Nicolai Howalt

1970, Denmark
Nominee - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Nicolai Howalt (b. 1970) is a Danish artist, whose photographic work spans across documentary, conceptual and installatory art. His work is distinguished by a unique materiality, initiated by chemical processes, where the temporal sense of both photography and existence is laid bare. Nicolai Howalt’s series challenges the boundaries of the photographic medium, by reinventing traditional techniques. In his work, this encounter between chemistry, science and artistic investigation become an exploration of fragility and existence as a state of constant change.

Nicolai Howalt graduated from Denmark’s renowned photographic art school, Fatamorgana, in 1992. He is represented by Martin Asbæk Gallery, Copenhagen and Galerie Maria Lund, Paris. His work has been widely exhibited both nationally and internationally; including ARoS Art Museum in Aarhus, FOAM in Amsterdam, C/O Berlin, Copenhagen Contemporary and Nikolaj Kunsthal in Copenhagen. Nicolai Howalt’s works are richly represented in national and international collections such as Photo Elysée, Lausanne, The J. Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles and The National Museum of Photography, Copenhagen. He has received several honorary awards from institutions such as the Hasselblad Foundation and the Danish Arts Foundation.

Nicolai Howalt has published 13 books and booklets of which several has become internationally sought-after collectors’ items. His latest publication Old Tjikko from 2019, which presented 97 unique images made from the same photographic negative of the oldest tree in the world, won the 2020 Maribor Photo Book Award as well as the Danish Book Design of the Year 2020.

Projet

Mushroom Studies

During 2022 Nicolai Howalt began working on a major photographic project investigating the enigmatic lives of fungi and heir vital importance to virtually all life on earth.

In addition to being remarkable and beautiful in their morphological diversity, mushrooms and mycelium networks are essential to life on earth as sunlight or oxygen. Not only are they indispensable to all earth’s trees and forests, and thus to the entire ecosystem of the planet, but they are also key to the treatment of aliments like obsessive-compulsive disorder, depression, and post-traumatic stress disorder. Species of fungi have been discovered to digest and neutralize poisonous manmade creations like PCB and petrochemicals. Other species can break down non-biodegradable plastic and turn it into fertile soil or edible mushrooms. Thus, already known fungi could help solve some of our most pressing environmental issues and several hundred new species are discovered annually.

In collaboration with the Danish Botanical Museum, NovoZymes and Associate Professor of Mycology Henning Knudsen, Nicolai Howalt will create a series of works that contemplate on the vital and enigmatic world of mushrooms. A visual exploration that vibrates between scientific study and srtistic experimentation: images of living mushrooms and of samples from botanical collections will explore the biological and visual diversity of fungi and touch on the history of mycological science. Experiments with supermacro cameras, intended for medical and scientific use, will reveal the invisible microscopit life of environmentally and medically important fungi as biological-abstract images that are both poetically enticing and counterparts the concrete and historical visuality of the aforementioned images. Finally, Nicolai Howalt will grow and nurture select species of fungi directly on unexposed pieces of analogue photographic paper for days, weeks and months before developing them in the darkroom. Once revealed, the traces of the fungal networks and the deterioration of the papers will result in photogram-images created by the fungi themselves. Thus, they become an integral part of the work and of the artistic exploration in a very direct, tangible and co-creative way.

Considering the century-long bibliographical history of fungal botany and the project’s scientific contact points, the book format will be an optimal medium for the project, which can work historically and experimentally. Nicolai Howalt plan to invite both a mycologist, a philosopher and a Danish poet to contribute with essays on the subject to further enhance the multidisciplinary aspect of the work. By creating a book that cross boundaries between science and art and that touch upon questions relating to existential ecology, time and the phenomenology of images, as well as the significance of fungi to our lives and planet, the book will be a “new collection” of mushrooms based on different parameters than the strictly scientific or botanical. Nicolai Howalt wishes with the work to spur imagination, awareness and reflection in a broader audience on the mysterious, yet acutely vital lives of fungi; on our codependence with nature and on the opportunities it gives us to correct our wrongs if we look for them.

Nicolai Howalt

1970, Danemark
Nominé·e - Prix Elysée 2022-2024

Nicolai Howalt (né en 1970) est un artiste danois dont le travail photographique s’étend du documentaire à l’art conceptuel et à l’installation. Son travail se distingue par une matérialité unique, initiée par des processus chimiques où le sens temporel de la photographie et de l’existence est mis à nu. Les séries de Nicolai Howalt défient les limites du médium photographique en réinventant les techniques traditionnelles. Dans son travail, cette rencontre entre la chimie, la science et la recherche artistique devient une exploration de la fragilité et de l’existence en tant qu’état de changement constant.

Nicolai Howalt est diplômé de la célèbre école danoise d’art photographique, Fatamorgana, en 1992. Il est représenté par la Galerie Martin Asbæk, Copenhague et la Galerie Maria Lund, Paris. Son travail a été largement exposé au niveau national et international, notamment au ARoS Art Museum d’Aarhus, à la FOAM d’Amsterdam, au C/O Berlin, au Copenhagen Contemporary et à la Nikolaj Kunsthal de Copenhague. Les œuvres de Nicolai Howalt sont richement représentées dans des collections nationales et internationales telles que Photo Elysée à Lausanne, le J. Paul Getty Museum à Los Angeles et le National Museum of Photography à Copenhague. Il a reçu plusieurs prix honorifiques d’institutions telles que la Fondation Hasselblad et la Fondation des arts danois.

Nicolai Howalt a publié 13 livres et livrets, dont plusieurs sont devenus des objets de collection recherchés au niveau international. Sa dernière publication, Old Tjikko, 2019, qui présentait 97 images uniques réalisées à partir du même négatif du plus vieil arbre au monde, a remporté en 2020 le Maribor Photo Book Award ainsi que le Danish Book Design of the Year.

Projet

Mushroom Studies

Au cours de l’année 2022, Nicolai Howalt a commencé à travailler sur un grand projet photographique qui étudie la vie énigmatique des champignons et leur importance vitale pour pratiquement toute vie sur terre.

En plus d’être remarquables et beaux dans leur diversité morphologique, les champignons et les réseaux de mycélium sont essentiels à la vie sur terre comme la lumière du soleil ou l’oxygène. Non seulement ils sont indispensables à tous les arbres et forêts de la planète, et donc à l’ensemble de l’écosystème, ils sont également la clé du traitement d’affections telles que les troubles obsessionnels compulsifs, la dépression et les troubles du stress post-traumatique. Des espèces de champignons ont été découvertes pour digérer et neutraliser les créations humaines toxiques comme les PCB et les produits pétrochimiques. D’autres espèces peuvent décomposer le plastique non biodégradable et le transformer en sol fertile ou en champignons comestibles. Ainsi, des champignons déjà connus pourraient contribuer à résoudre certains de nos problèmes environnementaux les plus urgents et plusieurs centaines de nouvelles espèces sont découvertes chaque année.

En collaboration avec le Musée botanique danois, NovoZymes et le professeur associé de mycologie Henning Knudsen, Nicolai Howalt créera une série d’œuvres qui contemplent le monde vital et énigmatique des champignons. Une exploration visuelle qui vibre entre l’étude scientifique et l’expérimentation artistique : des images de champignons vivants et d’échantillons provenant de collections botaniques exploreront la diversité biologique et visuelle des champignons et aborderont l’histoire de la science mycologique. Des expériences avec des appareils photographiques supermacro, destinés à un usage médical et scientifique, révèleront la vie microscopique invisible de champignons importants pour l’environnement et la médecine sous forme d’images biologiques-abstraites à la fois séduisantes sur le plan poétique et contrebalaçant la visualité concrète et historique des images susmentionnées. Enfin, Nicolai Howalt cultivera et nourrira des espèces sélectionnées de champignons directement sur des morceaux de papier photographique analogique non exposés pendant des jours, des semaines et des mois avant de les développer dans la chambre noire. Une fois révélées, les traces des réseaux fongiques et la détérioration des papiers donneront lieu à des photogrammes créés par les champignons eux-mêmes. Ainsi, ils font partie intégrante de l’œuvre et de l’exploration artistique de manière très directe, tangible et co-créative.

Compte tenu de l’histoire bibliographique centenaire de la botanique fongique et des points de contact scientifiques du projet, le format livre sera un support optimal pour le projet, qui peut fonctionner de manière historique et expérimentale. Nicolai Howalt prévoit d’inviter à la fois un mycologue, un philosophe et un poète danois à contribuer par des essais sur le sujet afin de renforcer encore l’aspect multidisciplinaire de l’ouvrage. En créant un livre qui franchit les frontières entre science et art et qui aborde des questions relatives à l’écologie existentielle, au temps et à la phénoménologie des images, ainsi qu’à l’importance des champignons pour nos existences et notre planète, le livre sera une « nouvelle collection » de champignons basée sur des paramètres différents de ceux strictement scientifiques ou botaniques. Nicolai Howalt souhaite, avec cet ouvrage, stimuler l’imagination, la prise de conscience et la réflexion d’un public plus large sur la vie mystérieuse – mais néanmoins extrêmement vitale – des champignons, sur notre codépendance avec la nature et sur les possibilités qu’elle nous offre de corriger nos erreurs si nous les recherchons.