Nicola Lo Calzo

1979, born in Turin, Italy, lives and works in France
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2018-2020

After studying landscape architecture, Nicola Lo Calzo turned his gaze to photography. His photographic practice and research question notions of coloniality and identity. Imbued with profound empathy, Nicola Lo Calzo’s photographs show the ways in which minority groups interact with their environment and develop strategies of survival and resistance.

For almost seven years, he has been engaged in a long-term photographic research project on the memories of the slave trade and slavery. Cham, this ambitious and ongoing project has already taken him to Africa, the Caribbean and America. His photographs have been widely exhibited in museums, art centers and festivals, most notably the Macaal in Marrakesh, the Afriques Capitales in Lille, the Musée des Confluences in Lyon, the National Alinari Museum of Photography in Florence, and the Tropenmuseum in Amsterdam. His photography is present in many private and public collections including the Lightwork collection in Syracuse, Alinari Archives in Florence, the Pinacoteca Civica in Monza, the National Library of France in Paris and Amsterdam’s Tropenmuseum.

Nicola Lo Calzo lives and works between Paris, West African and the Caribbean. He is represented by l’Agence à Paris.

Website

Projet

Binidittu

Nicola Lo Calzo, for whom the Mediterranean has never been a border, aims to reacquaint us with a migrant, Binidittu, the name given to the hermit Saint Benedict the Moor, the son of African slaves and born in Sicily in the 16th century. Upon his death, the Afro-Sicilian friar became an icon. Canonized in 1807, he was the Catholic Church’s first black saint and was made Patron Saint of Palermo. Binidittu is a reflection on the treatment of migrants on the shores of the Mare nostrum, an allegory for our time.

“For several years, I have been working on a photographic project entitled Cham in which I document the multiple lineages and the various manifestations of the memories of colonial slavery. This quest has taken me from the West African coasts to the outskirts of Port au Prince via the Guadeloupe mornes, the forgotten neighborhoods of New Orleans, the banks of the River Maroni and the suburbs of Santiago de Cuba.

For the next stage of Cham, I shall continue my work on the banks of the Mediterranean Sea, particularly in Sicily, with the project Binidittu.

The Mediterranean has never been a border. The Mare nostrum has always belonged to those who cross it, live there, and control it. Today’s migrants traverse its waters in search of a new life.

Like most of the locals, they are probably unaware that these exceptional yet deadly waters were the homeland of another migrant, the symbol of freedom and emancipation. He was called Benedict or Binidittu, as the Sicilians fondly rechristened him. The son of African slaves, born in San Fratello in the province of Messina, he lived and died in Sicily as a hermit friar (1526-1589). Canonized in 1807 as Saint Benedict the Moor, he was the Catholic Church’s first black saint.

Despite being a “migrant”, “refugee” or “the African”, the Sicilians of the time realized Benedict’s humanity and made him the patron saint of Palermo.

This photographic project aims to contribute to the rediscovery of Binidittu, retracing the improbable life of Saint Benedict the Moor, and exploring the historical sites of his hagiography, the motivations of his followers, the worship of relics, and the religious and secular practices devoted to him in Sicily and elsewhere in the Mediterranean.

Binidittu emerges as an allegory of our time: an encounter between the Mare nostrum and the world, between oblivion and memory, between racism made commonplace and our shared humanity, between the Sicilian people’s aspirations and African migrants’ hopes of freedom and dignity as they drift towards Europe’s shores”.

Nicola Lo Calzo

1979, né à Turin, Italie, vit et travaille en France
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2018-2020

Après des études d’architecture du paysage, Nicola Lo Calzo s’oriente vers la photographie. Sa pratique et sa recherche photographiques interrogent les notions de colonialité et d’identité. Témoignant d’une empathie profonde, ses photographies donnent notamment à voir les façons dont les groupes minoritaires interagissent avec leur environnement, développent des stratégies de survie et de résistance.
Depuis près de sept ans, Lo Calzo s’est engagé dans une recherche photographique au long cours autour des mémoires de la traite négrière et de l’esclavage. Ce projet ambitieux, intitulé Cham, a connu et connaîtra encore de nombreuses étapes en Afrique, dans les Caraïbes et en Amérique. Ses photographies ont fait l’objet de nombreuses expositions dans des musées, centres d’art ou festivals, dont le Macaal à Marrakech, Afriques Capitales à Lille, le Musée des Confluences de Lyon, le Musée national Alinari de la photographie à Florence et le Tropenmuseum à Amsterdam. Il est présent dans de nombreuses collections privées et publiques, dont la Lightwork collection à Syracuse (Etat de New York), les Archives Alinari à Florence, la Pinacoteca Civica à Monza, la Bibliothèque nationale de France à Paris ou encore le Tropenmuseum à Amsterdam.

Nicola Lo Calzo vit et travaille entre Paris, l’Afrique de l’Ouest et les Caraïbes. Il est représenté par l’Agence à Paris.

Site Internet

Projet

Binidittu

Nicola Lo Calzo, pour qui la Méditerranée n’a jamais été une frontière, veut nous faire redécouvrir un migrant, Biniditttu, surnom de l’ermite saint Benoît le More, fils d’esclaves africains qui naquit en Sicile au XVIème siècle. Lorsqu’il mourut, le frère afro-sicilien était devenu une icône. Canonisé en 1807, il fut le premier saint noir de l’Eglise catholique et choisi comme saint patron de Palerme. Binidittu est une réflexion sur l’accueil des migrants sur les côtes de Mare nostrum, une allégorie pour notre temps.

« Depuis plusieurs années, je travaille sur un projet photographique intitulé Cham, à travers lequel je documente les multiples descendances et manifestations des mémoires de l’esclavage colonial. Cette quête m’a amené des rivages de l’Afrique de l’Ouest aux périphéries de Port-au-Prince, en passant par les Mornes de la Guadeloupe, les quartiers oubliés de la Nouvelle-Orléans, les rives du fleuve Maroni et les faubourgs de Santiago de Cuba.

Pour la prochaine étape de Cham, je poursuis mon travail aux abords de la mer Méditerranée, notamment en Sicile, avec le projet Binidittu.

La Méditerranée n’a jamais été une frontière. Depuis toujours, le Mare nostrum appartient à qui le parcourt, l’habite et le contrôle. Les migrants d’aujourd’hui sillonnent ses eaux à la recherche d’une nouvelle vie.

Comme la plupart des riverains, ils ignorent probablement que ces eaux prodigieuses ou funestes furent la patrie d’un autre migrant, symbole de liberté et d’émancipation. Il s’appelait Benoît, ou Binidittu, comme le rebaptisèrent familièrement les Siciliens. Fils d’esclaves africains, né à San Fratello dans la province de Messine, il vécut et mourut en Sicile comme frère ermite (1526-1589). Canonisé en 1807 en tant que saint Benoît le More, il fut le premier saint noir de l’Eglise catholique.

Au « migrant », au « réfugié », à « l’Africain », les Siciliens de l’époque opposèrent l’humanité de Benoît, et n’hésitèrent pas à le désigner saint patron de Palerme.

Ce projet photographique a pour ambition de contribuer à la redécouverte de Binidittu, de retracer la vie improbable de saint Benoît le More, d’explorer les lieux historiques de son hagiographie, les motivations de ses fidèles, le culte des reliques, les pratiques religieuses et séculières qui lui sont vouées en Sicile et dans le monde méditerranéen.

Binidittu apparaît comme une allégorie de notre époque : la rencontre entre le Mare nostrum et le monde, l’oubli et la mémoire, le racisme banalisé et l’humanité partagée, les aspirations du peuple sicilien et les espoirs de liberté et dignité des migrants africains à la dérive vers les côtes européennes. »