Gloria Oyarzabal

1971, Spain
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Gloria Oyarzabal Lodge (London, 1971) is a Spanish artist photographer with a Bachelor of Fine Arts (UCM). She was programmer and co-founder of Independent Cinema Le Enana Marrón, Madrid (1999-2009), dedicated to author, experimental & alternative cinema.

Gloria Oyarzabal lived three years in Bamako (Mali), researching on the construction of the Idea of Africa, imaginaries and stereotypes; processes of colonization/decolonization, new strategies of colonizing through the mind (beauty canons, modernity concepts, religion…) and African Feminisms.

After her Master’s degree in Creation & Development of Photographic Projects at Blankpaper School of Photography (Madrid, 2014-15), her work has been shown at Fotofestiwal Lodz (Poland), Lagos Photo (Nigeria), FORMAT (United Kindgom), Guetxo Foto (Spain), Athens Photo (Greece), PHE PhotoEspaña (Spain), Thessaloniki Museum of Photography (Greece), PHOTO IS:RAEL (Israel), Bitume Festival Lecce (Italy), Encontros da Imagem Braga (Portugal), Odessa Photo Days (Ukraine), Organ Vida (Croatia), Kaunas Foto (Lithuania)… among others.

In 2017 Gloria Oyarzabal is selected for the artist residence Ranchito Matadero Nigeria/South Africa, held between Madrid and Lagos, facilitating her research on the positioning of the Nigerian woman in our days after the colonization of the concept of women. In 2022 she will be artist resident at Galerie21 (Hamburg) and at Gibellina Foto Festival invited by Fondazione Orestiadi (Sicily, Italy).

Projet

La Blanche et la Noire (USUS FRUCTUS ABUSUS)

As a starting point the painting La Blanche et la Noire by the French-Swiss painter Félix Vallotton (1913, Hahnloser Foundation collection, Villa Flora at Winterthur, Switzerland). A painting inspired by Manet’s Olympia and Ingres’ Odalisque à l’esclave, it depicts the Sapphic love between a sylph and a black woman. Unlike his predecessors, Vallotton gets rid of all exotic references. A two-voice dialogue emerges between two women reflecting on gender, race and colonialism.

Starting with a recreation as faithful to the original as possible, passing through different situations, to end up in a contemporary reflection in which they appear reading books as Afrotopia by Felwine Sarr (co-creator with Benedict Savoy of the report commissioned by French President Emmanuel Macron on the issue of looted objects in French museums, notably the Quai Branly Museum in Paris) or Loot: Britain and the Benin Bronzes by Barnaby Phillips.

The colonization of the concept of woman: the responsibility of the risky representation of black woman in the history of Western art, the position of white women and black women, the relationship of the African woman’s body and identity with the colonist that leads to perpetuating stereotypes, exoticization, cultural appropriation, difference, etc… Eternal Odalsques: female slaves who served in large housholds, wrongly understood thanks to the Orientalism school of painting, in which odalisques and other female slaves were often subjects of painterly interest, reinforcing once again a denigrating imaginery. In Muslim community, odalisques were “simply” hard working servants owned by powerful and wealthy households. Erotic images of womaen in the geographically vague “Orient” evoked a life of luxury and indolence far removed from 19th century industrial society; and 21st century standards of representing race and gender.

The concept of museum was born more than 300 years ago, when the collections of certain monarchs, kings or emperors were opened to the public, being since then institutions that give identity and define a nation. But if the origin of these spaces is colonialist, History, knowledge making, ethics, collective and individual memory come into conflict. A review of the relationship between anthropology and museum collections from a colonial past largely plundering, its historicity and historiography, excused behind a concern for discovery – almost always with a “saving” spirit –, leads to the conclusion that for decades they’ve reinforced exotism and distinction, intrinsically related to supremacist discourses. Museum as creators of imaginaries, as institutions that aren’t and have never been a neutral or beneficial holder/exhibitor of objects and artefacts. They are a powerful tool for instilling respect, changing prejudices and revising history. Or dangerously the opposite.

In Roman law, ownership was defined as the absolute full enjoyment over an object or corporeal entity. The USUS was the right that the holder had to make use of the object according to its destination or nature, FRUCTUS was the right to receive the fruits, ABUSUS was the right of disposition based on the power to modify, sell or destroy the object or given entity. Property was perpetual, absolute and exclusive. Based on the concept of ownership, a two-voice dialogue is proposed, in which questions of spoilation, Knowledge making, race and gender are addressed.

Return what has been plundered and looted, both in terms of objects and identity, is it an urgent, universal and feasible question for everyone? Ownership, restitution, reparation, recontextualization.. who has agency to give, return, adjudicate, rename?

Gloria Oyarzabal

1971, Espagne
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Gloria Oyarzabal Lodge (Londres, 1971) est une artiste photographe espagnole titulaire d’une lience en beaux-arts (UCM). Elle a été programmatrice et co-fondatrice du cinéma indépendant Le Enana Marrón, Madrid (1999-2009), dédié au cinéma d’auteur, expérimental et alternatif.

Gloria Oyarzabal a vécu trois ans à Bamako (Mali), pour des des recherches sur la construction de l’idée de l’Afrique, les imaginaires et les stéréotypes ; les processus de colonisation/décolonisation, les nouvelles stratégies de colonisation par l’esprit (canons de beauté, concepts de modernité, religion…) et les féminismes africains.

Après son master en création et développement de projets photographiques à l’école de photographie Blankpaper (Madrid, 2014-15), son travail a été exposé au Fotofestiwal Lodz (Pologne), au Lagos Photo (Nigéria), à FORMAT (Royaume-Uni), au Guetxo Foto (Espagne), à l’Athens Photo (Grèce), au PHE PhotoEspaña (Espagne), au Musée de la photographie de Thessalonique (Grèce), à PHOTO IS:RAEL (Israël), au Bitume Festival Lecce (Italie), à l’Encontros da Imagem Braga (Portugal), à l’Odessa Photo Days (Ukraine), à l’Organ Vida (Croatie) et au Kaunas Foto (Lituanie)… entre autres.

En 2017, Gloria Oyarzabal est sélectionnée pour la résidence d’artiste Ranchito Matadero Nigéria/Afrique du Sud, qui se tient entre Madrid et Lagos, facilitant sa recherche sur le positionnement de la femme nigériane de nos jours, après la colonisation du concept de femme. En 2022, elle est l’artiste résidente à la Galerie21 (Hambourg) et au Gibellina Foto Festival, invitée par la Fondazione Orestiadi (Sicile, Italie).

Projet

La Blanche et la Noire (USUS FRUCTUS ABUSUS)

Comme point de départ, le tableau La Blanche et la Noire du peintre franco-suisse Félix Vallotton (1913, collection de la Fondation Hahnloser, Villa Flora à Winterthur, Suisse). Ce tableau, inspiré de l’Olympia de Manet et de l’Odalisque à l’esclave d’Ingres, représente l’amour saphique entre une sylphide et une femme noire. Contrairement à ses prédécesseurs, Vallotton se débarrasse de toute référence exotique. Un dialogue à deux voix émerge entre deux femmes qui réfléchissent sur le genre, la race et le colonialisme.

Partant d’une recréation aussi fidèle que possible à l’original, elles passent par différentes situations pour aboutir à une réflexion contemporaine dans laquelle elles apparaissent en lisant des livres comme Afrotopia de Felwine Sarr (co-créateur avec Benoît Savoy du rapport commandé par le président français Emmanuel Macron sur la question des objets pillés dans les musées français, notamment le Musée du Quai Branly à Paris) ou Loot : Britain and the Benin Bronzes de Barnaby Phillips.

La colonisation du concept de la femme : la responsabilité de la représentation hasardeuse de la femme noire dans l’histoire de l’art occidental, la position des femmes blanches et des femmes noires, le rapport du corps et de l’identité de la femme africaine avec le colon qui conduit à perpétuer les stéréotypes, l’exotisation, l’appropriation culturelle, la différence, etc… Odalisques éternelles : femmes esclaves qui servaient dans les grandes maisons, mal comprises grâce à l’école de peinture orientaliste, dans laquelle les odalisques et autres femmes esclaves étaient souvent des sujets d’intérêt pictural, renforçant encore une fois un imaginaire dénigrant. Dans la communauté musulmane, les odalisques étaient « simplement » des servantes laborieuses appartenant à des ménages puissants et riches. Les images érotiques de femmes dans un « Orient » géographiquement vague évoquaient une vie de luxe et d’indolence très éloignée de la société industrielle du XIXe siècle et des normes de représentation de la race et du sexe du XXIe siècle.

Le concept de musée est né il y a plus de 300 ans, lorsque les collections de certains monarques, rois ou empereurs ont été ouvertes au public, étant depuis lors des institutions qui donnent une identité et définissent une nation. Mais si l’origine de ces espaces est colonialiste, l’histoire, la production de connaissances, l’éthique, la mémoire collective et individuelles entrent en conflit. Un examen de la relation entre l’anthropologie et les collections muséales issues d’un passé colonial largement pilleur, de son historicité et de son historiographie, excusées derrière un souci de découverte – presque toujours dans un esprit « salvateur » –, conduit à la conclusion qu’elles renforcent depuis des décennies l’exotisme et la distinction, intrinsèquement liés aux discours suprématistes. Le musée en tant que créateur d’imaginaires, en tant qu’institution qui n’est pas et n’a jamais été un détenteur/exposant neutre ou bénéfique d’objets et d’artefacts. Ils sont un outil puissant pour inculquer le respect, changer les préjugés et réviser l’histoire. Ou dangereusement le contraire.

En droit romain, la propriété était définie comme la pleine jouissance absolue d’un objet ou d’une entité corporelle. L’USUS était le droit que le détenteur avait de faire usage de l’objet selon sa destination ou sa nature, le FRUCTUS était le droit d’en recevoir les fruits, l’ABUSUS était le droit de disposition basé sur le pouvoir de modifier, vendre ou détruire l’objet ou l’entité donnée. La propriété était perpétuelle, absolue et exclusive. Sur la base du concept de propriété, un dialogue à deux voix est proposé, dans lequel sont abordées les questions de spoliation, d’acquisition de connaissances, de race et de sexe.

Le retour de ce qui a été pillé et saccagé, tant en termes d’objets que d’identité, est-il une question urgente, universelle et réalisable pour tous ? Propriété, restitution, réparation, recontextualisation… qui a le pouvoir de donner, de rendre, d’arbitrer, de renommer ?