Back to the list

Emeka Okereke

1980, Nigerian, born in Nigeria

Emeka Okereke is a Nigerian photographer who lives and works between Africa and Europe, moving from one to the other on a frequent basis. He came in contact with photography in 2001 while he was a member of the renowned Nigerian photography collective Depth of Field (DOF). In 2008, he received his MA from the National Superior School of Fine Arts of Paris in multi-media, photography video and sound.

Presently, his works oscillate between diverse mediums. He employs mainly photography, timebased medium of video, poetry and performative interventions in the exploration of the central theme of “borders”. His works grapple with the questions of exchange and coexistence in the context of various social-cultural confluences. Another aspect of his practice lies in project organizing: coordinating artistic interventions which promote exchanges cutting across indigenous and international platforms.

He is the Founder and Artistic Director of “Invisible Borders Trans-African Photography Project”, an annual photographic project which assembles up to ten artists from Africa to embark on a creative journey by road, across national borders in Africa and mostly recently extending to Europe.

In 2003, he won the Best Young Photographer award from the AFAA “Afrique en créations” in the 5th edition of the Bamako Encounters, African Biennale of Photography and has exhibited in biennales and art festivals in different cities of the world, notably Lagos, Bamako, Cape Town, London, Berlin, Bayreuth, Frankfurt, Nuremberg, Brussels, Johannesburg, New York, Washington, Barcelona, Seville, Madrid, Paris. His works were featured at the 56th Venice Biennale of Arts under the Invisible Borders presentation A Trans-African Worldspace.


Project Description

Title: As We Recede

Between the periods of 1950 and 1970 most African countries gained independence from colonial rule. With this came the task of self-actualization and construction of nationalist consciousness – a feat rendered difficult by the extent of ethnic and cultural diversity. For the Prix Elysée, Emeka Okereke would like to explore the sociopolitical entity of contemporary Nigeria with a multimedia project, encompassing photography, video and sound to revisit the incident and eventualities of the Nigeria-Biafra War – giving a fresh perspective on the nuances of this impactful conflict.

“As a departure point, I shall revisit the Nigeria-Biafra War, which took place between 1967 and 1970. Biafra was a secessionist state in the South East of Nigeria that existed from 30 May 1967 to 15 January 1970. After two and a half years of war, during which a million civilians had died in fighting and from famine, Biafran forces agreed to a ceasefire with the Nigerian Federal Military Government (FMG), and Biafra was reintegrated into Nigeria. This war was significant for its symbol as a conflict generated and sustained by the struggle to negotiate terms of exchange and unity between tribes and peoples towards a post-colonial Africa. With the reintegration of Biafra into Nigeria, the stories of the war were buried along with the many lives lost; relegated to the furthermost corners of the nation’s memory in the form of induced amnesia. Today it is no more than a performative gesture which met failure at the lowest step of its utopia.

Although many attempts have been made to recount and articulate the incident, they were mostly from a highly political perspective lending little or no weight to the voice of the ordinary people whose personal lives were greatly marked by the event.

While the events of the war are being treated as an unfortunate parenthesis in the history of things, many are still burdened by ever-fresh memories of impactful experiences. This project therefore proposes that in engaging these stories of personal memories, not only is the prevailing narrative disrupted, a fresh perspective that fleshes out the nuances of the war becomes possible. As an image maker, my approach would be to look at the personal archives (a private museum so to speak) of survivors or their relatives, consisting of objects that serve as memorabilia from the days of the war. This could be in the form of documents, currency notes, photographs, jewelries, clothes or any other significant personal possession. I shall meet with as many individuals as possible through extensive research in all parts of the country. I shall document my encounters by way of video and sound recordings of interviews and conversations. Most importantly, I shall make photographic reproductions of these memorabilia, which I consider relics of a conflict. They carry within them strands of stories preserved in their existence, in each and every dent of usage over the years. The aim is to present the work as photographic/audiovisual installation, followed by a book publication which articulates the entire process of the project.”


Solo Exhibitions

  • 2008 Bagamoyo – Photography and the Useful Space, Catembe, Maputo
  • 2008 Unspoken Hero, Neukölln Museum, Berlin

Selected Collective Exhibitions

  • 2015 56th Venice Biennale of Arts, International exhibition curated by Okwui Enwezor, with Invisible Borders Trans-African Project
  • 2012 New Museum of New York, exhibition with Invisible Borders Trans-African Photography Project
  • 2011 ATOPIA – Art and City in 21st Century, CCCB, Barcelona
  • 2009 Photoquai Biennale, Musée Quai Branly Paris
  • 2009 2nd Pan African Festival of Arts of Algeria, Algiers
  • 2009 2nd Thessaloniki Biennale of Arts, Thessaloniki
  • 2009 10th Havana Biennale, Havana
  • 2009 A Tale of One City, Oslo Museum, Oslo
  • 2006 Snap Judgement, International Center of Photography,  New York. Curated by Okwui
  • 2003 5th Bamako Biennale of Photography, Bamako

 


Portfolio

Retour à la liste des nominés

Emeka Okereke

1980, Nigérian, né au Nigéria

Emeka Okereke est un photographe nigérian qui vit et travaille en Afrique et en Europe, se déplaçant entre les deux continents de façon régulière. Il a découvert la photographie en 2001 en devenant membre du prestigieux collectif de photographes nigérians Depth of Field (DOF). En 2008, il a obtenu un Master multimédia, photographie et vidéo à l’Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts de Paris.

Actuellement, ses œuvres oscillent entre différents médiums, principalement la photographie, la vidéo, la poésie et la performance, afin d’explorer son thème de prédilection, celui des « frontières ». Son travail interroge l’échange et la coexistence aux points de confluence entre divers environnements socioculturels. Une autre caractéristique de sa pratique a trait à l’organisation de projets : il coordonne des interventions artistiques qui favorisent l’échange au-delà des plateformes locales et internationales.

Emeka Okereke est le fondateur et directeur artistique de Invisible Borders Trans-African Photography Project, un projet photographique qui rassemble une dizaine d’artistes originaires d’Afrique. Chaque année, ceux-ci entreprennent un voyage d’exploration artistique en voiture à travers différents pays d’Afrique et même jusqu’en Europe plus récemment.

En 2003, Emeka Okereke a remporté le Prix du meilleur jeune photographe du programme Afrique en créations de l’AFAA lors des 5èmes Rencontres de Bamako – Biennale Africaine de la Photographie. Ses œuvres ont été exposées dans des biennales et festivals d’art dans plusieurs villes du monde, notamment Lagos, Bamako, Le Cap, Londres, Berlin, Beyrouth, Frankfort, Nuremberg, Bruxelles, Johannesburg, New York, Washington, Barcelone, Séville, Madrid et Paris. Son travail a été exposé lors de la 56e Biennale d’art de Venise dans le cadre du projet, Invisible Borders.

Portrait d'Emeka Okereke

Portrait d'Emeka Okereke


Description du projet

Titre du projet : As We Recede

Entre 1950 et 1970, la majorité des pays africains ont gagné leur indépendance sur les pouvoirs coloniaux. Dès lors, ils se sont employés à leur propre accomplissement et à la construction d’une conscience nationale – un tour de force rendu difficile par l’ampleur de leur diversité ethnique et culturelle. Pour le Prix Elysée, Emeka Okereke aimerait explorer l’entité socio-politique du Nigéria contemporain, au travers d’un projet multimédia, mêlant la photographie, la vidéo et le son afin de revenir sur l’histoire et les hypothèses de la guerre du Biafra au Nigéria – en donnant une nouvelle perspective sur les nuances de ce conflit aux conséquences multiples.

« Comme point de départ, je souhaite revisiter la guerre du Biafra au Nigéria, qui s’est déroulée de 1967 à 1970. Le Biafra fut un état sécessionniste dans le sud-est du pays, dont l’existence dura du 30 mai 1967 au 15 janvier 1970. Après deux ans et demi de guerre, au cours de laquelle un million de civils furent tués soit au combat, soit par la famine, les forces du Biafra acceptèrent un cessez-le-feu avec le Gouvernement militaire fédéral (FMG), et le Biafra fut réintégré au Nigeria. La signification de cette guerre est importante car elle fut le symbole d’un conflit généré et alimenté par les difficultés de négocier les termes d’échange et d’unité entre différentes tribus et populations dans une Afrique post-coloniale. Avec la réintégration du Biafra au Nigéria, les histoires de la guerre furent enterrées avec les nombreuses vies perdues, reléguées aux fins fonds de la mémoire nationale dans une sorte d’amnésie forcée. Aujourd’hui, cette guerre ne représente plus qu’une opération qui se solda par un échec au plus bas niveau de son utopie.

Bien que de nombreuses tentatives aient été faites pour raconter et articuler cet événement, elles furent pour la plupart réalisées dans une perspective politique, n’accordant presque aucun poids à la voix des gens ordinaires dont les vies avaient été bouleversées par la guerre.

Alors que les événements de la guerre sont souvent traités comme une parenthèse malheureuse de l’histoire, nombreux sont ceux qui portent encore le poids des souvenirs persistants des expériences traumatisantes. Ce projet se base donc sur l’idée que susciter le récit de ces souvenirs personnels non seulement perturbe l’histoire de la guerre telle qu’elle est racontée habituellement, mais rend possible l’émergence d’une nouvelle perspective qui donne corps aux nuances de l’événement. En tant que fabricant d’images, je commencerai d’abord par regarder les archives personnelles des survivants (un musée privé en quelque sorte) ou de leur famille, composées d’objets qui servent de traces de l’époque de la guerre. Ceux-ci peuvent se présenter sous la forme de documents, de billets de banque, de photographies, de bijoux, de vêtements ou de toute autre possession significative. Grâce à des recherches poussées, j’aimerais rencontrer autant de personnes que possible dans toutes les régions du pays. Je documenterai ces rencontres en les filmant et en réalisant des enregistrements audio des interviews et des conversations. Avant tout, je prendrai en photo ces objets que je considère comme des reliques du conflit. Ils portent en eux des bouts d’histoires que leur existence a préservés, dans chaque marque d’usage au fil du temps. L’objectif est de présenter ce travail comme une installation photographique/audiovisuelle, qui sera accompagnée par la publication d’un livre qui expliquera l’intégralité du processus de ce projet. »


Expositions solo

  • 2008 Bagamoyo – Photography and the Useful Space, Catembe, Maputo
  • 2008 Unspoken Hero, Musée Neukölln, Berlin

Principales expositions collectives

  • 2015 56e Biennale d’art de Venise : All The World’s Futures, commissaire d’exposition Okwui Enwezor avec Invisible Borders Trans-African Project
  • 2012 New Museum de New York : Invisible Borders Trans-African Project
  • 2009 Photoquai Biennale, Musée Quai Branly, Paris
  • 2009 2nd Pan African Festival of Arts of Algeria, Algiers
  • 2009 2nd Thessaloniki Biennale of Arts, Thessaloniki
  • 2009 10th Havana Biennale, Havane
  • 2009 A Tale of One City, Oslo Museum, Oslo
  • 2006 Snap Judgement, International Center of Photography, New York. Commissaire, Okwui
  • 2003 Rencontres de Bamako – Biennale Africaine de la Photographie

Portfolio