieu du bruit ?

Debi Cornwall a commencé à faire des photographies dans des musées à travers les États-Unis, et récemment à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï (reportée à 2022 à cause de la pandémie). Après de longues négociations, elle a également obtenu l’accès aux sites de formation de la US Customs and Border Patrol à la frontière américano-mexicaine, où des Américains d’origine hispanique jouent le rôle d’immigrants sans papiers dans des scénarios réalistes destinés aux futurs gardes-frontières. Comme dans toutes ses œuvres, All the World’s A Stage associe sa critique structurelle à l’empathie et à l’humour noir.

Le livre photographique est le véhicule idéal pour son travail, qui comporte inévitablement de multiples couches. Dans ce format, ses photographies peuvent être mises en séquence avec des documents d’archive et des textes pour présenter plusieurs récits qui, tissés ensemble, forment une pensée complète. Comme l’a fait remarquer un auteur dans une critique du Zeke Magazine, « il y a au moins mille façons de lire Necessary Fictions de Debi Cornwall, et je vous recommande de les essayer toutes… À chaque lecture, bien que les mots et les images restent les mêmes, le livre change… Entre sa crédibilité et les miettes du doute coule la rivière liquide de la vérité… Mais lorsque la fumée se sera dissipée et que les blessures auront été rincées, la question restera entière ». All the World’s A Stage, lui aussi, offrira plus de questions que de réponses.