Back to the list

Gregory Halpern

1977, born in Buffalo, New York

Gregory Halpern holds a BA from Harvard University and an MFA from California College of the Arts. He is a professor of photography at the Rochester Institute of Technology.
He has exhibited internationally and published three books of photographs, including ZZYZX (Mack, 2016), A (J&L Books, 2011) and Harvard Works Because We Do (Quantuck Lane, 2004). He has also published East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Etudes, 2014), a collaboration with Ahndraya Parlato, and he was co-editor, along with Jason Fulford, of The Photographer’s Playbook: Over 250 Assignments and Ideas (Aperture, 2014). In 2016, his book ZZYZX was nominated PhotoBook of the Year at the Paris Photo-Aperture Foundation PhotoBook Awards, and in 2014, he was the recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship.

www.gregoryhalpern.com


Presentation of the project "Omaha Sketchbook"

Since Donald Trump’s election, Gregory Halpern’s relationship to the hypermasculinity in his country has become increasingly fraught. After an initial album (2009), he is ready to return to Omaha (Nebraska) to photograph the way in which boys are taught to become men. Omaha Sketchbook, a study of place, is also a reflection on power and violence, a meditation on the feeling of inadequacy, the uneasiness and fear experience by someone who was not raised to worship virility.

“As the results of the American presidential election were coming in last November, my wife went into labor with our second daughter. I have always had an uncomfortable relationship with America’s unique brand of hypermasculinity, but since that night, the relationship has become increasingly fraught.

These photographs were taken in Omaha, Nebraska, a city that is home to the biggest American Air Force base. The base’s presence seems to permeate the city, and hunting, football, and the rodeo are popular, as are the Boy Scouts and ROTC (Reserve Officers’ Training Corps).

When I am making pictures, I indulge intuitive wanderings and visual attractions. But conscious thought informs the unconscious mind, and while working on Omaha Sketchbook, my vision was increasingly clouded by a growing preoccupation with how the American heartland – in a traditionally masculine, almost Aryan sense of the word – was instructing its boys to become men.

I was the only Jew in my high school and my father modeled a form of gentle, intellectual manhood. Many of my ancestors were killed in concentration camps, and like many Jewish boys with such lineage, I had a complicated, damaged, sense of my masculinity that was plagued by insecurity, identification with the victim, and a sadly inherited sense of trauma. I was jealous of the boys I grew up around, attracted to their seemingly confident and untroubled sense of masculinity. I was also repulsed and frightened by it.

Omaha Sketchbook is a study of place, a meditation on the feeling of inadequacy, and a reflection on American power and violence.”


Selected Exhibitions

  • 2018 Confederate Moons, Galerie Wouter van Leeuwen, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
  • 2017 ZZYZX, Webber Gallery Space, London, United Kingdom
  • 2017 Speech, Pace/MacGill Gallery, New York, USA
  • 2016 (IN[DI]VISIBLE, Fotomuseum Provincie Antwerpen (FOMU), Belgium
  • 2015 California, Galerie Wouter van Leeuwen, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Publications

  • 2018 Confederate Moons, TBW Books
  • 2016 ZZYZX, Mack Books
  • 2014 East of the Sun, West of the Moon, Etudes Books (with Ahndraya Parlato)
  • 2011 A, J&L Books
  • 2003 Harvard Works Because We Do, Foreword by Studs Terkel, W.W. Norton/Quantuck Lane

Portfolio

Gregory Halpern

1977, né à Buffalo, New York
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2018-2020

Gregory Halpern est diplômé de l’Université d’Harvard (licence) et du College of the Arts de Californie (master). Il enseigne la photographie à l’Institut de technologie de Rochester.

Ses œuvres ont été exposées à l’international et il a publié trois livres de photographies, intitulés ZZYZX (Mack, 2016), A (J&L Books, 2011) et Harvard Works Because We Do (Quantuck Lane, 2004). Il a également publié East of the Sun, West of the Moon (Etudes, 2014) en collaboration avec Ahndraya Parlato, et a été l’un des éditeurs, avec Jason Fulford, de The Photographer’s Playbook: Over 250 Assignments and Ideas (Aperture, 2014). Son livre ZZYZX a été lauréat du Prix du livre de l’année 2016 de Paris Photo et Aperture Foundation. En 2014, il a reçu une bourse de création du Guggenheim.

Site Internet

Projet

Omaha Sketchbook

Depuis l’élection de Donald Trump, la relation de Gregory Halpern à l’hyper masculinité dans son pays est devenue de plus en plus pesante. Après un premier album réalisé en 2009, il est prêt à retourner à Omaha (Nebraska) pour photographier la manière dont les garçons apprennent à devenir des hommes. Omaha Sketchbook est non seulement une étude du lieu mais aussi une réflexion sur le pouvoir et la violence, une méditation sur le sentiment d’inadéquation, le malaise et la peur vécus par quelqu’un qui n’a pas été élevé pour adorer la virilité.

“Alors que les premiers résultats de l’élection présidentielle américaine de novembre dernier nous parvenaient, ma femme commença à accoucher de notre deuxième fille. Je me suis toujours senti mal à l’aise vis à vis de l’unique modèle d’hyper masculinité de l’Amérique, mais depuis ce soir-là, ce malaise est devenu de plus en plus pesant.

Ces photographies ont été prises à Omaha dans le Nebraska, une ville où se trouve la plus grande base aérienne militaire des Etats-Unis. La présence de cette base semble se propager dans la ville, et la chasse, le foot et le rodéo y sont des activités populaires, comme les Boy Scouts et le ROTC (Corps d’entrainement des officiers de réserve).

Quand je prends des photos, je m’autorise à aller où bon me semble, selon ce qui m’attire visuellement. Mais mes pensées nourrissent mon inconscient, et alors que je travaillais sur Omaha Sketchbook, ma vision était de plus en plus affectée par une préoccupation grandissante, à savoir comment le cœur de ce pays – au sens traditionnellement masculin, presque arien, du terme – apprenait à ses garçons à devenir des hommes.

Au lycée, j’étais le seul juif et mon père me donnait l’exemple d’une forme de virilité modérée, intellectuelle. Un grand nombre de mes ancêtres ont été tués dans les camps de concentration et comme de nombreux garçons juifs dont c’est là l’héritage, je possédais une idée de ma propre virilité compliquée, dégradée, affaiblie par mes insécurités, une tendance à m’identifier aux victimes et un triste penchant inné au traumatisme. J’étais jaloux des garçons qui m’entouraient, attiré par la façon dont ils affichaient une virilité confiante et sans faille. J’étais aussi dégoûté et effrayé par celle-ci.

Omaha Sketchbook est une étude d’un lieu, une méditation autour du sentiment d’inadéquation et une réflexion du pouvoir américain et de la violence.”